Chevron Left
返回到 并行编程

学生对 洛桑联邦理工学院 提供的 并行编程 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,633 个评分
244 个审阅

课程概述

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

热门审阅

AL

Apr 24, 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC

Aug 25, 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

筛选依据:

176 - 并行编程 的 200 个评论(共 232 个)

创建者 Alexey P

Sep 13, 2019

It would be great to have some tests for understanding algorithms (like in algorithms course), not only practice programming assignments. Assignments are really interesting but can't verify your understand material or not. Also it is possible to pass assignment event if you have mistakes in the code.

创建者 Alan A C

Oct 06, 2019

Interesting course but math part is too academic and boring. It'll be more useful if focused only in real use cases.

创建者 Daniel B

Oct 10, 2019

Good course with a lot of interesting ideas and explanations. The reason I gave it a 4 and not a 5 is that I think it would have been better without involving instructors' own library on top of Scala instead of teaching Scala-level constructs directly. While I appreciate the notion of teaching general parallel programming ideas, introducing one's own constructs to promote it seems unnecessary - at the very least, these constructs' implementation should have been thoroughly explained in the course.

创建者 Gabriele A

Oct 30, 2019

Really cool course. I'm enjoying scala as a language as it has many simple methods to achieve complex goals, including parallelization, however this course also presents parallelism in a rawer fashion explaining in depth some of the techniques to parallelize seemingly sequential-only tasks.

Last week's exercise is quite long, and albeit being a truly beautiful project, most of the implementation is not strictly related to parallel programming.

In any case a totally good course!

创建者 Shi Y

Sep 13, 2019

Some instruction is pretty confusing

创建者 Erkin U

Oct 07, 2016

Assignments are focused on problem-solving rather than the importance of parallelism, missing the point of the lecture. It is a Scala course, so it is always fun!

创建者 Nikola P

Nov 01, 2016

Very interesting course, I would recommend. I always wanted to learn about Scala parallel collections.

创建者 Steven T

Sep 26, 2016

Presentations were presented well and the assignments were interestingly varied but quite challenging for the newbie.

创建者 Martin K

Jun 22, 2016

Very good. Only things I wish were better is more comments in some assignments and more prepared tests. Also I miss not having "Statement of Accomplishment" like some other Scala courses :-(.

创建者 Sérgio T

Nov 16, 2016

It requires more effort on undestanding the algorithms involved in the problems, rather than paralelism and its techniques. Instead of 4 weeks it would benefit of an additional week - for those who take the course after the regular work hours at their job. So 5 weeks would be more adequate.

创建者 Evaldas M

Oct 29, 2016

The course was ok, but at times too much theoretical when it comes to proofs of some methods are working as expected. I think its good to know the principles of parallelizing application and changing the potential algorithms, but this has applicability only in specific fields like comlex computations that need to be highly parallelized and less likely you would use these principles in standard backend development

创建者 Franklin P

Oct 12, 2016

This course had a lot of depth to it, both in the lectures and the programming assignments. The last assignment seemed needlessly complex with not enough focus on the parallel programming aspect. I wish there had been more of a focus on how to actually write the parallel and task constructs which were instead given already implemented without much explanation.

创建者 joshua

Jun 09, 2017

Overall the course was really good. I think the first 2 courses explained things a little bit better though.

创建者 Kaushik N

Aug 07, 2016

The course was really good. Got to learn so much about parallel programming with that course. The explanation level is very basic and any Computer Science related person can easily grasp the concepts

创建者 Mateusz K

Oct 02, 2016

Appreciate the time spent by the authors to prepare all the course materials and the assignments. Everything clear and relatively self-contained. However, I still do not feel to be an expert in parallelism.

创建者 c86jeff

Jan 22, 2017

learned a lot

创建者 Patrick L

Aug 28, 2016

I learned very useful programming techniques, but I'm a bit lost as to whether these techniques are "good practices" or if they are "existing parallel programming features in Java, transposed as-is in Scala"

创建者 Alexey K

Jan 31, 2019

It would be great to add some popular frameworks and some basics of reactive programming

创建者 Du L

Jun 02, 2018

Very challenging course, the assignments are more about practising using parallel programming, would be better to design an assignment to implement the parallel programming.

创建者 Marc K

Apr 10, 2018

The homework assignments are a bit hard, they require a lot of concentration time to make some progress.

创建者 Luciano P d S P

Sep 12, 2016

The course was well covered and very informative. As someone with zero experience in parallelism, I felt I could've absorbed a lot more if the topics were not completely new to me.

As mentioned in other reviews, the last assignment, Barnes Hut Simulation, was very time consuming and I found myself spending more time trying to understand the problem rather than implementing it. That was very challenging for someone with low academic background.

创建者 Valerio M

Nov 27, 2016

Interesting course, but far too short. It ends up giving a quick introduction to some of the aspects of parallel programming. I enjoyed the assignments, apart from last one where the difficulty was more about the context of the example than any parallel programming aspects. That example, extended, could be a good capstone project, but I think it was not appropriate as a course assignment. I prefer courses that follow a book, and this course didn't.

创建者 Luis V

Nov 10, 2017

Good course and good level on the assignments but needs a lot of improvement on the lectures, specially in the two last weeks.

创建者 Aleh V

Mar 03, 2017

Wrongly assumes that it'll be easier for students to jump from the conventional 'parallel' java paradigms and constructs to parallel streams.

Not a good job on explaining why. It'll require from students some efforts to create the right picture in their minds.

Exercises are great and partially make up for the above mentioned shortcomings.

Some example code is very bad and goes against all the 'good' things being taught by Martin in the first course of the specialization.

创建者 Igor W

Jun 12, 2017

Too much imperative technics in this "functional" parallel programming course.