Chevron Left
返回到 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 的评价和反馈

4.6
773 个评分
168 条评论

课程概述

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

热门审阅

CG

Feb 11, 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

CM

Aug 07, 2018

I have enjoyed the course, specially the detailed way of explained all the topics by the instructors. Also, I went through some of the bibliography sources provided which is a lot. Thank You all

筛选依据:

101 - Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 的 125 个评论(共 167 个)

创建者 Stevanus L

Apr 07, 2017

Fun and great course!

创建者 Jehanzaib S

Nov 03, 2019

Really informative

创建者 Jeff T

Apr 08, 2018

Very inspirational

创建者 Agata Z

Nov 16, 2017

Excellent course!

创建者 Edson S M

Nov 12, 2017

Very interesting!

创建者 Yohann C

Jul 08, 2018

Very Interesting

创建者 Cristian F G O

Aug 28, 2018

Excelente curso

创建者 Ritika N

Feb 18, 2018

Great Learning!

创建者 Meini S

Jul 28, 2017

good organized

创建者 Mario S S

Mar 15, 2018

It is great!

创建者 Diana M

Jan 21, 2017

good course

创建者 Rigoberto J M A

Oct 26, 2016

Excellent.

创建者 Gabriel V J

Jan 28, 2017

excellent

创建者 Kermit B B

Mar 19, 2017

Awesome!

创建者 Oky T S

Nov 20, 2016

Superb

创建者 damarillier@gmail.com

Oct 11, 2017

E

创建者 Victor J M C

Dec 09, 2017

This was a good course, and I have learned new things by taking the course, but it would have benefitted from more depth. It is, however, a course for which it must be stressed that the title contains "introduction". By taking the course, one gets an overview of different areas of Cognitive Science and how different researchers might do research in those areas. This is all very good, but I had expected more depth. The course requires one to understand what the researchers are saying - nothing more than that; one does not learn to think in a new way or to analyse cases. Overall, it is an interesting course, but it is more like a documentary with quizzes to test, if one has paid attention, than it is like a course, in which one needs to really understand the content.

创建者 Alain Q R

Dec 10, 2018

Very good course. Its topics are really well chosen. So the readings recommended. Its lecturers are well chosen too divided between more theoretical and more practical thinkers when the topic makes this distinction make sense or between a follower of some theory and a follower of an opposite (in some way) theory.

创建者 Daniel F

Apr 17, 2017

Extremely interesting topics; it is a quick and broad survey, so very superficial, though. Just a series of 10-15 minutes presentations introducing each aspect of the field. Don't be discouraged if you find the first week's presentation lacking/unengaging: it gets better.

创建者 Emiel d J

Aug 24, 2018

A very interesting course. Some of the lecturers where a bit monotone. And the information is quite hard to digest if you have little to no knowledge about cosmology. However besides that the course is amazing. It is a great introduction to the philosophy of science.

创建者 Jim K

Dec 19, 2016

I like the subject and the topics of each week are also interesting. However, the 4 weeks' content can only cover limited topics. And the course in Coursera can be improved by making the parts in each week clearer and reducing some subtitle mistakes.

创建者 Tan K Q

May 06, 2017

I am reading up on cognitive sciences for my PhD dissertation on cognitive narratology and space. The contents of this course are mostly very clearly presented. The topic is engaging, and I like the examples cited in the presentations.

创建者 Allison B

Sep 03, 2017

I think they should give us harder/more in-depth readings than just internet encyclopedia articles. It would be nice if they directed us to seminal papers that developed some of the ideas presented here instead of just summaries.

创建者 tuba y

Jan 19, 2018

Great as an introduction, but requires a lot of more in-depth individual research on the part of the novice learner, which could be facilitated by providing seminal readings - to let beginners know from where to start. Thank you

创建者 Steven v d G

Nov 22, 2016

A good and informative course on the philosophy of cognitive sciences. Judging by the lectures and quizzes, the course does seem to be more on a high school level, than an undergraduate level.