Chevron Left
返回到 The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work

学生对 伦敦大学 提供的 The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,619 个评分
534 条评论

课程概述

The aim of this course is to give you a practical guide to managing people at work. It does not matter whether you are a first time manager in a shop or a middle manager in an office environment; the same skills apply to every work place. In the course you will engage with some HR theories and then see how they translate into every day working life. At the end of the course we hope you will be better equipped to choose a suitable employee, to motivate and appraise your team, to manage conflict in the work place and to lead and make decision on a day to day basis....

热门审阅

PP

Aug 16, 2020

Excellent! The contents are great for any manager that want to make a significant job within any organization. Clear and key concepts for everyday activities. I enjoyed every single lesson. Thank you!

EP

Jul 23, 2020

This course has helped me a lot in understanding a lot of things about management. I highly recommend this to people who are managing people and to those who are interested in working with teams.

筛选依据:

1 - The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work 的 25 个评论(共 525 个)

创建者 natalie H

Oct 24, 2018

The content was rather dry, but it got more interesting towards the end. Lots of reading material was then directly covered in the video directly following, so it seemed a bit unorganized in that way. At the end of the course, I do not feel like I'm walking away with a toolkit on how to manage. I feel more so like I'm walking away with a new glossary of terms from most of the course. The most engaging and practical information I gained was during the HR, conflict and payment sections.

创建者 Narendra S

Apr 13, 2019

An excellent course. Enhances skills of the managers to handle people effectively and using human resources efficiently to achieve the organizational and the individual employees' goals.

创建者 Jérémie L

Aug 25, 2018

Sometimes a bit too academic in the questions, is it really important to know a study was published in a certain Harvard publication, or the name of the person who wrote the study?

创建者 Pankaj A

Jun 22, 2017

it very helpful course for any manager to understand a team and also what factors will motivate them to perform well in organisation. it will also inculcate the habit of fairness with high

创建者 Deborah C

May 06, 2017

This course has given me information and resources to add in my personal toolkit to better manage and aid my team to a better understanding and less conflict. Very practical information.

创建者 Natalie

Apr 10, 2019

An Excellent course, I was amazed at how much was included ! And actually enjoyed the quizzes as it gave me an opportunity to apply what I had learnt. I have never considered doing online learning before, but now I am on the look out for my next course!

创建者 Danilo L

May 15, 2019

Good content, good videos but it could be, at times, a little bit more practical, with concrete examples.

创建者 Gurmukh S

Apr 14, 2020

A great toolkit and guide to manage people at work, whether he may be your colleague, your boss or your super boss.

Although I have been through this topics during my management sessions, this course refreshed the sessions again.

This course will help you to know, how to handle a situation at work, when it comes to Leadership, Decision Making, Pay Structure or incentives, handling conflicts at your workplace, and many more.

Would recommend readers to go through the course as it covers all the basics and handy things to manage at your workplace.

创建者 Maxim S

Dec 28, 2016

this course was so interesting and good planned, so I couldn't do anything else in my spare time other than watching this course and answering (simple) questions. Except just one week, this course is build very well. It is also a short one, but gives a good perspective to various topics in Management, Social and Organizational Psychology. I totally recommend taking it for all, not only managers, but all who wants to improve their day-to-day communications, goal setting and mentoring.

创建者 Luke I

Feb 04, 2017

Thank you for providing an excellent introduction to managing people at work. I have found some really good ideas and resources from this course that I will be using in my current job.

创建者 Simy R

Apr 10, 2019

I enjoyed the lectures from every professor. Excellent course for aspiring Managers or Small business owners.

创建者 Elena S

Jan 23, 2019

Loved the example sit

创建者 Rocio C S

Apr 25, 2019

very useful course!

创建者 Asma M S

Apr 28, 2019

this course is a wonderful start to learn about HR concept

创建者 Dorothy L

Jan 24, 2017

Not a lot of interaction with other classmates. The material was a good refresher. Would have enjoyed more practical applications for homework. I thought there would be a bit more evidence based information as stated. Overall, good for newbies into management and a nice little refresher.

