Chevron Left
返回到 Number Theory and Cryptography

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Number Theory and Cryptography 的评价和反馈

4.5
494 个评分
103 条评论

课程概述

We all learn numbers from the childhood. Some of us like to count, others hate it, but any person uses numbers everyday to buy things, pay for services, estimated time and necessary resources. People have been wondering about numbers’ properties for thousands of years. And for thousands of years it was more or less just a game that was only interesting for pure mathematicians. Famous 20th century mathematician G.H. Hardy once said “The Theory of Numbers has always been regarded as one of the most obviously useless branches of Pure Mathematics”. Just 30 years after his death, an algorithm for encryption of secret messages was developed using achievements of number theory. It was called RSA after the names of its authors, and its implementation is probably the most frequently used computer program in the word nowadays. Without it, nobody would be able to make secure payments over the internet, or even log in securely to e-mail and other personal services. In this short course, we will make the whole journey from the foundation to RSA in 4 weeks. By the end, you will be able to apply the basics of the number theory to encrypt and decrypt messages, and to break the code if one applies RSA carelessly. You will even pass a cryptographic quest! As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

热门审阅

SS
Jul 31, 2020

I loved this course! It is unlike any I have taken before. All courses in this specialization have always included fun activities to make the taught content fun and understandable.

PW
Nov 21, 2018

I was really impressed especially with the RSA portion of the course. It was really well explained, and the programming exercise was cleverly designed and implemented. Well done.

筛选依据:

26 - Number Theory and Cryptography 的 50 个评论(共 103 个)

创建者 SOURAV M

May 12, 2018

Very nice course for beginners

创建者 Kristen P

Feb 6, 2020

Challenging yet fun course!

创建者 Kuldeep K

Apr 29, 2020

I learnt many new things.

创建者 Jakub D

Sep 8, 2019

Good introduction

创建者 NIKHIL P

Sep 16, 2019

very usefull

创建者 danish m

Apr 26, 2020

nice course

创建者 HaotianWang

Jul 19, 2018

challenging

创建者 Arijit S

May 15, 2020

It was challenging and interesting. The only issue what I feel is that I am not from a coding background, so to understand the coding concepts were a bit tough. And I asked my queries through forums, but no reply came. But overall, it was an interesting course

创建者 Juliano P

Jan 2, 2021

This is the worst module so far, not at all comparable to the first module of this specialization.

This is not a total beginner's content, but the videos are spoken too fast, like the professor was pressured to make it as short as possible. I had to watch some of the videos at 0.8x speed, instead of my usual 1.3x. Moreover, this was the first time I slow down a video.

Several lessons were just read from the slides followed by a long abstract mathematical digression without any companion material (ie, slides), so you have to listen and imagine all the variables and formulas in your head, since there is no illustration or guide of what is being said. I'm a visual learner, what makes it even worse.

Be prepared to look for resources elsewhere if you take this course and you are not familiar with module arithmetic. I'm not exaggerating when I say most of what I learned in this module were from YouTube videos... at least this module gave me a structured syllabus and topics to look for.

Also, compared to the previous modules, it lacks a lot on exercises and questions to fix the subject. The code exercises were most often cryptic for me and demanded lots of trial and error. The reason for this were the poor explanations and the requirement to use the algorithms introduced in class, which were not always what YouTube videos used.

I was expecting it to be more step by step, but I feel like it is a quick review for people who have taken the subject before.

创建者 Christopher W

May 10, 2020

Bravo! Oh man, the "RSA Quest" was the most amazing thing ever! I can't even believe it worked out. And ended with a nod to one of my favorite authors!

This course was one of the most challenging, and at the same time rewarding courses I've done on Coursera. I absolutely love learning from these instructors. Their explanations are so methodical and complete that you really get a good understanding of not only the facts they assert, but the "why" and "how" beneath it. Thank you!

创建者 Guo F

Apr 11, 2021

Wow! I'd say this is the very best course in this specialization! Although other courses are good too, I'd say this course explains things very clearly and rigorously, which is definitely needed to be so because of the topic involved. Kudos to the assignments, very interesting! Something I found out to be frustrating is, if I paused this course for a week or so, the proofs become obscure to me. I definitely need to review more often!

创建者 ABHISHEK S

May 28, 2020

Highly recommended. Initially, the course seems to be a bit slow-paced but later you will understand that it was all necessary to build the foundation. The material is very good especially the exercises. The last portion teaches you RSA encryption and its prospective attacks. Overall the course was very well structured and intuitive, it made me think and apply the concepts taught.

创建者 aldhi

Jul 7, 2020

Alhamdulillah. Finally, I can pass this course, although not perfectly 100%, but I really proud of my self. Thanks to all lecturers in this course. I've got a lot of knowledge so far, especially in Number Theory. For cryptography subject, that's so hard. Not every people can solved it perfectly since it need a lot of creativity and logic.

创建者 储忻

Jun 20, 2021

The course material is very good. The exercise is very well prepared, especially the RSA quest in the end. Although the lecture in Week 3 and 4 seems a little bit fast, it's reasonable considering the amount and complexity of the knowledge that needs to be covered in such a short amount of time. I highly recommended this course.

创建者 Deleted A

Jun 25, 2020

My only critique to this course are the final two quizzes of week 4. The very final quiz relies on you having successfully completed most of the penultimate quiz and is more of a "copy and paste" session. The RSA part (week 4) of this course had not been covered at my University and was very interesting.

创建者 Iftakhar U

Jul 20, 2020

Alhamdulillah. I have learnt many things from this course. Thanks the three course instructor for taking this course. Most interesting things of the course for me was The end RSA Quest quiz. Again, Thanks coursera.

创建者 Tejasvi V

Feb 5, 2021

Thank you! enjoyed learning number theory, understood new concepts of modular programming, how public key -private key works and the basis of rsa algorithm.

创建者 OSAMA Z

Apr 8, 2021

Excellent course to learn number theory and building blocks of cryptography. Excellent instructors make such topics easy to understand and not boring.

创建者 Rajarshi D

Sep 18, 2020

Excellent material and teachers.

Specifically, the course contents of week 4 : the RSA quiz and the RSA quest quiz material is outstanding! Kudos!

创建者 Aswani K C

Nov 30, 2020

Excellent course to learn number theory principles and relate them to asymmetric cryptosystems. The course is highly rigorous and challenging.

创建者 Deepjyoti H P

Jul 30, 2020

This course was amazing! Got a good, but brief insight into the basics of cryptography. The examples at the end of the course were great!

创建者 Perumali S

Jun 14, 2020

Its a good course to the beginers of cryptography.If you want to join you should know basic number theory and computer language python.

创建者 Hepta M K

Aug 27, 2020

This course introduces one into the world of cryptograghy and was very interesting especially the RSA Quest.

创建者 Ayrton C A d A

Nov 16, 2020

Very good course to learn the basic concepts of number theory and cryptography, and how to implement them.

创建者 Yin L H

Aug 4, 2020

I really appreciate the teachers' effort for the quests.

The most fascinating assignment ever.