Chevron Left
返回到 The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill

学生对 罗马大学 提供的 The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill 的评价和反馈

4.4
269 个评分
107 条评论

课程概述

Studying ancient - as well as medieval or modern - cities basically means telling local urban stories based on the reconstruction of changing landscapes through the centuries. Given the fragmentary nature of archaeological evidence, it is necessary to create new images that would give back the physical aspect of the urban landscape and that would bring it to life again. We are not just content with analyzing the many elements still visible of the ancient city. The connections between objects and architectures, visible and non visible buildings, which have been broken through time have to be rejoined, to acknowledge the elements that compose the urban landscape. Landscape and its content are a very relevant and still vital part of any national cultural heritage. The course will introduce students to the way we have been reflecting on over the last twenty years and still are engaged with the study of the past of our cities, beginning from the most complex case in the ancient Mediterranean World: the core of Italy and of Roman Empire. On the other hand, knowledge means also preservation and defense of material remains and cultural memory. “The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archeology and History of the Palatine Hill” presents to a large public the topographical lay-out of the most relevant part of the city (according the Greek and Roman Historians Rome was founded on the Palatine). Research developed on the Palatine since the end of last century by the team of Sapienza Classical Archaeologists opened a new phase in the urban archaeological investigation and in the scientific debate about the relation between archaeological features and literary tradition as well as the “correct use“ of both kind of evidence, key issues of wide archaeological and historical significance....

热门审阅

CS
Mar 21, 2018

I’m now living in Siena so visiting Roma and it’s wonderful ancient architecture especially the Roman forum and the palatine hill has new excitement and knowledge for me.

JC
May 1, 2018

I appreciate the opportunity to learn the history of Rome and how it became the marvel city it is today . I will enjoy a lot more my next trip to Rome. Thank you .

筛选依据:

51 - The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill 的 75 个评论(共 107 个)

创建者 Darko R

Jun 2, 2021

it was very interesting and nice. Prof. Carafa is real professional!

创建者 Richard I M

Jan 27, 2021

really interesting and I loved the mix of live footage and the maps.

创建者 Simon C

Aug 10, 2017

Thank you very much for such an informative course. Very enjoyable.

创建者 Subala K

Mar 22, 2021

Course was excellent! Learned so many things

Thank you

创建者 CHRISTINE M

May 26, 2021

Thank you very much for your course Sir Paolo Carafa.

创建者 Demétrio G C d T

Sep 7, 2020

Excellent course, excellent professor!

创建者 SAHIL P

Jul 14, 2020

This course is the best one..

创建者 Jennifer L

Jun 13, 2020

Loved this course, thank you!

创建者 Eric H

Jun 10, 2019

Very very interesting!

创建者 Samer M K

Oct 20, 2018

Great course. Thanks

创建者 Jisha

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent Course

创建者 ELMER P M P

Sep 26, 2021

thank you

创建者 Susana J M

Mar 15, 2018

Wonderful

创建者 Maria S

Feb 1, 2021

AMAZING

创建者 Fayziyeva F I

Jul 25, 2020

super

创建者 Giuseppe G

May 9, 2018

Fanta

创建者 John U

Apr 30, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I only audited the course, so I don't know how different it is from the purchased course. My only criticism are the transcriptions of Professor Carafa's video presentations. The transcriber obviously misunderstood some words spoken by Professor Carafa, due to his accented English. For instance, when Professor Carafa says "hall" it is transcribed as "hole". Another example is "porticos" being transcribed as "particles". These two examples occur several times throughout the course, since hall and porticos are ubiquitous architectural features in the course. It was confusing until I understood what the Professor was actually saying. There were other transcription errors that caused confusion. It would be helpful for future students if Professor Carafa could proofread and correct the transcription errors. Alternatively, a mechanism that allowed students to suggest corrections would also suffice.

创建者 Paul B

Jun 19, 2020

Great content. Really helped to bring the space to life. Three suggestions, though: 1) ensure quizzes reflect current content (e.g. lesson 8, "heliogabalium" doesn't appear to have been mentioned in any video yet there is a question about it); there is LOTS about which building was where and what it might have looked like - a little more about the men who occupied the space would be helpful; 3) no real mention of the sacking of Rome and what new rulers did with these buildings. Thanks! My next trip to Rome will be better as a result of my learning from this course.

创建者 Niels B

Feb 20, 2020

The professor is very knowledgable and the course material on the palatine hill is really interesting. But the course is content is sometimes a bit chaotic, switching quickly between locations, periods and people. And the formulation of the questions in the tests doesn't always correspond with the way the answer is presented in the lectures. So the course could use an update.

创建者 jean p D

Aug 14, 2020

Thanks for giving such detailed information about a very important spot in Roman history, that is difficult to understand when you visit without previous data.

Now I understood the most relevant changes through it´s amazing history.

It was sometimes hard to orient myself with the drawings, as they where not always heading North.

Thanks again.

创建者 Peter N

Aug 13, 2019

A wonderful course that allowed me to understand a part of Rome much better.

I feel that the additional course material was simply a recap of the lecture and didn't expand or clarify anything.

The tutorials at the very beginning and the directions to download and instal AutoCad are irrelevant.

创建者 julian l

Sep 21, 2020

not an easy course, the maps presented in the course are not very clear and far to small to be seen on the screen. Luckily I am quite familiar with the general orientation of Rome, and area around the palatine hill, otherwise, would not be able to answer lots of questions in the quiz.

创建者 Amy Q

May 29, 2019

Having a document with names, terms, etc. would have been helpful, as well as clickable documents of the many maps and diagrams that were used. So many terms were found on them, and it made it difficult to keep track of everything. Very much enjoyed the course otherwise, thank you!

创建者 Dominic B

Nov 11, 2021

A​mple in-depth description of the many eras of construction on and around the Palatine, that most important of Roman hills. The course provides a broader historical perspective for why each era produced the structures it did, and how the use of the area changed over centuries.

创建者 Patricia C

Oct 16, 2017

It is an excellent course, but it doesn’t have subtitles. When you are not an expertise, and the language used is not your own, the understanding of certain terms it is sometimes difficult.

Anyways, a good experience. The professor is an expertise on the subject.

Great job!