Chevron Left
Back to Open Source tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Open Source tools for Data Science by IBM

4.6
10,936 ratings
1,354 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, RStudio IDE, Apache Zeppelin and Data Science Experience. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Cognitive Class Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Data Science Experience and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

RR

Apr 25, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

SH

Feb 01, 2019

All the tools required for ML kick starting was explained very clearly and it helped me a lot in building the understanding of what tools need to be learnt in the field of ML and Data Science.

Filter by:

1201 - 1225 of 1,340 Reviews for Open Source tools for Data Science

By Attila K

Nov 11, 2019

1) The course itself is way too fluffy. It's more like a marketing brochure of the IBM services.

2) And it's not even a good one as the name of the systems have changed, the way they are operating has changed, and you can not even do some of the tasks by following the course anymore.

By Nour A

Nov 11, 2019

IBM Watson Studio sign up video should be updated accordingly with the updates

By jonasfolesky

Nov 12, 2019

The data platform's name and handling has changed, which makes it more difficult to create the accounts and follow the instructions. The instructions should be renewed.

By Sue W

Nov 13, 2019

Very interesting to learning, but frustrating that the assignments or instructions do not match the tools. Extra time is needed to find what the instructions are trying to say or do

By Max L F L F

Nov 15, 2019

Very simple

By Christopher S

Nov 22, 2019

The course has a lot of good material if you are learning about Data Science with no industry background. The hurdle to a better rating though is the outdated videos. They make the learning experience unnecessarily confusing when you are trying to apply the lessons in real world systems that have changed so drastically. With a few video updates, this would be a 5 star course for a beginner.

By A. S

Dec 12, 2018

The Coursera videos to IBM Data Science Experience (now IBM Watson Studio) are outdated and therefore lead to unnecessary confusion and, to a point, obstruction of completing the course. The end-of-course project was 10x easier than figuring out how to set up a Jupyter Notebook in IBM Watson Studio. I guess you could say it's a sadistic way to weed people from the course! Please make the updated videos an immediate priority. Otherwise, the obtusely simple (enter code "1+1" to represent addition) videos are irrelevant.

By Lukas P

Nov 25, 2018

Outdated course material. Very disappointing for a fee-based course.

By Umair A

Dec 19, 2018

A lot of time, very little learnt. Two courses and only thing learnt was definition of Data Science and creating accounts. I hope this is going some where.

By Vikram R

Dec 02, 2018

The content used is not the latest, had problems when submitting the assignment.

By Pietro P

Dec 28, 2018

I did not learn much, the content was too easy.

By Shah H

Jan 17, 2019

Too easy

By Zachary G

Jan 17, 2019

I have stopped going though the IBM specialization after this course - this review is for beginners (like me), who have no coding/programming background. Coursera disappointed me because instructors are not there to help - you post questions in the forum hoping that there is a more knowledgable individual who will help you with your question. And if there is no such person, then your questions will not get answered by anyone.

Secondly, it mentions that course is for beginners with no programming experience, but then some codes, syntax and computer science terms get thrown at you without explaining basics and then videos are rushed through, leaving student only confused and frustrated.

Thirdly, courses lack consistency, clarity and are overall are very sloppy - information gets thrown at you from all places with no specific structure (if you had taken courses on CodeAcademy, you will understand what I mean).

Lastly, I was disappointed by some videos from Zeppelin Tutorials where all that instructor did was just reading text from main zeppelin page! I could do that by myself.

I am reverting to learning with CodeAcademy which was my original choice, but I thought that maybe IBM will be a good name to showcase on social profiles. IBM here does not mean anything.

By Martine R

Feb 16, 2019

Very poor documentation, not accurate. Issues to connect to Watson Lab.

By Tal H

Jan 24, 2019

The course provides some basic knowledge of the tools and platforms for a data scientist and how to technically use them. however, a third of the course is a technical guide for the use of an older version of the watson platform. basically a big portion of the course is a waist of time.

By Megha G

Feb 20, 2019

The videos don't align with how the Watson Studio is operated. It took about 3 hours of complete wastage to get to know how the account works on IBM cloud. Kindly update the videos in accordance to the new interface.

By Matthew M

Feb 19, 2019

Although the intent was clear, and IBM Watson Studio is helpful, this course needs to be rewritten. The week 3 content is a repeat of what was completed in the first course of this certification. Additionally, the content of needs to be updated to reflect the new format and functions of IBM Watson Studio over Data Science Experience.

By Asfandyar M

Feb 25, 2019

Outdated slides.

By John C

Mar 25, 2019

You really need to update the video to reflect how the latest versions of the tools look. Consider whether it is really necessary to have us sign up to 2 different cloud lab environments, surely one would suffice. Both these issues cause a lot of frustration as can be seen in the forums.

By John J C

Mar 25, 2019

Too many advertisements from IBM tools

By Aliakbar S

Mar 28, 2019

Very boring course... It was not that deep! It only takes a few hours to complete it! To be honest, I felt like it was a Kindergarten course!!!

By Phenilkumar B

Apr 03, 2019

They are basically promoting their products in this course

By Marc A S

Mar 31, 2019

We learned of the tools, but not much about them, how they work, that sort of thing.

By Jim C

Apr 10, 2019

This course isn't as well organized as other courses I've done on Coursera. Several of the quizzes ask questions about things that aren't covered until much later in the course. I had to skip those quizzes, then go back to them.

By Shashank R

Mar 11, 2019

The course needs to be updated. Especially the IBM Watson Studio section is something which needs to be worked on again. The site they refer to has hanged completely. IBM site was not user friendly and caused a lot of confusion. It took a lot of time to figure it out. This problem is not isolated and there have been a lot of users who are struggling to figure out how to solve it. This causes additional problems as the final assignment depends on getting started with the IBM website.