Chevron Left
返回到 Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language

学生对 华盛顿大学 提供的 Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language 的评价和反馈

4.8
262 个评分
87 条评论

课程概述

In the professional realm, we need to be able to argue without being argumentative. Whether you are fundraising for a nonprofit, pitching a business proposal, or suggesting a change to company policy, you are making arguments. In making the case for your topic, you often want to raise awareness, identify a pressing problem, discuss appropriate solutions, and outline specific steps for the audience. To be persuasive, you must be clear (the audience may have little to no existing knowledge), you must be convincing (you are trying to sway the audience that your argument is valid), and you must be compelling (you are trying to motivate the audience enough so that they want to take specific actions). Persuasive speaking thus requires clarity, strategy, topic mastery, plus a sense of style and presence. By the end of this course, you should be able to design persuasive speeches that address problems and solutions and that motivate audience members. You should be able to use rhetorical style strategically and deliver passionate and compelling speeches. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

热门审阅

VS
Nov 14, 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

CW
May 3, 2021

This is an engaging course that sharpens skills on good and sound speeches that make sense and communicate ones key points with an argumentative but motivating speech.

筛选依据:

26 - Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language 的 50 个评论(共 88 个)

创建者 Caroline N W

May 4, 2021

This is an engaging course that sharpens skills on good and sound speeches that make sense and communicate ones key points with an argumentative but motivating speech.

创建者 Eko A T ( L T

Feb 13, 2021

I learnt a lot from this course. What I like most is the discussions around arrangement, style, and fallacies. Thank you, Prof. McGarrity.

创建者 Christopher C

Dec 3, 2020

Dr. Matt McGarrity, is an excellent lecturer and this course is a must have regardless of your field of study/expertise.

创建者 Tatyana G

Dec 29, 2020

Great course with good structure, material and practices. Take good notes you will need them for your future speeches!

创建者 MACHAY C N P

Nov 4, 2020

Un excelente curso, que ayuda para poner en practica como compartir nuestras ideas y motivara a la audiencia

创建者 Binoj M

Dec 2, 2020

It was an amazing experience to learn the art of speaking to persuade. The materials were really helpful.

创建者 Alexander T

Dec 23, 2017

This is the 3rd course of this specialization completed so far. Very interesting and entertaining.

创建者 Alejandra F F Z

Nov 28, 2020

Such a great course! I've learned so many things that surely I'll apply in my daily work.

创建者 Ahmed A

Feb 16, 2021

Perfect course for public speaking and persuading technic learning.

Thank you very much

创建者 Syed N A ( O - O A

Dec 27, 2020

A course provided detailed techniques to speak publicly to persuade with confidence.

创建者 Florence G

May 11, 2020

Very interesting course mainly for argumentation part. Thanks to Matt Mc.Garrity.

创建者 HUNTER G B

Dec 10, 2020

The instructor looks like the Dean from the NETFLIX show community.

创建者 Miguel P

Oct 9, 2020

A unique course, very interesting. It opened my mind in many ways.

创建者 Perla G

Sep 30, 2021

I just loved the course. Tahnks teacher, it has been very usefull

创建者 Shirley S

Nov 22, 2021

Another good course with plenty of helpful information.

创建者 Modi R B

Oct 25, 2020

It is an informative course I will recommend to anyone

创建者 Sharuf H A K J

Dec 4, 2020

The faculty was amazing and loved his way of teaching

创建者 Rebeca C

Mar 20, 2020

thank you so much for all of your professionalism

创建者 Muhammed N A

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent. Matt is good teacher ever!

创建者 PEREZ R S L

Mar 4, 2021

Me encantó, me ha ayudado bastante

创建者 Nguyen T T A

Mar 19, 2021

How nice to learn this course~

创建者 Florencio C L J

Oct 26, 2020

A simple yet effective course!

创建者 Venkata N C

Nov 2, 2017

Very practical and insightful

创建者 MOHAMMAD G A A

Aug 24, 2020

Very well designed course

创建者 FRANCISCO S

Nov 21, 2020

Great content thanks!