Chevron Left
返回到 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,004 个评分
223 条评论

课程概述

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

热门审阅

CG

Feb 11, 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS

Jun 25, 2020

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

筛选依据:

201 - Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 的 221 个评论(共 221 个)

创建者 Hamad M

Jul 06, 2020

the sessions lack review question, either in the middle or the end of the session. the marking scheme is stringent with an 'all or nothing' way. half correct answers will be marked as Zero, making it difficult to know one's mistakes. Interesting course an new information, but give the professors a chair, they get distracted standing up.

创建者 Zhou Y

Jun 18, 2017

The course is just a brief introduction to the topic. The content itself has some sparkling points. The main issue is that, there isn't a lot of correlation between the course itself with the quizzes. Making the quizzes not a very good way to self-evaluate and self-reflect on the content.

创建者 Aastha

Jun 18, 2020

A good introduction for those looking to acquaint themselves with the philosophy of cognitive science and what it entails. But there is not a lot of depth. So if you're already familiar with the basic ideas of bayesian cognitive science, embodiment, etc., this is not for you.

创建者 Caroline G S

May 03, 2020

A lot of this material was interesting, but it didn't seem to hang together as a whole, and I didn't feel that it fully addressed the questions mentioned in the course description--there wasn't a lot from the philosophy point of view.

创建者 Esther R

Dec 17, 2018

It is an introductory course, it makes you curious about the topic but I found the last essay too complex for the level taught in the course. I would have liked it to be longer and that the weekly lectures were more linked.

创建者 Heike P M

May 08, 2018

Very interesting and mind opening course. I highly recommand it to those who are interested in the cross field of psychology, philosophy & technology.

创建者 Avi

Jan 20, 2018

Interesting videos, but quite basic. Would be good to include more cognitive psychology experiments and cases involving patients

创建者 Cliff S

Sep 19, 2016

Very nice course, active forum, no issues technical or otherwise -but- it is more about science than Philosophy.

创建者 Cindy L

Jan 13, 2019

Interesting subject, but the course is only a quick introduction and doesn't go into much detail.

创建者 Antoine G

May 12, 2018

The course was interesting but I would have liked it to be more comprehensive and detailed.

创建者 Trang C

May 05, 2020

It was too easy but the lecturers were good, high quality video and easy to sit through.

创建者 Lavinia W

Aug 01, 2017

I would have liked more information on the development of the capacities of the brain.

创建者 Oldrich S

Feb 15, 2017

not so interesting and boring

创建者 manas s

Jul 24, 2019

make it more rigorous.

创建者 Sudhanshu J

Apr 21, 2020

Reall informative

创建者 Jose A V B

Nov 20, 2016

Not very deep

创建者 Elaa

Oct 03, 2020

The examples are too many and too long. Some of the concepts are very basic and really don’t require this amount of explaining. This is philosophy, it is supposed to be abstract and intellectually simulating but instead it was mostly focused on mundane and sensory examples.

Also, the instructors were not lively at all. Their voice was so flat that I opted to read the transcripts instead of watching the videos.

创建者 梁楠

Jan 11, 2017

I hope this course can be more systematic in terms of the structure on the concepts and lecturers.

创建者 Rich I

Aug 20, 2018

I expected more philosophy and psychology to be covered in this course. I completed this course.

创建者 Zuhal İ

Apr 06, 2020

Too introductory, it must contain more information

创建者 Ayushi M

May 21, 2020

The lectures are incomprehensible to those new to the subject