Chevron Left
返回到 Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language

学生对 华盛顿大学 提供的 Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language 的评价和反馈

4.8
264 个评分
88 条评论

课程概述

In the professional realm, we need to be able to argue without being argumentative. Whether you are fundraising for a nonprofit, pitching a business proposal, or suggesting a change to company policy, you are making arguments. In making the case for your topic, you often want to raise awareness, identify a pressing problem, discuss appropriate solutions, and outline specific steps for the audience. To be persuasive, you must be clear (the audience may have little to no existing knowledge), you must be convincing (you are trying to sway the audience that your argument is valid), and you must be compelling (you are trying to motivate the audience enough so that they want to take specific actions). Persuasive speaking thus requires clarity, strategy, topic mastery, plus a sense of style and presence. By the end of this course, you should be able to design persuasive speeches that address problems and solutions and that motivate audience members. You should be able to use rhetorical style strategically and deliver passionate and compelling speeches. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

热门审阅

VS
Nov 14, 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

CW
May 3, 2021

This is an engaging course that sharpens skills on good and sound speeches that make sense and communicate ones key points with an argumentative but motivating speech.

筛选依据:

76 - Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language 的 88 个评论(共 88 个)

创建者 Rolandas R

May 31, 2017

L

创建者 Akin A

Jun 29, 2020

Great course! Brilliant lectures and assignments - I learnt a huge amount. The only slightly disappointment is the peer review system - I had to spend time in the forums asking for people to review my work (so that I could get enough reviews to pass).

创建者 Janice U

May 4, 2021

Great course. Learned a great deal about how to create and deliver a persuasive speech. The peer rating system is sometimes tough to complete because we all speak different languages. Other than that, educational course.

创建者 Yixuan

May 24, 2021

This course provides some useful tips in public speaking, which is pretty good. There are some provided material that is also helpful in extra reading.

创建者 Suresh K S ( O - M S

Dec 29, 2020

The course helped me to understand various pursuance technique how to arrange and style the speech. This will help me a lot in my

创建者 Linda E

Aug 13, 2019

Really rigorous. Learned alot. Final assignments were a bit redundant.

创建者 Akella K M

Nov 5, 2021

Good course content, quite the find.

创建者 Imadeldin E T ( - A E T

Nov 28, 2020

Very good training course

创建者 Palani T A

Jan 22, 2020

Very useful.

创建者 GIOSUE P

Jun 13, 2019

A bit better than the previous courses, yet again: too many videos that do not provide consistent tips and strategies to improve the analysis and the production of speeches. Sometimes the videos are boring and the content non-stimulating.

创建者 Marcelo B Y

Nov 9, 2017

Good corse, great practice with the vídeos. The interaction in the forums and groups is quite low, I thiink because s

创建者 Ayesha A A S A

Nov 11, 2021

course still showing in progress to me , why ??

创建者 Astrid P D

Aug 6, 2017

I prefer to stop the course because I can't longer watch more video with this professor. I am totally sorry but the way he speaks without pause, silence is very disturbing for me.

I prefer to give up and focus on other MOOC with the same topic but a more accessible presentation.