Chevron Left
返回到 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 的评价和反馈

4.6
858 个评分
190 条评论

课程概述

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

热门审阅

CG

Feb 11, 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS

Jun 25, 2020

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

筛选依据:

126 - Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 的 150 个评论(共 188 个)

创建者 Gabriel V J

Jan 28, 2017

excellent

创建者 Jorge P

Jun 15, 2020

Great!!!

创建者 Kermit B B

Mar 19, 2017

Awesome!

创建者 Oky T S

Nov 20, 2016

Superb

创建者 damarillier@gmail.com

Oct 11, 2017

E

创建者 Victor J M C

Dec 09, 2017

This was a good course, and I have learned new things by taking the course, but it would have benefitted from more depth. It is, however, a course for which it must be stressed that the title contains "introduction". By taking the course, one gets an overview of different areas of Cognitive Science and how different researchers might do research in those areas. This is all very good, but I had expected more depth. The course requires one to understand what the researchers are saying - nothing more than that; one does not learn to think in a new way or to analyse cases. Overall, it is an interesting course, but it is more like a documentary with quizzes to test, if one has paid attention, than it is like a course, in which one needs to really understand the content.

创建者 Alain Q R

Dec 10, 2018

Very good course. Its topics are really well chosen. So the readings recommended. Its lecturers are well chosen too divided between more theoretical and more practical thinkers when the topic makes this distinction make sense or between a follower of some theory and a follower of an opposite (in some way) theory.

创建者 Vijaya D

Jun 06, 2020

I learned a lot from this introductory course on Philosophy of Cognitive science.

Professors were very engaging and gave lots of example to make the understand the concepts better.

The course has made me so motivated and I am looking forward to learn more on Cognitive science.

创建者 Daniel F

Apr 17, 2017

Extremely interesting topics; it is a quick and broad survey, so very superficial, though. Just a series of 10-15 minutes presentations introducing each aspect of the field. Don't be discouraged if you find the first week's presentation lacking/unengaging: it gets better.

创建者 Emiel d J

Aug 24, 2018

A very interesting course. Some of the lecturers where a bit monotone. And the information is quite hard to digest if you have little to no knowledge about cosmology. However besides that the course is amazing. It is a great introduction to the philosophy of science.

创建者 Ben m

Jul 09, 2020

Both expansive and provoking course. The magnitude of the implications found in the evolutionary psychology component, reconfirmed in the bayesian statistic concepts re a mammalian brain augmented by predictive models.. staggering! Compelling and rousing.

创建者 Jim K

Dec 19, 2016

I like the subject and the topics of each week are also interesting. However, the 4 weeks' content can only cover limited topics. And the course in Coursera can be improved by making the parts in each week clearer and reducing some subtitle mistakes.

创建者 Tan K Q

May 06, 2017

I am reading up on cognitive sciences for my PhD dissertation on cognitive narratology and space. The contents of this course are mostly very clearly presented. The topic is engaging, and I like the examples cited in the presentations.

创建者 Allison B

Sep 03, 2017

I think they should give us harder/more in-depth readings than just internet encyclopedia articles. It would be nice if they directed us to seminal papers that developed some of the ideas presented here instead of just summaries.

创建者 tuba y

Jan 19, 2018

Great as an introduction, but requires a lot of more in-depth individual research on the part of the novice learner, which could be facilitated by providing seminal readings - to let beginners know from where to start. Thank you

创建者 Steven v d G

Nov 22, 2016

A good and informative course on the philosophy of cognitive sciences. Judging by the lectures and quizzes, the course does seem to be more on a high school level, than an undergraduate level.

创建者 Katt P

Mar 10, 2017

Great high-level overview that introduces some very interesting concepts. Great intro for those who are just exploring this area of study. Entices you to dive deeper into the topic!

创建者 Stefan V

Feb 08, 2017

Wonderful course! It's a great introduction to the topic of embodied cognition. My only suggestion is to expand it for the people who are really interested in these topics.

创建者 Eduardo S P

Mar 11, 2017

I enjoyed this course, however some of the lectures were a bit slow or somehow loose. Evenso, I think this is a very good introductory course to a fascinating topic.

创建者 Rahul K

Apr 04, 2018

A very brief, concise, and fun-to-learn course. It helped me bridge the gap between AI cognition and human cognition. Love the presentation style of the lectures!

创建者 A K

Dec 13, 2016

I enjoyed this course very much! Provided a very fundamental framework for understanding what cognition is, and the associated problems, such as mind-body

创建者 James D R

Mar 18, 2019

I found the first three weeks to be great. The final week felt rushed and underwhelming. It was a shame to end on a whimper.

创建者 Jesse

Jul 07, 2020

This is a relatively basic introductory program. Some interesting ideas had been introduced yet not been developed deeply.

创建者 Mohamed A

Apr 04, 2017

This is a complete introduction the cognitive sciences. A great course to start with, but is still for the beginners

创建者 Jay K

May 14, 2020

Exceptional and accessible introductory course into the cognitive science and evolutionary and adaptive principles.