Chevron Left
返回到 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 的评价和反馈

4.6
787 个评分
173 条评论

课程概述

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

热门审阅

CG

Feb 11, 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

CM

Aug 07, 2018

I have enjoyed the course, specially the detailed way of explained all the topics by the instructors. Also, I went through some of the bibliography sources provided which is a lot. Thank You all

筛选依据:

126 - Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 的 150 个评论(共 172 个)

创建者 Tan K Q

May 06, 2017

I am reading up on cognitive sciences for my PhD dissertation on cognitive narratology and space. The contents of this course are mostly very clearly presented. The topic is engaging, and I like the examples cited in the presentations.

创建者 Allison B

Sep 03, 2017

I think they should give us harder/more in-depth readings than just internet encyclopedia articles. It would be nice if they directed us to seminal papers that developed some of the ideas presented here instead of just summaries.

创建者 tuba y

Jan 19, 2018

Great as an introduction, but requires a lot of more in-depth individual research on the part of the novice learner, which could be facilitated by providing seminal readings - to let beginners know from where to start. Thank you

创建者 Steven v d G

Nov 22, 2016

A good and informative course on the philosophy of cognitive sciences. Judging by the lectures and quizzes, the course does seem to be more on a high school level, than an undergraduate level.

创建者 Katt P

Mar 10, 2017

Great high-level overview that introduces some very interesting concepts. Great intro for those who are just exploring this area of study. Entices you to dive deeper into the topic!

创建者 Stefan V

Feb 08, 2017

Wonderful course! It's a great introduction to the topic of embodied cognition. My only suggestion is to expand it for the people who are really interested in these topics.

创建者 Eduardo S P

Mar 11, 2017

I enjoyed this course, however some of the lectures were a bit slow or somehow loose. Evenso, I think this is a very good introductory course to a fascinating topic.

创建者 Rahul K

Apr 04, 2018

A very brief, concise, and fun-to-learn course. It helped me bridge the gap between AI cognition and human cognition. Love the presentation style of the lectures!

创建者 A K

Dec 13, 2016

I enjoyed this course very much! Provided a very fundamental framework for understanding what cognition is, and the associated problems, such as mind-body

创建者 James D R

Mar 18, 2019

I found the first three weeks to be great. The final week felt rushed and underwhelming. It was a shame to end on a whimper.

创建者 Mohamed A

Apr 04, 2017

This is a complete introduction the cognitive sciences. A great course to start with, but is still for the beginners

创建者 Jay K

May 14, 2020

Exceptional and accessible introductory course into the cognitive science and evolutionary and adaptive principles.

创建者 Robert L

Sep 08, 2017

A good overview though it does mix and match definition from Edinburgh research rather than research in general.

创建者 Magdalena M

May 30, 2020

The slides for the last weeks lectures were a bit unstructured, would love if that was a bit more organized.

创建者 Manolis P

Nov 28, 2016

Approachable, easy to follow, interesting examples, rich additional readings, good lecturers, easy exams

创建者 Karin F

Mar 22, 2017

Great course! Could've been longer. Looking forward to more online courses from the U of Edinburgh.

创建者 yan l

May 06, 2019

I enjoyed the course, but felt like something was missing from the course.

创建者 Ignacio J B P

Aug 12, 2019

It lacks a certain unity, maybe because it has many different teachers.

创建者 Marie F

Aug 20, 2018

Really Interesting, gives a first idea of what cognitive sciences are !

创建者 Katherine M K

Jul 04, 2017

Truly interesting, I was engaged throughout the entirety of the course.

创建者 Troy

May 02, 2019

A pretty course to have a brief understanding of cognitive science.

创建者 Guruswamy S

Feb 14, 2019

One of the most thought provoking courses. Lot to think and learn.

创建者 Jonathan G

Feb 13, 2018

fascinating course. I had no idea this was connected to robotics!

创建者 Sidney C

Jun 21, 2017

This is a well done overview of Cognitive Sciences. Thank you.

创建者 Derrick J R

Aug 05, 2017

I love these topics and all of the implications.