Chevron Left
返回到 Particle Physics: an Introduction

学生对 日内瓦大学 提供的 Particle Physics: an Introduction 的评价和反馈

4.4
718 个评分
216 条评论

课程概述

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

热门审阅

VL
Mar 26, 2021

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.\n\nThank you for the great course!

MH
Aug 4, 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

筛选依据:

76 - Particle Physics: an Introduction 的 100 个评论(共 215 个)

创建者 Satish J

Jan 11, 2018

Coursera courses are a godsend for people like me who would like to satisfy their curiosity about the things around us.

创建者 Yanychek D

Mar 29, 2020

This cource helped me to achieve my goal about learning particle physics and understand thing I had problem with.

创建者 David Z

Feb 2, 2020

Need to repeat this a few times (while commuting, no exam pressure), basic understanding after passing the tests.

创建者 Prasoon V

Sep 1, 2019

Opened new doors of curiosity for me by involving me into long hours of engrossing and theories and researches.

创建者 Siripong C

Jan 25, 2020

This course is literally amazing. It can inspire high school students to be passionate about particle physics.

创建者 Francois Z

Feb 2, 2018

This has been the most well thought out introduction to particle physics I have come across. Really enjoyable.

创建者 SANIA T S

Jul 17, 2020

attending this course was such a good experience and did not fail to give a clear idea about particle physics

创建者 Pradeep M D

Jun 5, 2020

Very Happy..Best experience ever with all course instructors. Thank you Coursera and University of Geneva..!!

创建者 Sahil U

Apr 8, 2017

The course was really amazing. Enjoyed & learnt a lot & was privileged to learn from such reputed teachers.

创建者 Jas F A C

Sep 9, 2020

Very appreciated the challenging quizzes. This coursera is very helpful to my profession as an academician.

创建者 Joshua G H

Aug 26, 2020

Wonderful introduction into Particle physics and explains all phenomena that has been discovered so far.

创建者 Carlos A G T

May 24, 2017

That is the best course that I've done it in coursera, the teachers explain everything so fine and clear

创建者 Shivam

Sep 30, 2019

Financial Aid help me a lot to get the deep knowledge Thank you coursera Thank you university of geneva

创建者 Xuejing J

May 19, 2017

A well made course. But the learning curve is steep. It is hard to have some deep understanding.

创建者 Tim D

Oct 31, 2017

Excellent course and very well explained. I am a beginner and i found it very easy to follow.

创建者 anikaith k

Nov 30, 2020

This course is the best course i've ever done. The course has given me a lot of knowledge

创建者 Ali r

Mar 30, 2021

Thank you very much But one note: a lack of exercise and directed work (TD) is absent.

创建者 Alvaro R L B

Sep 30, 2017

Muy bueno , brinda conceptos basicos y escenciales acerca de la fisica de particulas.

创建者 Kannan K

Jul 27, 2020

I have learnt lot of new things and it will be helpful for my competitive exams

创建者 VARAD D

Aug 6, 2020

Brilliant content and just the right amount of tests to keep you interested.

创建者 Keith D

May 28, 2019

This is an excellent course! It is well designed, presented and organized.

创建者 J N

Oct 12, 2018

Special thank you to Martin, Anna , Mercedes and the entire courserteam

创建者 Chaitanya S

Nov 10, 2020

The course is a great introduction into the world of particle physics.

创建者 Somyajit C

Apr 4, 2020

Great course! very detailed and the videos were quite illustrative.

创建者 Marco G

Sep 11, 2017

Excellent course. The extra material is really enjoyable as well.