Chevron Left
返回到 In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

学生对 现代艺术博物馆 提供的 In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting 的评价和反馈

4.9
997 个评分
443 条评论

课程概述

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

热门审阅

DB

Jul 26, 2020

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

DC

Jun 07, 2020

Really enjoyed this course, first course I have taken in this area of study. The course has given me an understanding of the artists covered and can't wait to see the artists paintings in person.

筛选依据:

251 - In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting 的 275 个评论(共 435 个)

创建者 Ury L E M

Apr 14, 2020

Friendly, easy-understanding with a lot of useful information about Abstract artists. I do recommend it

创建者 Pantelis A

Jan 31, 2018

Very satisfied with the course. The highlight of the course is Corey D'Augustine's video instructions.

创建者 Cecelia M

Jun 22, 2020

Changed my life! I feel so inspired and adept at talking about abstract expressionism now. Thank you!

创建者 Donna F

May 11, 2020

I enjoyed this course greatly, especially the studio work. I would enjoy more courses like this one.

创建者 Jillian L L

Nov 02, 2018

I throughly enjoyed this course and look forward to other MoMA courses in Art History in the future.

创建者 Javier C

Jan 03, 2018

Interesting subject, carried out in a well and clearly structured way, which makes it easy to follow

创建者 Ibikunle D

Feb 25, 2019

Most needed for the prospective, aspiring and experienced artists; skills and knowledge impacting.

创建者 Anna W

Jan 08, 2019

I love this course! So informative and interesting. It feels like I'm learning loads. Thank you!!!

创建者 Bryan B

Jul 06, 2020

Me gusto mucho este curso, aprendí bastantes técnicas sobre artistas del expresionismo abstracto

创建者 Sophie f

Sep 06, 2017

Excellent course. Corey D'Augustine was a superb lecturer and coach. Cannot recommend it enough.

创建者 Monica B

Jul 29, 2020

He aprendido mucho de historia, de arte y de muchos artistas. ha sido muy interesante el curso.

创建者 Denis D

Jun 08, 2020

I learnt so much more than I anticipated. It was an insightful and thoroughly enjoyable course.

创建者 Lily V G

Mar 20, 2020

Me encantó el curso ,los pintores escogidos ,y sobre todo las clases de como hacías sus cuadros

创建者 mariam s

Mar 17, 2020

Exceptional course, I learned so much about modern art, I painted and Corey is amazing teacher.

创建者 cian

Apr 19, 2017

Excellent all round course and the instruction videos are particularly good. Highly recommend.

创建者 Andrea J

Aug 08, 2020

It was a great course with a lot of practical painting idea and technique. Thank you for it!

创建者 Noelia

May 24, 2020

Thank you for this opportunity, I am thrilled with the class. Professor D'Agustine is great.

创建者 Peter

Jan 16, 2020

I should say this is an excellent online course and well worth us to spend time on. Bravo.

创建者 Felipe d j C H

Mar 07, 2019

Recommended you learn a lot with contemporary painters, I really like congratulations to all

创建者 Rubén M M

Nov 12, 2018

A very interesting course if you are interested in art, painting and abstract expressionism.

创建者 carter t

Feb 01, 2018

Excellent techniques, context, and history. Very interesting and nicely put together course.

创建者 peyman s

Apr 21, 2018

Fantastic insight into many artists I knew very little about & styles that I wasnt aware of

创建者 Martin H

Oct 11, 2017

This is a fun and informative course, especially if you participate in the studio exercises

创建者 Sandy L

Jun 12, 2017

Loved it. Well presented with valuable exercises. I learned a lot and look forward to more.