Chevron Left
返回到 并行编程

学生对 洛桑联邦理工学院 提供的 并行编程 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,630 个评分
244 个审阅

课程概述

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

热门审阅

AL

Apr 24, 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC

Aug 25, 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

筛选依据:

126 - 并行编程 的 150 个评论(共 232 个)

创建者 Alexey K

Jan 31, 2019

It would be great to add some popular frameworks and some basics of reactive programming

创建者 Dean T

Jan 04, 2019

Needs to be updated for more modern versions of Scala.

创建者 Anton B

Dec 10, 2018

it would be great to have a few more pointers how to debug code in parallel

创建者 Yiran W

Jul 19, 2018

just one point to improve: some lib in Scala are not be told to install and use

创建者 Valters V

Sep 25, 2016

I feel the concepts which are necessary to use in programming assignments are not discussed in the lectures enough. As result figuring out what the assignment steps are all about takes too much time. Some tasks are absolutely trivial, and others are simply too difficult.

创建者 Mike D

Aug 21, 2016

The course achieves its objectives, but the assignments require too much effort for solving general problems, and relatively little for parallelism-related tasks. In other words, understanding what the problem is takes far more time than solving it. The Lego-assisted teaching is a definite plus though!

创建者 Youwei Z

Sep 13, 2016

good in general, theory part on complexity is too tedious

创建者 Pascal A

Sep 23, 2016

Really a great course but with a heavy work for the duration. If others courses are followed in parallel, there's no time to loose

创建者 c86jeff

Jan 22, 2017

learned a lot

创建者 shuo z

Jun 27, 2016

Good course. The assignments should focus on the parallel programming itself instead of language stuff.

创建者 Viacheslav I

Jun 03, 2017

Interesting course, very useful to get to know concepts of parallel programming. Assignments could be a little bit simpler but involving more programming from scratch, not just filling in methods bodies. This would help more to understand concepts.

创建者 Seoh C

Oct 04, 2017

unhelpful assignment instructions and test cases.

创建者 Oleksiy P

Apr 21, 2017

I have one issue about week 4 "Append" tree. I did not get how Append correlates with binary digits. I would like to have some step by step example how will we create a tree like s1 = Single(1) appendLeaf Single(2), s2 = s1 appendLeaf Single(3), s3 = s2 appendLeaf Single(4), s4 = s4 appendLeaf Single(5) using binary digits?

创建者 Evgeny T

Nov 10, 2016

There are some really boring parts, like 10 first minutes of many videolectures. It's kinda difficult to watch list.map explained in detail, since it's a course supposed to be taken after the one on basic Scala.

Overall - it's really good, I learned a lot.

创建者 Piotr G

Nov 01, 2017

This is a good course that has some really interesting assignments. The lectures are understandable and the topics are explained a bit nicer than a lot of theory in the other Scala courses from Martin Odersky, who conveys knowledge in a more "textbook" form. I am, however, taking one star out for the last assignment which was rather muddy in terms of explanation, long and not easy to debug due to it's size and parallel aspects. I felt way more positive about all other assignments on this course.

创建者 Martin K

Jun 22, 2016

Very good. Only things I wish were better is more comments in some assignments and more prepared tests. Also I miss not having "Statement of Accomplishment" like some other Scala courses :-(.

创建者 Sérgio T

Nov 16, 2016

It requires more effort on undestanding the algorithms involved in the problems, rather than paralelism and its techniques. Instead of 4 weeks it would benefit of an additional week - for those who take the course after the regular work hours at their job. So 5 weeks would be more adequate.

创建者 Rahul W

Dec 11, 2016

Good course but scala understanding is required for this course. So please register for prior course in the certification task to easily complete this course.

创建者 Kaushik N

Aug 07, 2016

The course was really good. Got to learn so much about parallel programming with that course. The explanation level is very basic and any Computer Science related person can easily grasp the concepts

创建者 Patrick L

Aug 28, 2016

I learned very useful programming techniques, but I'm a bit lost as to whether these techniques are "good practices" or if they are "existing parallel programming features in Java, transposed as-is in Scala"

创建者 Théophile G

Jul 17, 2017

Pretty good course

创建者 Benjamin S

Nov 03, 2016

Great explanations and insights around parallel programming. The instructors help you understand how parallel programming works and are doing great in making the complex topic understandable. To improve it further, there could be more explanations on performance differences between alternative solutions as well as some guidance on how to apply these ideas in practical Scala programming.

创建者 David P

Jan 25, 2017

Nice course! I learned a lot...

创建者 Zhenduo D

Nov 15, 2017

I can be further improved if the class can touch on design patterns using Future and Actor, in addition to the data structure oriented materials.

创建者 Romain G

Jul 28, 2017

Very good course. Conc-list was brilliant.

Automated correction tool could do with more verbosity on failed test cases.