Chevron Left
返回到 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 的评价和反馈

4.6
675 个评分
145 条评论

课程概述

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

热门审阅

CM

Aug 07, 2018

I have enjoyed the course, specially the detailed way of explained all the topics by the instructors. Also, I went through some of the bibliography sources provided which is a lot. Thank You all

MS

Nov 15, 2019

Very thorough and deep understanding of the subjects by the professors and lecturers. Tests are very well prepared aimed at a deep understanding of a given theme.

筛选依据:

26 - Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 的 50 个评论(共 143 个)

创建者 Naz Y

Sep 01, 2017

A perfect introduction course ! Lecturers, subjects, and slides are intriguing; the sources and further readings at the end of each week are amazing and rich.

创建者 Biani P S L

Aug 03, 2017

It is a simple and clear introduction to the current topics of philosophy of the cognitive sciences. Videos and additional readings are very interesting!

创建者 Eric R P

Jun 13, 2018

Los temas son fundamentales para iniciarse en el estudio de la cognición, a parte de los videos, las lecturas complementarias me parecieron excelentes.

创建者 Karanveer S

Jun 03, 2017

An amazing course where you get introduced to concepts like cognitive science, philosophy of mind, consciousness, etc. Simple and crisp content matter.

创建者 Ilias P

Aug 14, 2017

A course for anyone interested in gaining a theoretical background about cognition,the brain and their links to artificial intelligence and robotics!

创建者 Frank R

Apr 24, 2017

Outstanding introductory philosophy course, taught in an accessible format by knowledgeable instructors. This is a rewarding and enjoyable course.

创建者 Francisco A M

Sep 26, 2017

Fantastic experience. I really enjoyed the explanation of such complex topics. It is really a unique opportunity regarding philosophy of science.

创建者 Javier P M

Dec 22, 2017

Loved it. Never thought it was going to be this insightful. Grateful for running into this one and will tryout some more from this university.

创建者 Ipekpinar C

Nov 25, 2018

This course is quite helpful for the people who are coming from different disciplines just like me. It is quite interesting and informative.

创建者 FRANCISCO D C P G

Apr 17, 2017

The course focuses the top issues involving philsophy of sciences at present time, it is hosted by top figures in the field. Great course!

创建者 Michael T

May 09, 2019

Great. Very interesting, not an overwhelming amount of work, but a great starter for anyone interested in philosophy of the mind.

创建者 luis j

Apr 20, 2019

Fascinating, the course catches you from the first instances, the story is agile, interactive, enjoyable and very professional

创建者 Michael O

Jan 07, 2020

Very insightful introductory course on the subject with ample creatively shot video material and additional reading sources.

创建者 Essaq A R

Mar 20, 2018

At the first I would like to thank you from Edinburgh university to offered and especially thank you from all of my teachers

创建者 Yingyi Z

May 16, 2018

A very good introductory course to the philosophy of mind and machines. Ideas are well explained and very easy to follow.

创建者 Nguyen V L

May 19, 2017

This course has boarden my point of view and it also has shown me the link between artificial intelligent and philosophy.

创建者 Jilly M

Sep 02, 2019

Awesome, I learned lots, loved the McGurk effect just for the name. Great intro to this interesting and growing field.

创建者 Karina R J

Jul 09, 2017

Thank you for a great and interesting course. It gave a lot of inspiration and new angels to how our brain thinks!:)

创建者 Shradha K

Jan 14, 2019

Amazing.

Really useful and I understood all of it even though I do not have a background in this subject.

Thanks

创建者 Peter

Aug 30, 2018

Very good overview into an interesting topic. Takes into account different views off the topic. Liked it!

创建者 Valentine N

Feb 06, 2019

A great subject it is thanks for enabling me go through it. I have gained some insight into cognition!

创建者 Vincent W

Sep 10, 2018

I learned some really interesting things from this course that I will be using in an upcoming project

创建者 Jorge R

May 02, 2018

This course I help myself to updating concepts and to be to the forefront in the area of philosophy.

创建者 natascha i

Oct 20, 2017

Muy bueno. Claro. Conciso. Al alcance de quien desee aprender sobre esta interesante temática!

创建者 Prerana H

Mar 20, 2019

Excellent introduction to important concepts, with clear lectures and good reading materials