Chevron Left
返回到 Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

学生对 伦敦帝国学院 提供的 Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA 的评价和反馈

4.0
1,910 个评分
455 条评论

课程概述

This intermediate-level course introduces the mathematical foundations to derive Principal Component Analysis (PCA), a fundamental dimensionality reduction technique. We'll cover some basic statistics of data sets, such as mean values and variances, we'll compute distances and angles between vectors using inner products and derive orthogonal projections of data onto lower-dimensional subspaces. Using all these tools, we'll then derive PCA as a method that minimizes the average squared reconstruction error between data points and their reconstruction. At the end of this course, you'll be familiar with important mathematical concepts and you can implement PCA all by yourself. If you’re struggling, you'll find a set of jupyter notebooks that will allow you to explore properties of the techniques and walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you are already an expert, this course may refresh some of your knowledge. The lectures, examples and exercises require: 1. Some ability of abstract thinking 2. Good background in linear algebra (e.g., matrix and vector algebra, linear independence, basis) 3. Basic background in multivariate calculus (e.g., partial derivatives, basic optimization) 4. Basic knowledge in python programming and numpy Disclaimer: This course is substantially more abstract and requires more programming than the other two courses of the specialization. However, this type of abstract thinking, algebraic manipulation and programming is necessary if you want to understand and develop machine learning algorithms....

热门审阅

JS

Jul 17, 2018

This is one hell of an inspiring course that demystified the difficult concepts and math behind PCA. Excellent instructors in imparting the these knowledge with easy-to-understand illustrations.

NS

Jun 19, 2020

Relatively tougher than previous two courses in the specialization. I'd suggest giving more time and being patient in pursuit of completing this course and understanding the concepts involved.

筛选依据:

251 - Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA 的 275 个评论(共 455 个)

创建者 ranzhang

Aug 29, 2019

I think it's really a hard lesson for me, but I've also learn a lot, thanks a lot for the teacher and coursera. Some Programming test take too long to execute, and there are some errors in it. just be careful

创建者 Suyog P

Sep 02, 2019

Finally understood basic intuition of PCA, never got perfect resource before. However, there was a sharp change in terms of course delivery than the previous two courses of this specialization. So, heads up.

创建者 Camilo J

Mar 01, 2019

Great capstone for the three-class Mathematics for Machine Learning series. Assignments were way harder and programming debugging skills had to be appropiate in order to finish the class.

创建者 Lotachukwu I

Jun 28, 2020

Very challenging at times, but very good course none the less. Would recommend to any one who has a solid foundation of Linear Algebra (Course 1) and Multivariate Calculus (Course 2).

创建者 Faisal

May 28, 2020

Course content is interesting and well planned, Can be improved by making it Simpler for Students as it was more technical than the other 2 courses of the Specialization.

创建者 Abhishek P

Sep 09, 2019

Course content tackles a difficult topic well. Only flaw is that programming assignments are poorly designed in some places and are quite difficult to pick up at times.

创建者 Hadhrami A G

Jun 08, 2020

The course is generally good but the assignment setting definitely needs to be rectified. Thanks anyway for this course. An important element of machine learning.

创建者 Liang S

Jul 09, 2018

Teaching pacing is good, and clear in explanation. It will be good if there are some examples about how we should apply all these theories to some real problems.

创建者 Mohamed B

Oct 27, 2019

I learned a lot in this course, though the last week was somehow hurried and the lecturer didn't spend enough time to piece the whole stuff together.

创建者 Rok Z

Feb 05, 2020

A different course than the previous 2.

Much harder - as you have to actually know some Python tricks.

But I guess it's the same in a real world.

创建者 Jordan V

Aug 23, 2019

Course addresses important subject, but I worth like to have more in-depth explanation of the mathematics by the instructors and more examples.

创建者 Kevin G

Jan 14, 2020

Felt like explanations in this course were a bit confusing, but otherwise, it was a very interesting course. Thank you so much for doing this.

创建者 Helena S

Feb 28, 2020

The final Notebook contains some errors (Xbar instead of X, passed as an argument). Otherwise a very well organized course. Thanks a lot!

创建者 Giri G

Jun 07, 2019

This was a very hard course for me. But I think the instructor has done the best possible he can with presenting and explaining the course

创建者 Leon T

Jul 10, 2020

Jupyter notebook assignments are in desperate need of attention! Very buggy or non-intuitive for the scope of material in span of time.

创建者 Christine W

Aug 13, 2018

Coding assignment is hard for people who are not familiar with numpy. Would appreciate some material at least going over the basis.

创建者 Shaiman S

Apr 30, 2020

Please change courese material for PCA. It is very un-understandable and assignments are also very tugh as per what is taught.

创建者 Karan S

Aug 01, 2020

Focus a bit more on PCA in week 4, week 1 was not very informative and should be assumed as required knowledge for the course

创建者 Hilmi E

Apr 20, 2020

Careful, step-by-step construction of the PCA algorithm with practical exercises and coding assignments.. Very well done...

创建者 Voravich C

Oct 21, 2019

The course level is very difficult and I think having four week course is not enough to understand the math behind PCA

创建者 Nguyen D P

Oct 17, 2018

That's a great online courses can help people have enough background to break into Machine Learning or Data science

创建者 Ananthesh J S

Jun 16, 2018

The PCA derivation part requires more elaborate explanation so that we can understand the concept more intuitively.

创建者 Manuel I

Jul 07, 2018

Overall the hardest of the specialization, a though one but great to make sense of all the maths learned so far.

创建者 Shraavan S

Mar 04, 2019

Programming assignments are a little difficult. Background knowledge of Python is recommended for this course.

创建者 Andrew D

Jun 02, 2019

Very difficult course, make sure to do the prereq courses first and understand everything from those courses.