Chevron Left
返回到 Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

学生对 Google 提供的 Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User 的评价和反馈

4.7
15,037 个评分
2,909 条评论

课程概述

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

热门审阅

JA
Jun 21, 2019

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

MA
May 23, 2020

A wonderful course of prevention that I learned a lot from,\n\nUsing commands with Windows and Linux\n\nHow to deploy and install operating systems through the network and Alot\n\nThanks GOOOOOOOOOGLE

筛选依据:

2151 - Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User 的 2175 个评论(共 2,879 个)

创建者 Wm. T W

Dec 2, 2020

I enjoyed the class and found that it covered a ton of information (thank the gods for OneNote). My only issue is that is seemed like Linux was often sort of tacked on to the program. We would spend 7 minutes of more going over how to do something in Windows and then Linux would barely get 2.

Now, I realize that some of this is because WIN is so common out there and because Linux can simply be easier to use once you understand some commands, but, if I wanted to learn Linux by studying web sites and trying to work it out, I would have done that.

创建者 Brooke F

Jun 19, 2018

I wish more examples (even if a quick in passing example) as to how some of this stuff will be used, or is important. Having never worked with a virtual machine I still don't know why that would necessarily come in handy when I think about my experience in Corporate America. Overall a lot of really good information but I wish more of the Linux labs were like the last one. I struggle the most with CLI and Bash. Having the chance to use my brain and being guided a bit better to figuring out some of these commands would have been nice.

创建者 Matt M

Jan 19, 2019

Finally, they start to deliver on some of the "we'll talk about that in a later video" that were given out like candy back in Course 1. Not too sure why they chose to use powershell for the windows command-line classes. Surely, it'd be easier to just teach linux and say 'also, most of these commands work in windows powershell'. Also, several of the videos could be combined together. combine creating directories, and files, with deleting and renaming directories and files. Only benefit to breaking them up is a touch of suspense.

创建者 Sandra E

Aug 2, 2020

This course was amazing! So many useful tools in Windows and Linux to troubleshoot problems! Highly recommend taking this course to become a power user.

My only problem, is that I don't own a Windows PC so hands on practice was challenging. If you want the most out of this course, I would STRONGLY suggest to use a Window 10 machine. That way to can play around with the many tools provided for you in this course. Oh! and downloading Linux too! I've been using a Mac to take the course, but I just don't get enough hands on :(

创建者 John O R

May 20, 2020

I would have loved to have given 5 stars but the instructor needs to improve her delivery. There were too many times she should type something in a command line without speaking and then hit enter before I could see what she typed.

I also wished that I had the files on my system that she was playing with in the CL so I could play along with her. (I am pretty sure that I am not the only person who needs to learn this way)

It also would have been nice to been give cheat sheets in a handout for the CL commands.

创建者 David B

Feb 11, 2018

Continue to be disappointed with the labs not working properly. It often takes multiple attempts even to log in (Windows labs), and the score card (Windows and Linux labs) frequently doesn't even display a score at all, despite completing the labs successfully. Course material is generally okay though.

It would also be nice if someone involved with the course was involved on the forums. There often seem to be questions, but rarely does anyone from Coursera or Google seem available to assist.

创建者 KIRAN V T

May 13, 2019

The course as a whole is absolutely informative. Ms. Cindy is no-nonsense to the point instructor.

Her lectures are good and she follows those up with an example. I was recommended this course by my boss, I would recommend it to others too.

I wanted to give 5 but will stick with 4, as in first week lab assessment linux lab instructions are al over the place and a bit confusing. I had to redo it twice to get it right. So since there is no 4.5 i will give a 4.

Keep it up Cindy and Google.

创建者 Victor A L

Sep 13, 2020

Very interesting, and well done videos, my only disappointment is with the labs, specially the ones for windows that had many issues from using power shell (which don't execute the commands) to labs who are slow to show the login info or simply won't credit the points earned when completing a task.

Videos from the instrustor are pretty good an the instructor is awesome. But please work a little bit to improve labs and make them faster and credir points when a task is completed.

创建者 Angelo F

Dec 19, 2020

I've learned some Bash commands and I've learned a bit more about Powershell and some new Windows tools. The course is very comprehensive, but fails into put all these informations in an organic way. I know that mastering these tasks require a lot of practice and research, but sometimes it seems to be a bunch of disconnected informations that you should learn in a week interval. Anyway, I think it's worth taking these course. Thanks to Google, Coursera and Cindy.

创建者 Robert H

Aug 7, 2019

Gave a good understanding of the concepts and use of the command line. Being given the commands in most assessments was nice in order to successfully complete the assessment. But there could have been more assessments like the final one, where we had to really think about what commands or actions to take. I had to research my notes to find the right commands for that one. This type testing would seem more effective for a real world scenario.

