Chevron Left
返回到 哲学导论

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 哲学导论 的评价和反馈

4.7
8,415 个评分

课程概述

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

热门审阅

LT

Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG

Apr 10, 2021

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

筛选依据:

1576 - 哲学导论 的 1600 个评论(共 1,953 个)

创建者 Ch. R K

Jan 29, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyable with all the different lecturers . I related to a lot of philosophers . Made me wish i could belong to an era where i could make use of all that was learnt and discovered and theorized at that time. It was rather brief , though. I mean there's no way to explain it all an stick to the guidelines that fit the coursera code , but enjoyable none the less. Makes you really want to scratch your brain and question everything , which I personally , believe is always a good thing.

创建者 Sophia B P d F

Jan 20, 2020

Introduction to Philosophy is an execellent course, with great professors and many interesting lectures. Regarding these, I would like to especiallty thank dr. Suilin Lavelle and professor Elinor Mason because of their incredible lectures (Minds, Brains and Computers and Do We Have Free Will and Does It Matter?, respectively).Furthermore, I must say, unfortunately, that I was a little disappointed with the discussion forums, otherwise I would have given five stars to this course.

创建者 Rojan S

Jul 11, 2020

The course provides you with an introduction to various concepts in Philosophy. I really enjoyed the course due to its multidimensional nature. This course can be taken by anyone who have no background in philosophy . The main limitation of this course was it mostly uses lectures only. Use of visuals or animations would have made it more easier to grasp the content. Overall the course is good and highly recommended for those interested to know themselves or the world.

创建者 Omiros P V

Aug 20, 2015

A great introduction to many philosophical areas, well planned, well tested and with very good professors. The only downsides were a couple of slightly ambiguous questions (which, having just watched an hour of philosophical teaching one could easily start wondering what they technically meant) and, to utter frustration, lack of a statement of accomplishment. Nevertheless, if philosophy is of it's own right your target, it is a course well worth taking.

创建者 SFA P

Oct 31, 2020

I enjoyed the course despite the fact that I had a little difficulties in understanding some of the arguments that were discussed. The course taught me, to look at things in broader perspectives. Learning how history, time, environment, technology and us, as human being are all intertwined to make up our community and the world.

Special thanks to all lecturers and the Coursera community for giving me the opportunity to acquire the new knowledge.

创建者 anthony O

Jul 28, 2017

It is my first time doing philosophy and l will say the starting of the course was quite absurd but after watching the lesson videos over again and reading the lessons notes along side it all started to sink in.

l thought l will quit the course along the way but the topics kept getting interesting and it has made me to now look and think about everything in a much better view. thanks Coursera and all who made this possible.

创建者 Su L O

Jun 5, 2016

It is a simple and generic overview of some of the areas in philosophy, mostly contemporary philosophy. It allows me to explore some basic ideas and concepts without going too deep, which is great because it is what I am looking forward to in this course. Thank you professors, I appreciate your efforts in making the lecture appealing and reflective ( by visiting museums, wearing clocks/watches, visiting graves haha ). :)

创建者 Noah K F

Mar 24, 2016

This course provides a comfortable introduction to the subjects of each module. My only dissatisfaction with the course lies in its brevity; I would happily retake a future offering of the course which included not only additional modules but also further lectures on related survey topics within each module so as to acquaint students to greater breadth in historical and contemporary philosophy.

创建者 Charles E D

Feb 24, 2016

In as much as I enjoyed the course at times the dialect was difficult. However, the reason for 4 stars as opposed to 5 stars is due to a lack of ability to have receive an answer to a difficult question answered by an instructor as opposed to another class participant who necessarily did not have any better grasp of the question than myself. Given that I certainly enjoyed the course overall.

创建者 David R

Sep 10, 2015

Great tasters to the field, would also be very interested in an overall schema of Philosophy and its various branches and maybe even supported by a major highlevel roadmap of key philosophers and major arguments as an overall introduction to the field for the novice (like me!), that is considering further study. Might be an opportunity as have not been able to find one as yet on the web .. ?

创建者 richard d

May 6, 2020

The course content was well-delivered and lecturers excellent. All aspects of the course were fascinating having never studied or even thought about philosophy. I qualified in engineering and work in construction which is very different . Highly recommended as a starting point for those interested and forces you to re-think many aspects of traditional thinking. (in my case anyway)

创建者 Idris I M

Jul 10, 2017

The course has been successful in organizing my thoughts with regard to several questions on general philosophy and metaphysics particularly. I have come to understand that even today, there is no correct way of thinking. More precisely, there is no correct answer and that we are free to believe in whatever seems right after keen philosophical inspection.

