Chevron Left
返回到 Parallel Programming in Java

学生对 莱斯大学 提供的 Parallel Programming in Java 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,128 个评分
241 条评论

课程概述

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of parallel programming in the context of Java 8. Parallel programming enables developers to use multicore computers to make their applications run faster by using multiple processors at the same time. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use popular parallel Java frameworks (such as ForkJoin, Stream, and Phaser) to write parallel programs for a wide range of multicore platforms including servers, desktops, or mobile devices, while also learning about their theoretical foundations including computation graphs, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism. Why take this course? • All computers are multicore computers, so it is important for you to learn how to extend your knowledge of sequential Java programming to multicore parallelism. • Java 7 and Java 8 have introduced new frameworks for parallelism (ForkJoin, Stream) that have significantly changed the paradigms for parallel programming since the early days of Java. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and the mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on forums. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Theory of parallelism: computation graphs, work, span, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism • Task parallelism using Java’s ForkJoin framework • Functional parallelism using Java’s Future and Stream frameworks • Loop-level parallelism with extensions for barriers and iteration grouping (chunking) • Dataflow parallelism using the Phaser framework and data-driven tasks Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of multicore Java programs, and will also provide the foundation for mastering other parallel programming systems that you may encounter in the future (e.g., C++11, OpenMP, .Net Task Parallel Library)....

热门审阅

LG

Dec 12, 2017

This is a great course in parallel programming. The videos were very clear, summaries reinforced the video material and the programming projects and quizzes were challenging but not overwhelming.

SV

Aug 27, 2017

Great course. Introduces Parallel Programming in Java in a gentle way.\n\nKudos to Professor Vivek Sarkar for simplifying complex concepts and presenting them in an elegant manner.

筛选依据:

26 - Parallel Programming in Java 的 50 个评论(共 239 个)

创建者 Navin V

Dec 20, 2020

Just after completing the week 3 module I realised that I have a new approach to programming at my work.I am Able to identify the pieces of code that are sequential and are good candidates for exploring parallelism there by potentially improving the over all performance of system.

创建者 Tobi L

Oct 23, 2017

Concise, well structured and effective. I now know the basics of ForkJoinPool, barriers, split-phase barriers and promises. Also the analysis of computation graphs really solidified my understanding of the relationship between parallelism and speedup over sequential equivalents.

创建者 Nikolay M

Jan 31, 2018

very useful concept such as async and future

this course help me understanding parallel programming in Java, I download language X10

please accept my gratitude. the ability to disassemble on the fingers difficult problem is the ability of the truly talented teachers

创建者 Vinay B S

Sep 30, 2017

An excellent course. Thank you, Dr. Sarkar!

During my internship, when I was taking this course, coincidentally, I got an opportunity to use Async tasks , get() etc. Was very happy when I could practically apply the concepts that I learnt during the course.

创建者 JB B

Aug 9, 2017

The video lessons are short and well made with practical summaries. Parallelism is a must for every serious software engineer just as being good with algorithms and data structures. Re-watch the videos and summaries to help you do the mini-projects.

创建者 Jaime F O C

Dec 10, 2018

This is a very good course, but I think that it needs more visual elements and more challenging homeworks. However, this course doesn't just offer a "how you can do this in Java", since it will first show you the theory. Great course.

创建者 Ignacio G

Oct 21, 2018

It's a great course, you learn the fundamentals to keep going and challenge your task at work to improve the performance.

I don't find that good that sometimes we have to use the API's provided by the University and not Java libraries.

创建者 Rushabh N L

Jan 17, 2021

Decent course. Prof. Sarkar taught so well and I wish I could take some more classes with him. I think more constructs could be introduced and explained with more examples. Programming assignments were easy and could be more intense.

创建者 Qingbo Z

Nov 15, 2019

This course has lots of invaluable insights, in-depth materials from high level concepts to practice. I highly recommend this course to all programmers who want to familiarize themselves with Java parallel programming.

创建者 Tianxiang X

Jul 23, 2018

Well-made videos, good explanation of concepts, great hands-on projects (not too difficult).

Some issues w/ differences b/t dev and grader environments in terms of performance / tests passing, but that's inevitable.

创建者 Roman M

Nov 7, 2017

This course is a good introduction to parallel programming. The assignments was to easy. Asides that, everything is great, Vivek Sarkar did a great job to teach fundamentals in easy to understand manner.

创建者 Leonid S

Sep 7, 2018

Thanks to this course I've learned actual (modern?) Java APIs which helps to embed parallelism into my programs.

And one more important thing: I stated to learn again. This worth to do at any age :)

创建者 Lee G

Dec 13, 2017

This is a great course in parallel programming. The videos were very clear, summaries reinforced the video material and the programming projects and quizzes were challenging but not overwhelming.

创建者 Srikar V

Aug 28, 2017

Great course. Introduces Parallel Programming in Java in a gentle way.

Kudos to Professor Vivek Sarkar for simplifying complex concepts and presenting them in an elegant manner.

创建者 Brij R K

Jul 20, 2020

I have never known these things existed and changed my perspective how to take advantage of multiple processor. I have used numpy in python but now I know how these are fast.

创建者 Samujjal B

Sep 2, 2020

I like the course very much. I am a working software engineer and I believe it will be helpful in my work. Prof Vivek is so clear in explanation and pretty to the point.

创建者 Samarjit P

May 17, 2020

I found this course very useful. I can see the utilisation of parallel computing in many fields of software development industry. So it's really useful for developers.

创建者 Rishabh A

Dec 27, 2017

Very relevant concepts, explained beautifully by a very experienced professor. The assignments were good, but they could involve more programming for more practice!

创建者 Faith R J

Oct 14, 2020

great course over here it has been great interacting with a simplified course where every complex thing has been narrowed down to easily understandable concepts

创建者 A M

May 30, 2020

Very well structured and presented course! Very useful material with good relevant examples! Thank you, Prof. Sarkar for this Parallel Programming in Java course!

创建者 Qian L

Jan 23, 2018

The combination of quiz and programming assignment helps understanding the course in a quite nice way. I will finish up the other two courses for sure.

创建者 tarun n

Dec 21, 2018

The concepts like thinking about work,span,cp.amhdals law very very helpful. Although i believe there should be more examples wit code as in quiz.

创建者 Hang Z

Mar 4, 2020

This course is great. The only problem is that the course is a little bit too easy and the minProject should cover more materials in class.

创建者 John O O

Jul 25, 2019

Full tremendous course for understanding the essentials about parallel programing in Java! Excellent mini-projects to reinforce concepts!

创建者 Serikzhan K

Jul 19, 2018

Learned a lot about Phasers; parallel programming concepts such as computation graph, span, ideal parallelism, CPL -- good introduction.