Chevron Left
返回到 Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy 的评价和反馈

4.4
474 个评分
138 个审阅

课程概述

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

热门审阅

SR

Nov 14, 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

DM

Aug 21, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much and found it useful to prepare for a graduate course about the same subject. The teachers are very knowledgeable and the material very adequate,

筛选依据:

76 - Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy 的 100 个评论(共 135 个)

创建者 Lorena S P

Jun 30, 2019

Very interesting course!!!! I can see many concepts about science in a different light now and I've learnt many others which were utterly new to me. Thank you so much!!!

创建者 NILMAR R N

May 23, 2019

excelente curso

创建者 Robert C C

Jul 30, 2019

Good course, though I think the instructors are rather condescending toward young earth creationism.

创建者 David M

Aug 21, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much and found it useful to prepare for a graduate course about the same subject. The teachers are very knowledgeable and the material very adequate,

创建者 Maruf L

Sep 26, 2019

Very Well package course. thanks for a lot of the knowledge and insight shared. I guess the learning continues.

创建者 Mariano C

Jan 27, 2019

Great initial course to get a more profound insight on the subjects taken into account. Excellent explanation from all the teachers involved in each week's topic!

创建者 Vangel V

Mar 21, 2019

I liked the course but have some issues with it. Attacking a group that has so little influence and credibility does not seem becoming of a course like this one. But worse is the fact that the instructors ignore the leap of faith needed to support the supposedly 'scientific' position.

创建者 A K

Dec 26, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed the three part course on "Philosophy, Science and Religion" by the University of Edinburgh. A BIG THANK YOU to those who put these courses together. In this series, the designers wonderfully weaved the relationship between the three apparently diverse disciplines in a cohesive narrative, making ones understanding richer!

创建者 Anne H

Jul 18, 2017

Fascinating, quick, inspirational. Every scholar should feel more grounded knowing that there are people around the world who understand the connection. 4/5 stars because the "discussion" prompts aren't very open-ended; they were comprehension checks (and optional). I skipped them because I presumed the answers wouldn't vary much, and that would've been boring to read.

创建者 Susan H

Feb 22, 2017

Have really enjoyed this course, very informative and fascinating. Opened my mind to many different ideas.

创建者 Aaron F A C

Apr 11, 2018

Very good. It was awesome, I learnt a lot.

创建者 Nathan B

Apr 12, 2017

Very interesting course. I certainly learnt a lot about science and philosophy, especially relating it to religion, and the history behind each domain.

创建者 Daniel J M

Jan 16, 2018

I found some of the lecturers' hard to understand do to language accents. However, being able to follow along with the printed form solved any problems.

创建者 Christopher W

Jun 10, 2018

A thought-provoking and informative course.

创建者 Aagash C

Jan 18, 2018

This course was very enjoyable. However, there were a few concepts and terminologies that could have been explained more, such as natural law in week 4. Overall, it definitely gave a very good introduction to the topic

创建者 Senthil S P

Sep 17, 2017

It's a pretty interesting course on the relationship between theology and science, which even has a neat session on the sociology of science. Apart from a bizarre session with theologian Conor Cunningham, it does everything well.

创建者 Ivor C

Sep 08, 2017

A good gereral overview of the current areas of discussion and argument. I felt that the need to provide 'balance' gave too much importance to religious ideas but I had to confront my own bias more that I expected.

创建者 Eduardo S P

Feb 19, 2017

I think this is an excellent introductory course to the philosophy of science. Even so, I felt something was lacking, maybe a sense of closure or a definite end to the course and indication of a clear path forward for those wanting to learn more about this topic. I would recommend this course in any case, I really enjoyed it.

创建者 Lavinia W

Aug 01, 2017

Good critical overview of science, philosophy and religion

创建者 Swen L

May 03, 2017

Interesting introduction with a good list of further reading material.

创建者 Sidney C

Jun 12, 2017

I do think it was very interesting and informative. I gave it four out of five stars, only because it could evolve given some time and improve somewhat. I have suggested it to others.

创建者 Judd S

Nov 03, 2017

The modules were presented in a very organized way and the explanations given were insightful. However, the lecture of Connor Cunningham were "messy" which failed to give a clear point even though his presentation was excellent.

创建者 Park Y

Oct 20, 2017

I think this lecture was really good. I can get basic knowledge related to science and religion, and furthermore, I could learn about the perspective related to soical science

创建者 Hongfei C

Jul 10, 2017

It's a good foundation for further study in this area but just to

创建者 Joe M

Feb 23, 2017

Overall, the content was excellent. However, week 4 taught by Professor Conor Cunningham was rambling at best and made very little sense. The readings for week 4 were the only informative part.