创建者 Ethel P

Jul 23, 2020

This course has helped me a lot in understanding a lot of things about management. I highly recommend this to people who are managing people and to those who are interested in working with teams.

创建者 Vouchleang L

May 02, 2020

I love this course because it gives me a lot of practical knowledge and understandings regarding managing people at workplace. It also provides me a lot of additional documents and information.

创建者 Noor H

Apr 14, 2020

This was an amazing course! It was very informative! I enjoyed learning through out the course! I especially loved the assessments! Thank you Coursera!

创建者 Deborah M

Aug 02, 2020

If you are looking for a refresher course this would suit however it will not likely offer any insights or knowledge you wouldn't already have if you have worked as a manager for any period of time. Most of what it presents is common sense that has been formally structured. The course is well framed and the reading material is interesting however it is also covered in the video lectures so unnecessary. The lectures themselves were very dry. It would help if the lecturers would look at the camera and engage with the audience rather than unnaturally reading a script off to the side.

I would recommend this course for someone starting out who has no prior experience in management and would like to get a handle on the basics.

创建者 Julie D

Aug 17, 2016

Really excellent materials and links but spoiled by typos on the videos and in the quiz questions. I'm sure some of the quiz answers conflicted with what had been said in the videos.

创建者 Najib H

Jan 04, 2017

I was very enthusiastic to follow this inspiring course delivered by the prestigious University of London (Birkbeck) about “How to Manage People at work”.

Dr. Chris Dewberry, Lecturer and Course Director did an absolute and fantastic job by presenting this course and sharing recommendable & actionable strategies.

This course isn’t solitary for ongoing learners seeking to add or master their managerial position, but its also advocated for employee(s) searching better work environment and performance by understanding the HR theories, policies and procedures.

By understanding their views and Performance Management strategies, any employee(s) will positively benefits the outcome of this outstanding course.

I really loved the different video’s involving actors, showcasing different scenario’s/situations of well-known work cases.

The video recording and HD production, is very well prepared!

I was highly impressed by the excellent teaching sessions from Katerina Penna (Teaching numbers of HR related modules for the University of London's Human Resource Management Program provided by Birkbeck).

Last but not least, I was wonderfully impressed by the charismatic Dr. Juliet Hassard advices and strategies. (lecturer in Occupational Health Psychology and Deputy Director of the Center for Sustainable Working Life at Birkbeck College, University of London).

This is an unconditional stellar course and; unquestionably deserve a flawless 5 star rating!!!!!

创建者 ABEJOYE A O

Aug 11, 2020

I want to really say a big thanks to the management of the institution for the knowledge the team impacted in me through the online course. The course excellent and also it is an eye opener to me in particular how to manage the people at work not at work only it will also help me how to manage the people am directing in the society and including how to manage my family.

The material to study was reach and the video was excellent and clear and the instructors language audio was clear and also the assessment question was very good. I really enjoy the course. Finally I will say keep the flag flying Thanks.

创建者 Al A

Dec 23, 2017

Great course, excellent content, and excellent instructors. The only negative feedback I would have is on week 6 where the production value of the videos plummeted dramatically. There were also more grammatical errors in the assessments in week 6 specifically.

Role-play videos were quite entertaining.

Additional reading was suggested in each unit which was great - however there were no links for where to access the additional reading online so I was not able to take advantage of it.

创建者 Dr. A M

Aug 30, 2019

It was indeed a stupendous learning experience in pursuing this course.The course contents and lectures are really exhaustive and provides a wonderful hands on experience on to professional managing affairs of the globally competitive corporations.

Prof. Dewberry needs a special appluad for creating n deliberating such a wonderful enrichening course..

Really enjoyed the course to the fullest..

Regards

Dr. Anurag Mittal

Associate Professor in Management,

INDIA

创建者 Katarzyna L

Aug 15, 2020

A really well-structured and organized course about key points of being a good manager. Describes managing styles, dealing with conflicts at the workplace, etc. Many resources are provided in the form of book chapters, articles and PP slides. The only thing I think of now to improve would be to add some key points during the video to help with better understanding and making it a little easier to note or remember something.