Chevron Left
返回到 并行编程

学生对 洛桑联邦理工学院 提供的 并行编程 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,670 个评分
248 条评论

课程概述

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

热门审阅

AL

Apr 24, 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC

Aug 25, 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

筛选依据:

151 - 并行编程 的 175 个评论(共 237 个)

创建者 Viacheslav I

Jun 03, 2017

Interesting course, very useful to get to know concepts of parallel programming. Assignments could be a little bit simpler but involving more programming from scratch, not just filling in methods bodies. This would help more to understand concepts.

创建者 Stefano P

Nov 21, 2016

Some problems with downloads and to view videos on the mobile app (Android), with some videos recorded with a low volume.

Despite that interesting and I think would need more time to get deeper in the concepts showed.

创建者 Patrick L

Aug 28, 2016

I learned very useful programming techniques, but I'm a bit lost as to whether these techniques are "good practices" or if they are "existing parallel programming features in Java, transposed as-is in Scala"

创建者 Mateusz K

Oct 02, 2016

Appreciate the time spent by the authors to prepare all the course materials and the assignments. Everything clear and relatively self-contained. However, I still do not feel to be an expert in parallelism.

创建者 Kaushik N

Aug 07, 2016

The course was really good. Got to learn so much about parallel programming with that course. The explanation level is very basic and any Computer Science related person can easily grasp the concepts

创建者 Martin K

Jun 22, 2016

Very good. Only things I wish were better is more comments in some assignments and more prepared tests. Also I miss not having "Statement of Accomplishment" like some other Scala courses :-(.

创建者 Yihan S

May 17, 2017

The assignment could be optimized and avoid to be more academic since it may make student lost focus and spend too much time on the question itself rather than the parallel programming

创建者 Rodrigo D

Apr 01, 2017

Its a very good course! perhaps the in the practice code, before jumping into the problems they can provide a couple of simple examples/questions such that the main ideas are learnt.

创建者 Du L

Jun 02, 2018

Very challenging course, the assignments are more about practising using parallel programming, would be better to design an assignment to implement the parallel programming.

创建者 Gregory E

Mar 29, 2018

For this course you should have Advanced English level. Cause sentesce construction is so difficult and words so unusual that i had to some times google what i have to do.

创建者 Benoit P D

Dec 20, 2016

Very good course overall on the basics of parallel programming in scala. Would have been nice to talk a bit more on the low level setup (parallel and task construct code).

创建者 Tim G

Oct 22, 2017

Really good course covering some of the fundamentals of parallel programming, though for me I was hoping it would go into some of the Scala specifics a little more

创建者 Erkin U

Oct 07, 2016

Assignments are focused on problem-solving rather than the importance of parallelism, missing the point of the lecture. It is a Scala course, so it is always fun!

创建者 Rahul W

Dec 11, 2016

Good course but scala understanding is required for this course. So please register for prior course in the certification task to easily complete this course.

创建者 Васеев Р В

Jun 02, 2018

Assignments are too easy compared to 2 previous courses. I've been asked lot less than been given. And did not grasp everything in the lectures at the end.

创建者 Solodovnikov G

Sep 17, 2016

Good explanations, relevant assignments.

But too small, too little graded assignments as for subject. Be better if the assignments has less starter code.

创建者 Zhenduo D

Nov 15, 2017

I can be further improved if the class can touch on design patterns using Future and Actor, in addition to the data structure oriented materials.

创建者 Enrique G R

Aug 19, 2017

Time to complete exercises might not be completely assessed. Some lectures seem to technical without any correspondence with real problems.

创建者 Pascal A

Sep 23, 2016

Really a great course but with a heavy work for the duration. If others courses are followed in parallel, there's no time to loose

创建者 Romain G

Jul 28, 2017

Very good course. Conc-list was brilliant.

Automated correction tool could do with more verbosity on failed test cases.

创建者 Steven T

Sep 26, 2016

Presentations were presented well and the assignments were interestingly varied but quite challenging for the newbie.

创建者 Alan A C

Oct 06, 2019

Interesting course but math part is too academic and boring. It'll be more useful if focused only in real use cases.

创建者 joshua

Jun 09, 2017

Overall the course was really good. I think the first 2 courses explained things a little bit better though.

创建者 Carlos C B C N

Apr 06, 2017

The course is good but is not focused on scala features. It is more generic parallel programming approach.

创建者 Adianto W

Oct 24, 2016

Insightful, though I am not sure if in non R&D/Academia settings the knowledge here can easily be applied.