Thank you very much!

创建者 Pimwipha C

May 31, 2020

Everything in this course is great but I don't like it when there are so many professors teaching in different weeks. It's hard for me to get to know their teaching style. Some weeks are too easy and too hard. It's not a consistent learning flow for me. I like some of them has a summary video at the end of the week session. Some of them are really boring to watch.

创建者 Gonzalo Q

Aug 21, 2017

Excelente contenido para ser un curso introductorio, quizá muy especifico en algunas cuestiones. Falta un buen soporte de las conferencias y contenido en español, ya que hay videos sin traducción y todos los contenidos de lecturas adicionales se encuentran en ingles. De todas maneras vale la pena invertir un poco de tiempo en hacerlo, es una muy buena experiencia.

创建者 Zohar S

Aug 15, 2020

For some (not obvious) reason I feel that not all major issues / problems of philosophy were covered, though I cannot point out which are missing. I do feel that the last lesson - Travel in Time - may probably be omitted from the introduction.

Once again, it's just a feeling, not based on facts.

Thanks anyway - I did really enjoyed the course and the lecturers.

创建者 Mursalin N

Oct 4, 2020

Never loved philosophy like this before. It was really a pleasant journey which I wish to continue further down the road. I'd love to meet the super-qualified instructors personally if it was somehow possible. But for the time being thanks to Coursera for the beautiful arrangement. Glad to be a part of The University of Edinburgh's Philosophy department.

创建者 Guido T

Oct 24, 2015

Great course touching on very interesting philosophical topics and arguments around them.

Not all classes have the same level of clarity, and some of them brush past certain topics a bit too fast, but overall it's a great experience and totally worth one's time.

Recommended to anyone who wants to think more about the way we think, and the world we live in.

创建者 Dorothy H

Feb 18, 2016

I took this course just to listen to the lectures as an intro to the subject. One of the prof's accent was so heavy that I couldn't understand her well enough to listen to her lectures so had to skip that part. Other than that, it was enjoyable. I don't know if it was a good intro or not, complete enough or whatever... but it was generally interesting.

创建者 cormac L

Aug 29, 2015

Course was great. I completed it at my own pace and enjoyed most subjects covered thoroughly. My favourite week was about Metaethics. I enjoyed it greatly and am continuing studying that in my spare time. The one complaint I would have is that I found it difficult to understand the lecturer covering scientific philosophy, as her accent was quite thick.

创建者 fateme y

Dec 26, 2020

this course was a good introduction. it covered many fields of philosophy and will give you a general understanding of what philosophy really is. although some lectures were hard to follow and some didn't explore deep enough I still recommend it. Bear in mind that you will understand it much better if you already have some knowledge of philosophy.

创建者 Celine M

Feb 2, 2016

A very good introduction to major branches of Philosophy. While some questions on assignments were rather vague, and some lectures rather dull (I don't think I bothered watching the videos from the third week on... just relied on the- excellently put together!- handouts). Overall, a great course to take for a beginner to the world of Philosophy :D

创建者 Hanna D

Jul 21, 2022

Good course, learned a lot of fascinating material and the instructors were great. I do keep wishing, however, that it would give some sort of general overview of the discipline of philosophy, considering it's an introduction course. The presented separate topics are fascinating but I found myself lacking an understanding of the bigger picture.

创建者 Deleted A

Jan 31, 2016

Great introductory course, although somewhat short. I wish there would be more lectures, especially by prof. Michela Massimi. I will definitely take the "Philosophy and the Sciences" course, which seems to broaden some of the themes touched upon the week 6 of this MOOC. I am also looking forward for other courses by the University of Edinburgh.

创建者 Esther M P

Dec 16, 2017

Interesting overview in many of the topics in philosophy. Personal regret is I wish I had more time to dedicate to study and engagement with the faculty/peers on the discussion forums. I found it helpful that some professors posted a handout to read along. Quality of the course was as expected from a distinguished group of scholars. Thank you!

创建者 Xin T

Nov 12, 2019

Overall, this is a very interesting and well-constructed course. My only suggestion is some practice and quiz questions are grammarly cumbersome. Sometimes it took me a very long time just to understand the question or answers. Some even feel like word games. Hopefully, the quizzes can focus more on concepts rather than complicated details.