Chevron Left
返回到 Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy 的评价和反馈

4.4
494 个评分
144 条评论

课程概述

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

热门审阅

SR

Nov 14, 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

DM

Aug 21, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much and found it useful to prepare for a graduate course about the same subject. The teachers are very knowledgeable and the material very adequate,

筛选依据:

76 - Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy 的 100 个评论(共 141 个)

创建者 Ануфриева А А

Jan 29, 2018

Great! Thank you

创建者 NILMAR R N

May 23, 2019

excelente curso

创建者 David P

May 05, 2017

Great course !

创建者 Laura O

Jan 28, 2019

fun and easy

创建者 Paccelli J M Z

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent!

创建者 nalany

Feb 26, 2019

excelente

创建者 René D N A

Jan 28, 2019

muy bueno

创建者 Hamid S

Aug 29, 2017

Excellent

创建者 Sergio G

Sep 05, 2017

to do...

创建者 Harry F

Sep 28, 2017

First I want to thank all of you for your hard work and expertise in preparing and presenting this class. All the lessons presented in weeks 1, 2, 3 and lesson 2 of week 4 were excellent both in content and presentation.

Unfortunately, week 4 lesson 1 with Professor Conor Cunningham was not so good. His presentation style was interesting and somewhat captivating, however, (there is that terrible word again) his content was garbled, his allegories were obtuse and the clarity of his important points was obscure.

创建者 Anne H

Jul 18, 2017

Fascinating, quick, inspirational. Every scholar should feel more grounded knowing that there are people around the world who understand the connection. 4/5 stars because the "discussion" prompts aren't very open-ended; they were comprehension checks (and optional). I skipped them because I presumed the answers wouldn't vary much, and that would've been boring to read.

创建者 sanika s

Aug 26, 2019

The course was very detailed and informative. I learned some amazing philosophical and scientific facts and also learned about various philosophical and scientific studies in great depth. I got what I expected from this course. Thank You to the University of Edinburgh, to all the passionate professors and the makers of this course and to Coursera.

创建者 A K

Dec 26, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed the three part course on "Philosophy, Science and Religion" by the University of Edinburgh. A BIG THANK YOU to those who put these courses together. In this series, the designers wonderfully weaved the relationship between the three apparently diverse disciplines in a cohesive narrative, making ones understanding richer!

创建者 Eduardo S P

Feb 19, 2017

I think this is an excellent introductory course to the philosophy of science. Even so, I felt something was lacking, maybe a sense of closure or a definite end to the course and indication of a clear path forward for those wanting to learn more about this topic. I would recommend this course in any case, I really enjoyed it.

创建者 Vangel V

Mar 21, 2019

I liked the course but have some issues with it. Attacking a group that has so little influence and credibility does not seem becoming of a course like this one. But worse is the fact that the instructors ignore the leap of faith needed to support the supposedly 'scientific' position.

创建者 Sara H

Feb 21, 2017

The instructor during the last week was in general not very good, he always strayed from the point making it difficult to keep up. He gave examples that are mostly irrelevant, and he was too theatrical and not straight to the point.

创建者 Senthil S P

Sep 17, 2017

It's a pretty interesting course on the relationship between theology and science, which even has a neat session on the sociology of science. Apart from a bizarre session with theologian Conor Cunningham, it does everything well.

创建者 Judd S

Nov 03, 2017

The modules were presented in a very organized way and the explanations given were insightful. However, the lecture of Connor Cunningham were "messy" which failed to give a clear point even though his presentation was excellent.

创建者 Aagash C

Jan 18, 2018

This course was very enjoyable. However, there were a few concepts and terminologies that could have been explained more, such as natural law in week 4. Overall, it definitely gave a very good introduction to the topic

创建者 Ivor C

Sep 08, 2017

A good gereral overview of the current areas of discussion and argument. I felt that the need to provide 'balance' gave too much importance to religious ideas but I had to confront my own bias more that I expected.

创建者 Joe M

Feb 23, 2017

Overall, the content was excellent. However, week 4 taught by Professor Conor Cunningham was rambling at best and made very little sense. The readings for week 4 were the only informative part.

创建者 Akhil T P

Aug 12, 2019

I expected that his course would deal with current role of religion and philosophy in this scientific world. Well, the course was strayed from my expectation but still was very erudite one

创建者 Sidney C

Jun 12, 2017

I do think it was very interesting and informative. I gave it four out of five stars, only because it could evolve given some time and improve somewhat. I have suggested it to others.

创建者 Park Y

Oct 20, 2017

I think this lecture was really good. I can get basic knowledge related to science and religion, and furthermore, I could learn about the perspective related to soical science

创建者 Mariano C

Jan 27, 2019

Great initial course to get a more profound insight on the subjects taken into account. Excellent explanation from all the teachers involved in each week's topic!