Chevron Left
返回到 Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

学生对 路德维希马克西米利安慕尼黑大学 提供的 Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way 的评价和反馈

4.8
623 个评分

课程概述

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

热门审阅

SS

Jan 15, 2021

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

LF

Jan 27, 2021

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

筛选依据:

226 - Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way 的 250 个评论(共 250 个)

创建者 Caelyn M

Apr 5, 2022

I really wish I could give 4.5 stars. This was a really delightful course. Wonderful videos, engaging lecturers, lots of different ways to engage with the material, I really learned quite a bit!

But there were little issues here and there, some link rot, some weird whitespacing in the quizzes and a duplicated reading that was literally titled 'Copy of'. So, one star off my rating.

创建者 Ramon v O

Jan 16, 2022

​Perfect course by Karen Radner. A​ lot of information, and educated and teached very well, in a clear and understandable way.

O​nly downside, and this is not the fault of Karen, is that the program (on internet and app) sometimes is lost, and the grades shown, don't compare with the material you are graded with.

C​ourse is highly recommended.

创建者 Syed H A

Dec 19, 2018

I think this course is very well designed for the beginners in assyriology. Karen Radner & others have been excellent in their delivery of all important aspects of the Assyrian empire - from religion to culture, family to army and from internal & external influencers of this empire!

创建者 Thomas d S

May 4, 2021

Dank course. Loved the fish coat dudes. The expert opinions were also great--it was neat to hear from a variety of academics studying these topics. I would've liked to learn more about Assyrian deities and mythology though, even if lots of it was just copy pasted from Babylon.

创建者 Christopher J M

Feb 6, 2021

It was a fun and interesting course. There were many tests and sometimes they have been a bit specific andI will not remember the details of names and dates right after taking them. So, even though the tests were good, they may have focused on themes a bit more than facts.

创建者 char M

May 18, 2020

Karen is very knowledgeable, and mostly engaging. At first, I thought the student question and answer was not valuable, but I was wrong! Some of the most interesting tidbits came here. The experts section was not useful. Have one speak on his area of expertise.

创建者 Richard S

Feb 14, 2021

The course was an interesting overview of a small but very important time and place history. I found the material interesting and the level of detail was what right for me.

创建者 Niklas A

Mar 22, 2021

Very interesting, in particular getting an understanding of what society looked like and what people experienced as citizens of this early empire.

创建者 Ken L

Sep 2, 2020

The course was relatively short and succinct. It answered a number of questions, and opened up some new areas of interest. Well done. Thank you.

创建者 Edward O T

Jul 21, 2020

Its been very helpful in trying to understand a little more of other kingdoms outside of Egypt, Greece, Turkey and Rome

创建者 Dan S

Mar 13, 2022

Interesting. I also purchased her book 'Assyria an Introduction' to read a more indepth writing. Thank.s

创建者 Mariia A G

Feb 6, 2021

I was inspired by the notion of "client-states" within Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way.

创建者 Varun N

May 26, 2020

Had heard very little of this great civilization; the course gave a superb insight into it

创建者 Joy S

Apr 11, 2018

super interesting. I would give it a 5 stars except it has peer review in the final week

创建者 J B

Sep 26, 2020

Exactly what I needed: A quick insight into the Assyrians. Thank you so much.

创建者 Herud

Feb 5, 2019

Not enough material about the military history of the empire.

创建者 JOSE T B M

Nov 14, 2020

Esta bien bueno en general. Me gustaría mas apoyo visual

创建者 Elaine H

Feb 14, 2022

​interesting...could use some editing on some lessons

创建者 John C

Oct 27, 2020

very interesting, history is so cool.

创建者 UBAYDUR R R

Jun 4, 2020

very tremendous and flexible course.

创建者 Katharina R

Mar 11, 2021

I learned much about the Assyrian Empire which I did not know before or ever imagined. Instructor Karen Radner taught the content well and in depth. I recommend this course. The content gave me much insight on how Assyrian traditions were also kind of similar to those of neighboring empires in ancient times. I am, however, missing the course certificate: therefore only 3 stars

创建者 Luis C

Oct 4, 2021

E​l curso esta bien pero para los alumnos que no hablamos ingles , esta muy mal, las traducciones no son buenas , y sobre todo los cuestionarios es dificilisimo contestar si no esta bien traducido , hay que estar siempre pegado al traductor de google , o al que sea para poder contestar alguna pregunta . Deberian solucionar esto

创建者 fernando g u

Sep 20, 2021

Interesante curso.

创建者 Carlos H

Aug 9, 2020

Not Certified.