Chevron Left
返回到 Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

学生对 路德维希马克西米利安慕尼黑大学 提供的 Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way 的评价和反馈

4.8
278 个评分
95 条评论

课程概述

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

热门审阅

NW

Nov 26, 2018

So Far I am Loving this Course, So much Info,\n\nI have always wanted to do a course on the Assyrian Empire.\n\nFab way of learning too, with tests at each stage rather than a mighty one at the end.

IX

May 15, 2018

This is such an amazing course! Prof.Radner has done an excellent job at presenting topics and organizing materials. Highly recommend this course to anyone who's interested in ancient civilizations.

筛选依据:

26 - Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way 的 50 个评论(共 95 个)

创建者 Glen M

Jun 03, 2018

Karen Radner's lectures and the "Talking about ..." discussions were very interesting, but I especially liked the cartoon character drawings used to describe the events that happened in the Assyrian empire.

创建者 Iris X

May 15, 2018

This is such an amazing course! Prof.Radner has done an excellent job at presenting topics and organizing materials. Highly recommend this course to anyone who's interested in ancient civilizations.

创建者 Naomi W

Nov 26, 2018

So Far I am Loving this Course, So much Info,

I have always wanted to do a course on the Assyrian Empire.

Fab way of learning too, with tests at each stage rather than a mighty one at the end.

创建者 Nikola W

Feb 17, 2020

Nice introduction to the Assyrian history. Due to different types of videos (interviews and lectures), quizes, and an interesting selection of topics, the course offers fun while learning.

创建者 Emilio L A

Feb 22, 2020

Excellent course! Congratulations for your lectures, Mrs. Radner. Have you thought of doing another course about the extraordinary Assyrian art? I would be very interested!

创建者 John D

Jul 08, 2018

Professor Radner, her staff, and the expert faculty that she had speak provided an amazing journey into a long gone government, society, and culture and made it seem alive.

创建者 Vicente A A

Mar 19, 2020

Interesting, relevant, well organised, smartly discussed and thoroughly enjoyed. I feel that I have learned quite a few things and moreover, that I want to learn more.

创建者 Hardeman B

Oct 09, 2018

A great course that I enjoyed ! It expanded my knowledge of Assyrian history and allowed me to develop a interest for ancient Assyrian history. I highly recommend it!

创建者 Virginia M

May 15, 2019

An excellent course. Congratulations to Professor Radner and her excellent staff. They all made our learning both profitable and thoroughly enjoyable. That you all!

创建者 Jummai

Jan 04, 2020

Interesting, entertaining course that has increased my interest in history especially the empires that arose around the world after the fall of the Assyrian Empire.

创建者 Eduardo L P

Dec 27, 2019

Really enjoyed it - excelent format with lectures and a series of "asides" that provide context and texture.

Hope to see one course on the ancient mesopotamian city!

创建者 Miloš B

Mar 11, 2019

This course was so much fun. Thanks to all the good people that made it possible for us to not only attend but also enjoy it. Prof. Karen is a real treasure.

创建者 Fan C

Dec 05, 2018

I have watched the module 1, and I have gotten an impressive view to the Assyrian Empire through Professor Karan and her wonderful lectures

创建者 Rob M

May 14, 2018

An excellent course. If you have an interest in the Ancient World, politics or sociology, then this is a definite course for you.

创建者 Jen P

Nov 06, 2019

Really good structure with some testing quizzes; excellent lecturers; interesting material well-explained and presented.

创建者 JOHN Q

Jan 15, 2018

Fascinating course. Thanks so much for all the folks who worked to organize and present this material! Dr Quincy

创建者 Benedict S

Apr 29, 2020

Sehr informativ und obwohl ich doch schon einige Bücher über Assyrien gelesen habe, war auch einiges Neues dabei!

创建者 Brian W

May 10, 2020

Really enjoyed learning about the Assyrian Empire. A very good course, well structured and delivered. Thank you.

创建者 Nadia

May 19, 2020

Perfect course, rich material, lots of informations but very clearly transmitted. Couldn't be better.

创建者 Fernanda A B

May 20, 2020

I loved this trip around the Assyrian Empire, I recommend this course so much!!! Thank you, Karen!!

创建者 Pradeepa M M

May 03, 2020

Amazing lecturer!! she is so detailed and this is an amazing introduction to the Assyrian Empire!

创建者 ammar a

Jun 01, 2020

Der Kurs gefällt mir sehr. Ich danke mich Ihnen für die Informationen der alten Zivilisation.

创建者 Eduardo T

Feb 27, 2019

Interesting and well presented course. Very recommended for who is interested in the subject

创建者 Laurence V

Feb 03, 2020

Very clear, very interesting and varied from a passionate professor. A wonderful journey !!!

创建者 Rafael M

Mar 02, 2019

The course is great. The readings are enriching and the instructor is very knowleadgleable.