Chevron Left
返回到 Particle Physics: an Introduction

学生对 日内瓦大学 提供的 Particle Physics: an Introduction 的评价和反馈

4.4
685 个评分
208 条评论

课程概述

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

热门审阅

MH
Aug 4, 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

EP
Apr 22, 2017

Very interesting course. Quite difficult to pass week 6 due to a question on w boson quark transformation. Couldnt find answers in sylabus. Maybe just me. Overall excellant course.

筛选依据:

176 - Particle Physics: an Introduction 的 200 个评论(共 207 个)

创建者 Saphilous S

Jun 18, 2019

French accent of the tutors is a bit troubling

创建者 Мясников В А

Jun 9, 2020

french accent of mercedes is not that good

创建者 Ayan B

Sep 28, 2020

The course is very informative indeed.

创建者 Richard K

Jul 7, 2018

Fast paced but informative.

创建者 Natnael M

Aug 27, 2020

It is a very nice cource.

创建者 Samantha S

Mar 23, 2018

i love the material

创建者 Ogunnaike F E

Jul 9, 2020

very easy to grasp

创建者 TARIT G

Oct 14, 2017

Very good approach

创建者 jose

Dec 2, 2017

v

创建者 Jacqueline T

Aug 1, 2020

Interesting material and good breadth. The difficulty level varies a lot between weeks - some weeks are very in depth while others seem like filler in comparison. There are a lot of equations introduced which require more knowledge of physics than I had expected from the course description and seem to be beyond the scope of an introductory course. Fortunately, following these equations is generally not necessary to understand the course objectives, but it does make following the lessons needlessly complex. Additionally, some of the quiz questions require memorization of specific numbers/values that are only tangentially related to the week's topic and don't help to further understanding of the subject matter.

创建者 Hamza I

Aug 28, 2020

The course was very informative and finely detailed. I would say, however, that some parts or concepts were made a bit complicated and that they could have been easily explained/demonstrated.

创建者 Samuel L J

Aug 7, 2017

The course is good, although too general. It could use more challenging exercises and mathematics, more in line with a course in Particle Physics in a standard Physics curriculum.

创建者 MRITYUNJOY S

Jul 11, 2020

there is a translation issue in some videos especially the ones with others (except Martin and Mercedes) and also the explanations are a bit monologous

创建者 Egemen B

Aug 8, 2018

Unassuming about prior knowledge. Quizzes oriented to beginners, lectures to grad students. Confusing, but fun nonetheless.

创建者 Wei-shun B

Sep 28, 2017

Introductory course and little prerequisites. It is good in general but I still got lost in some lecture videos.

创建者 Ruchit S

Aug 4, 2020

Interesting material, great instructors, but .... the monotonous, not-so-enthusiastic delivery may put one off.

创建者 Abhimanyu B

Jan 27, 2018

try simplifying the course a little more

创建者 Yifu L

Aug 29, 2018

subtitles can be improved.

创建者 Deniz P

May 28, 2020

Although the course covered a wide range of topics, the mathematics were beyond my understanding (as a 10th grade student) and the accents were hard to understand and annoying from time to time. I had to learn most of the topics from other videos on YouTube because the topics were not simplified enough for me to understand. I would say you should enroll for free and have a look at a few videos before purchasing the course like I did. Overall, it was an interesting experience.

创建者 Ali R S

Jul 12, 2020

English hard to understand, and content impossible to follow. Even though, I am quite proficient in Quantum Mechanics, this course introduced variables in equations, without defining them. It takes thrice the time of the video to fully understand the content of the video.

创建者 Marko S

Nov 23, 2020

Language barriers, and a system of just throwing information out.

There is no any real teaching done in this lectures there is just new information that could be read by anyone on script or in a book.

创建者 Michael V

Dec 1, 2019

The topic is highly interesting but unfortunately, I have to agree with the negative assessments:

he presentation style is inadequate for learning

创建者 Maaz K

Jul 7, 2018

bORING

创建者 Rod B

Apr 4, 2017

Very poorly presented course. Despite having completed quite a number of coursera courses before, and even being already familiar with a good deal of the preliminary material in this one, i soon abandoned it due to the inadequate and scrappily prepared presentation of material. Mercedes Paniccia in particular speaks in a virtually unintelligible expressionless monotone with no explanation or elaboration to relieve what amounts to little more than a list of definitions and bald statements such as can be found in the glossary section of many textbooks. I would strongly recommend finding an alternative course devoted to the subject or maybe seeking out a readable textbook.

创建者 Bran R

Feb 13, 2020

Selected portions were good; other sections were plain horrible; difficult to understand the lecturer (not the topic; rather the english). For an english speaking course, videos in another language were not useful. Lectures provided no insight, pure reading from a lifeless script. Wording of problems had lots of typos, and questions were ill formed... I would not recommend this course unless it was cleaned up.