创建者 Meghan B

Nov 18, 2018

The final test (Windows section) was a bit more difficult than I expected. I wasn't expecting to be using the Gui as much as it actually required us to use. I think you definitely should explain that the Gui will be as big a part in the final as the Powershell. I ended up writing down all the code I knew to complete all the tasks and I ended up failing it twice. No where did it state that I would be using the Gui except for the example task.

创建者 Don G M

May 1, 2019

The content was great, with explanations about the commands and examples.

However, not much opportunity to practice using them (which is essential in this course since it's 99% about using commands), unless you have access to both Windows and Linux. They should set up a Qwiklab environment which can be accessed anytime during the course, so we can experiment and practice commands, without the risk of bricking your personal systems.

创建者 LELA M

Jun 1, 2020

It would really help to provide a list of downloads (OS, software, etc) that would help facilitate learning throughout the course and encourage students to have those all ready installed and ready to use, if they choose. It was a bit frustrating when you get to a video where I am ready to dive in and watch all the videos to be told theres a link after that video to something that could have helped me during the video.

创建者 Julio F

Apr 13, 2018

Really good course for those who do not have any experience using GUI in windows as well in powershell. This courses touches also the foundations of linux. So I think it is an essential course that you should definitely take. The only reason I gave 4 stars is because Labs were a bit confusing and sometimes, extremely slow. But don't let that stop you from taking this course. LOTS OF THUMBS UP FOR THIS COURSE!

创建者 Michael V

Dec 16, 2019

Week 1 Linux: List Directories pop quiz at the end is configured incorrectly. I'm not sure if it is my browser. But the question is: In Bash, if you need a little help with how a command like ls works, which of the commands can you use to get more information? Check all that apply.

Obviously the correct answer if ls --help

But it prompts that manual help and help ls are also correct when they are not.

创建者 Drew H

Mar 26, 2020

Originally I thought the layout was a little clunky, but when I wanted to go back and review something that I was struggling with it I was incredibly appreciative of the layout. My only real problem with the course is that it was so basic for intermediate users. I'm not sure I learned anything on the Windows end of things, however I did learn a great deal for Linux and it helped me tremendously.

创建者 Ronald P

May 13, 2019

as someone who is just moving from centos (RHEL) linux to Ubuntu (Debian) linux this course was something i needed. however there should have been some things on mac. lots of graphic and cad companies mainly use macs not windows or linux. audio processing is also best done with macs. walking in or getting a support line call and not knowing the system can lead to many more issues.

创建者 Ahmed E

Mar 31, 2019

This model was pretty challenging feel like it can be way more interactive especially on the coding exercises. Also think the interactive approach helps the learning to stick better because we are doing more over and over to make sure the skills are learned instead of just memorized for a brief moment which is what college and most learning experiences are notorious for!

创建者 Mikey B

Jul 16, 2020

Great instructor, easy to follow, and the material wasn't as dense compared to the Networking class. My only complaint was the amount of commands given in the terminal and the amount of explanations or examples. The Qwiklabs were helpful, but I needed more of them especially like the last one where you have to fix problems with what you learned throughout the class.

创建者 Philip D

Jul 13, 2020

There could be a download of the commands for both windows and linux, some of the lectures weren't thorough enough. At times it was moving to fast. There should be a better way to take notes. The scrolling of the lectures took the video out of view. I found it annoying. The labs were difficult because there was no concrete examples in the second lab.

创建者 Brent K

Jun 4, 2018

I thought the course was very good and informative. It was great being able to utilize the virtual machines for the labs, but it made me wish there was a way to have a virtual machine to use while watching the videos. I was able to follow along and actually do some of these tasks for Windows as I watched, but since I don't have a machine with Ubun

创建者 Matthew B

May 29, 2019

I loved this course. It challenged me to go back and remember alot of Linux and Powershell commands which I'm not familiar. My only issue were some of the labs and some instructions. Some of the instructions seems a little confusing and the lab itself has it's bugs. I couldn't complete 2 of the labs and just simply moved onto the next lesson.

创建者 Gabriele G

Jan 11, 2019

Deeply analytical and technical course oriented to provide the user the standard hard skills needed to perform IT support activities within a company. Linux Introduction to Bash, use of Microsoft different tools and understanding of the backgrounds of an OS makes this course a "must-have" in your portfolio. Empowering tech support operators!

创建者 Jeremiah Z

Jul 21, 2019

It was explained in very good detail, but i feel like it needed more exercises than supplemental readings. You can read something all day and yes it will help, but feel like this course and all the commands you learn need to be more exercised than read about with more quizzes involving typing in the commands, rather than reading about them.

创建者 Ruth D

Apr 20, 2018

The only issue I had a negative with was the labs. The course is great, content relevant and well demonstrated. There is a boat load of reading, but that is part of learning, isn't it. Pay close attention to the difference between command and flags as they require certain sequencing to be effective, which I still am unsure of.