Chevron Left
返回到 Particle Physics: an Introduction

学生对 日内瓦大学 提供的 Particle Physics: an Introduction 的评价和反馈

4.5
499 个评分
155 条评论

课程概述

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

热门审阅

MH

Aug 05, 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

EP

Apr 23, 2017

Very interesting course. Quite difficult to pass week 6 due to a question on w boson quark transformation. Couldnt find answers in sylabus. Maybe just me. Overall excellant course.

筛选依据:

126 - Particle Physics: an Introduction 的 150 个评论(共 155 个)

创建者 Muhammad F

Mar 12, 2019

That's really a nice course. I have learn a lot about the particle physics. which helpful in MPhIL program.

创建者 Harshdeep S

Jan 20, 2020

A lot of room for improvement is there, but it was a pretty good and detailed course in particle physics.

创建者 saurav d

Apr 12, 2018

B

e

s

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

f

o

r

u

n

d

o

r

understanding

P

a

r

t

i

l

c

l

e

p

h

y

s

i

c

s

.

T

o

M

e

r

c

e

d

e

s

p

l

e

a

s

e

i

m

p

r

o

v

e

your

e

n

g

l

i

s

h

创建者 Gustavo P

Oct 08, 2017

This course is quite good, I liked it a lot and learnt a lot from it.

创建者 Anirudh S

Mar 06, 2019

The number of questions should be increased in every section!

创建者 MD S A

Aug 09, 2019

It would be great if there were numerical problems

创建者 Sai J R G

Jun 18, 2019

French accent of the tutors is a bit troubling

创建者 Мясников В А

Jun 09, 2020

french accent of mercedes is not that good

创建者 Richard K

Jul 07, 2018

Fast paced but informative.

创建者 Samantha S

Mar 23, 2018

i love the material

创建者 Olivia

Oct 15, 2017

Very good approach

创建者 jose

Dec 02, 2017

v

创建者 Vo C

Jan 26, 2018

Not good as I expected. The teachers did not explain much. It seems that they just read out loud from their lecture notes. On the other hand, the lecture note is comprehensive. It takes time to digest the information in the note.

创建者 Samuel L J

Aug 07, 2017

The course is good, although too general. It could use more challenging exercises and mathematics, more in line with a course in Particle Physics in a standard Physics curriculum.

创建者 Egemen B

Aug 08, 2018

Unassuming about prior knowledge. Quizzes oriented to beginners, lectures to grad students. Confusing, but fun nonetheless.

创建者 Wei-shun B

Sep 28, 2017

Introductory course and little prerequisites. It is good in general but I still got lost in some lecture videos.

创建者 Abhimanyu B

Jan 28, 2018

try simplifying the course a little more

创建者 Yifu L

Aug 29, 2018

subtitles can be improved.

创建者 Deepanshu C

May 05, 2020

I personally had a lot of interest in particle physics due to which I registered for this course. This course starts to become quite boring as we move ahead. I feel this is because the professors are reading continuously. It feels like they are not teaching and explaining the things but only reading out the articles which they have. Of all the professors, Martin sir was good due to his varying tone but the other ma'am were continuously reading in a single tone due to which it seems boring. However, if one has the interest and passion for particle physics. This is a must do course for him

创建者 Deniz P

May 28, 2020

Although the course covered a wide range of topics, the mathematics were beyond my understanding (as a 10th grade student) and the accents were hard to understand and annoying from time to time. I had to learn most of the topics from other videos on YouTube because the topics were not simplified enough for me to understand. I would say you should enroll for free and have a look at a few videos before purchasing the course like I did. Overall, it was an interesting experience.

创建者 Laura K

May 03, 2017

Course content is good, however, material is explained fairly quickly and the lady who is lecturing is almost impossible to understand (due to a very strong accent and a very mechanical reading), which made me want to skip all her lectures.

创建者 Michael V

Dec 01, 2019

The topic is highly interesting but unfortunately, I have to agree with the negative assessments:

he presentation style is inadequate for learning

创建者 Maaz K

Jul 07, 2018

bORING

创建者 Rod B

Apr 04, 2017

Very poorly presented course. Despite having completed quite a number of coursera courses before, and even being already familiar with a good deal of the preliminary material in this one, i soon abandoned it due to the inadequate and scrappily prepared presentation of material. Mercedes Paniccia in particular speaks in a virtually unintelligible expressionless monotone with no explanation or elaboration to relieve what amounts to little more than a list of definitions and bald statements such as can be found in the glossary section of many textbooks. I would strongly recommend finding an alternative course devoted to the subject or maybe seeking out a readable textbook.

创建者 Radu N

May 04, 2020

I just started the course, but the way in which is presented makes it unbearable. The teacheres are just reading the informations from the paper without actively engaging in logical explinations. I understand that it's a very complex topic that require extensive knowledge, but even with a master degree in chemistry and some knowledge about particles it's very hard to follow due to the way the notions are structured and presented. Very dissapointed.