Chevron Left
返回到 Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

学生对 路德维希马克西米利安慕尼黑大学 提供的 Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way 的评价和反馈

4.8
574 个评分
229 条评论

课程概述

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

热门审阅

LF
Jan 27, 2021

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

SS
Jan 15, 2021

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

筛选依据:

101 - Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way 的 125 个评论(共 230 个)

创建者 Andrew S

Aug 15, 2020

Honestly the best online course I've taken so far. The variety of formats used for the videos was very effective and engaging. Great professor also. Thank you!

创建者 Byron N

Jun 18, 2020

Thanks to Dr. Radner who has put together an amazing course on the Neo-Assyrian Empire. Her enthusiasm is contagious . I feel I learned a lot in the course.

创建者 Miloš B

Mar 11, 2019

This course was so much fun. Thanks to all the good people that made it possible for us to not only attend but also enjoy it. Prof. Karen is a real treasure.

创建者 David I

Jul 17, 2020

An amazing course that provides a broad overview of an empire but also intimate detail of everyday life of the ancient Assyrian people. Highly recommended!

创建者 Sompairac T

Jul 12, 2020

Very interesting giving a full picture of a civilization that is not very well known and which invented basic concepts that survived till now.

创建者 Louis M

Mar 17, 2021

Great class! Great professor who really enjoys her subject, which shows.

Very interesting, engaging and well presented.

I really enjoyed it!

创建者 Fan C

Dec 5, 2018

I have watched the module 1, and I have gotten an impressive view to the Assyrian Empire through Professor Karan and her wonderful lectures

创建者 Tracey G

Feb 15, 2021

Fantastic course. Pitched perfect to someone who had no previous knowledge of the Assyrian empire. Iam hooked and now want to know more!!

创建者 Vadim

Feb 6, 2021

Very interesting topic. Nicely presented. I really liked meaningful and frequent quizzes which keep one engaged in the course. Thank you!

创建者 Zachary P S

Nov 30, 2020

I really enjoyed how the course material was layered adding to the understanding and knowledge retention of the topics and concepts.

创建者 Rob M

May 14, 2018

An excellent course. If you have an interest in the Ancient World, politics or sociology, then this is a definite course for you.

创建者 Keith P

Jul 24, 2020

The breadth of the course and the presentation made this a fascinating introduction to a subject that I knew nothing about.

创建者 Jen P

Nov 6, 2019

Really good structure with some testing quizzes; excellent lecturers; interesting material well-explained and presented.

创建者 David K

Dec 27, 2021

Thank you for a very instructive and interesting course, and one in which you managed to cram in so much information.

创建者 Stephanie C

Jan 21, 2021

Fun course with a nice depth and granularity of information presented in a variety of interesting and engaging ways!

创建者 JOHN Q

Jan 15, 2018

Fascinating course. Thanks so much for all the folks who worked to organize and present this material! Dr Quincy

创建者 Richie H

Dec 27, 2020

Excellent course with a variety of presentation methods as well as addition readings and listenings to engage with.

创建者 Nadeen A A

Nov 3, 2020

Exquisite! Lovely course that made me want to delve even deeper into the world of the ancient empires of the past!

创建者 Esperanza R M

Oct 20, 2020

I really LOVE how professor Radner teaches. I have learned a lot with this course, and also in a enterteining way!

创建者 Benedict S

Apr 29, 2020

Sehr informativ und obwohl ich doch schon einige Bücher über Assyrien gelesen habe, war auch einiges Neues dabei!

创建者 Brian W

May 10, 2020

Really enjoyed learning about the Assyrian Empire. A very good course, well structured and delivered. Thank you.

创建者 Laura M M G

Jun 4, 2021

This course was interesting, great, and it gave me a totally different perspective of Asiria. Thank you!

创建者 Julie B

Sep 28, 2020

Excellent course - enjoyable and very informative presentation of interesting and complex information.

创建者 Andrea B

Nov 10, 2020

A great introduction to the Assyrians, their history, and their impact on the course of civilisation.

创建者 Nadia

May 19, 2020

Perfect course, rich material, lots of informations but very clearly transmitted. Couldn't be better.