Chevron Left
返回到 Philosophy, Science and Religion: Religion and Science

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Philosophy, Science and Religion: Religion and Science 的评价和反馈

4.6
164 个评分

课程概述

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Religion and Science’, is the third of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The course will address five themes, each presented by an expert in the area. 1. Science, Religion, and the Origin of the Universe (Professor Tim Maudlin, NYU ) 2. Buddhism and Science (Professor Graham Priest, CUNY) 3. Evolution and Design (Dr Kevin Scharp, St Andrews) 4. Sin Suffering and Salvation: Evolutions Thorny Issues (Dr Bethany Sollereder, Oxford) 5. Human Uniqueness in Science, Theology, and Ethics (Professor David Clough, Chester) The first and second courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series, 'Science and Philosophy' and 'Philosophy and Religion' were launched in 2017 and you can sign up to these at any time. It is not necessary to have completed these courses to follow this course. However, completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion I: Science and Philosophy - https://www.coursera.org/learn/philosophy-science-religion-1 • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion - https://www.coursera.org/learn/philosophy-science-religion-2 Upon successful completion of all three courses, students will: (1) Understand the main parameters at stake in the current debate between science and religion. (2) Have some familiarity with the relevant areas of science that feature in the debate—including cosmology, evolution, and the neurosciences—and will have begun to engage with them conceptually. (3) Have encountered key philosophical approaches to the interface between science and religion, and will have had the opportunity to engage them in practice. (4) Have embarked constructively in cross-disciplinary conversations. (5) Have demonstrated an openness to personal growth through a commitment to dialogue across intellectual and spiritual boundaries. You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

热门审阅

II

Mar 13, 2022

Fun and explorative. I like the questions the best, fyi, and resonding to other people's writing.

CS

Apr 6, 2022

I never had the opportunity to attend college and at 59 this was an exciting class to take.

筛选依据:

26 - Philosophy, Science and Religion: Religion and Science 的 50 个评论(共 50 个)

创建者 John H

Jul 11, 2021

Well Drafted , I loved the course content

创建者 Leslie Y H

Dec 19, 2018

Excellent course to ponder and analyze.

创建者 PANAGIOTIS B

Feb 23, 2021

Great experience, thank you.

创建者 Fernando P

Jun 7, 2018

I really enjoyed it.

创建者 Ioanna Z

Jan 25, 2021

Excellent work!!

创建者 Alireza R

Dec 4, 2018

Enlightening!

创建者 Saeed E

Sep 14, 2021

new ideas

创建者 Refiya T

Oct 13, 2018

wonderful

创建者 John L M

May 6, 2020

I found the material on intelligent design and creationism intriguing, as it's a great foil to play off against the rational assumptions upon which this course and its professors and students must favor, by definition. While some may bristle at its inclusion, it enlivened the overall impact. On the other hand, although I've studied Buddhism before and was familiar with a lot of Prof Priest's week 3 material, I though too much emphasis was given it compared to what other Buddhist thinkers might have added. However, the overall course I found valuable, and I liked in some parts the diminished amount of quizzes, as in the Buddhist section, to instead look at personal reflections and insights we all could add to the mix.

创建者 Nigel C

Dec 15, 2021

This is an enjoyable course and touched on much material that I could relate to. Perhaps my criticism is unjustified but while each thread stood alone and there was surprisingly little overlap, there would have been a benefit in even a single video that brought the threads together. Additionally, with the exception of Dr Priest's exposition of Buddhism with hints of Hinduism, the course is very Judaeo Christian focussed, (and mostly on the Christian aspects) so Islam, one of the five great faiths, is broadly ignored as are the animists, Zoroastrians and Baha'i. (PS, I adhere to one of the three Abrahamic faiths in case bias is identified)

创建者 In-Ho K

Aug 18, 2022

This course provides me most updated issues and associated debates in the fields of religion and science. One of the questions grown in my mide from the childhood is the existence of god. Now I am able to answer the question. In general this course is well designed. I am already waiting for the second version of this course, together with second versions of the other two courses.

创建者 A K

Dec 26, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed the three part course on "Philosophy, Science and Religion" by the University of Edinburgh. A BIG THANK YOU to those who put these courses together. In this series, the designers wonderfully weaved the relationship between the three apparently diverse disciplines in a cohesive narrative, making ones understanding richer!

创建者 Juliano d t

Jul 14, 2022

O curso é bom, mas tive dificuldade na metodologia e no entendimento da conclusão do curso, pois não consegui entender o que falta para a obtenção do certificado, já que o sistema não mostrava as atividades pendentes...

创建者 m. b p

Jun 16, 2020

This was a very difficult course for me due to the nature of the subject. However, Dr. Priest did an excellent job explaining the concepts so that I could follow along. Well done.

创建者 barry f

Dec 29, 2020

A very wide subject for one course. Perhaps it needs more modules or to be split into more courses. But interesting as an intro

创建者 Douglas R

Jul 7, 2022

Interesting subject, generally well-presented. Some presenters better than others and a bit too much of simple talking heads.

创建者 Deleted A

May 26, 2021

Very good. But it would be very useful and needed to detail more about the arguments of intelligent design.

创建者 Edu A

Apr 28, 2022

Achei muito complicado o conceito de depender da avaliação de terceiros (colegas) para ser aprovado.

创建者 HELLEN S

Jul 14, 2020

The course is great. I feel intellectually enriched. Invest in translations and it will be perfect.

创建者 Terry C

Aug 14, 2018

A good course that offers some helpful insights that are not immediately obvious to lay people.

创建者 Rich I

Mar 15, 2019

Nicely comprehensive and cohesive.

创建者 IOANNIS A

Jan 12, 2021

It was great and valuable.

创建者 Bob M

Jul 2, 2020

The topics were certainly interesting and generally well presented, but of the three linked courses, this is noticeably the weakest and most uneven from a pedagogic point of view. With a third of the material (both in terms of teaching and student participation) being concentrated in one week (week 3), one felt either this section was too long, or that one was being short changed with regard to the other topics.

I also found many discussion topics annoyingly vague, spending more time trying to work out what was one was supposed to talk about than actually talking about it, while most of the quizzes were so ludicrously simple they were a waste of time.

创建者 Christopher W

Jun 10, 2018

This was the weakest of the three courses in the series. It was unbalanced in the amount of material in the different weeks and one or two of the weeks were very light weight compared with the standard in the other two courses. Could do with a critical review.

创建者 Jeroen G

Feb 18, 2021

When it dips into other fields asides from theology, there is a tendency to speculate on things that are ill understood by the instructor.