Chevron Left
返回到 哲学导论

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 哲学导论 的评价和反馈

4.7
8,353 个评分
1,943 条评论

课程概述

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

热门审阅

LT

Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG

Apr 10, 2021

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

筛选依据:

401 - 哲学导论 的 425 个评论(共 1,943 个)

创建者 David G

Dec 28, 2020

Excellent introduction to philosophical concepts. I enjoyed the learning experience and the enthusiasm of all of the professors. Thanks so much for a job well done.

创建者 Sarthak D 1

Aug 25, 2020

This course certainly makes you think and question a lot about our lives. The amount of knowledge and fun in this course makes it one you should definitely enroll in.

创建者 Chentouf M

May 23, 2020

I do really enjoyed taking this course. It was very informative and the content was displayed in a creative way while the discussions provided different perspectives.

创建者 Simon O R

Dec 11, 2018

The Time frame is great to keep you active. This is very important to put sufficient enerdy into the course. It is well-made, lively, and very profitable. Thank you!

创建者 Andrew U

Jun 19, 2016

This is an outstanding introduction to Philosophy. Each element is a short overview at beginner level and yet addresses the fundamental debates in each area covered.

创建者 Keren T

Oct 29, 2015

It is a good course with great content. The professors are well prepared and share their knowledge in an easy way so that everyone can understand their explanations.

创建者 Lucia E D

Apr 9, 2018

Excelente curso muy buenas las exposiciones de los distintos profesores, y muy interesante su contenido, muchísimas gracias por haberme dejado participar del mismo.

创建者 Andrés A B

Sep 28, 2017

I loved the course, every topic was amazingly interesting, I loved the first week and the third week, both aspect moved me forward to learn more about those topics.

创建者 Christian S

Aug 13, 2019

A very informative introduction to the field of philosophy, curated by enthusiastic lectures, who explain each topic in a nicely structured and accessible fashion.

创建者 Odair C J

Mar 12, 2019

It is a really good introduction, focusing on the big questions and incentiving the students to think for themselves about these questions since the first lesson.

.

创建者 Christopher B

Jul 3, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I would recommend it to anyone who wanted to get an overview of major trends in philosophical thinking. Well presented resources.

创建者 John J

May 3, 2022

A very interesting and current course; It helped me to remember some fundamental elements of the philosophy that I had forgotten. I am very pleased with this one.

创建者 Ramon S

Sep 18, 2020

Excelente curso introductorio, me permitió acercarme a temas interesantes del apasionante mundo de la Filosofía. Felicitaciones a los profesores y la universidad.

创建者 Krishna R

May 17, 2020

As the title suggests it really does introduce you you to a lot of interesting branches of philosophy, as well as a lot of philosophical thinkers.A great start!!!

创建者 Phillip B

Oct 22, 2015

Fantastic introductory course to Philosophy. It really expands your thinking and methodologies relating to wisdom and knowledge. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you.

创建者 Patrick M

May 4, 2020

I'm so glad that I committed to this course, and finished it. Very enlightening and a solid base to build upon. Thanks Cousera and The University of Edinburgh!

创建者 Orla D

Feb 6, 2021

Fantastic course, I knew nothing about philosophy going in but the lectures were presented smoothly and were easy to understand. I cannot recommend this enough.

创建者 Pranshu B

Aug 6, 2020

This is an excellent course . I m from medical background from India and the education was not so open 20 years back; I finally got to do a course on philosophy

创建者 Valeria V

Oct 27, 2018

Este curso lo recomendaría, la información es completa y entretenida.

A pesar de estudiar otra carrera "ING informática" pude comprender cada uno de los temas .

创建者 Pascal K

Jun 12, 2020

I highly enjoyed this course and the variety of professors that each explained their view and topic related to philosophy. Will recommend this course to ohers!

创建者 Maria T

May 12, 2020

A very interesting approach - presents both obvious and interesting, niche topics and problems of philosophy, making this course appealing to a broad audience.

创建者 analia a

Nov 21, 2018

Muy buena introducción al pensamiento filosófico y además con ejemplos comunes para dar mejor entendimiento, deberían hacer cursos de cada corriente filosófica

创建者 Sara B

Sep 20, 2015

An excellent though-provoking introduction to several branches of Philosophy. You can tell the instructors love what they do - it makes it easy to love it too.

创建者 Gerald M

Mar 27, 2021

Professors are competent enough to teach every important aspect of philosophy. More power to this platform. Thank you for giving us free education. God bless!

创建者 Khouloud A D

May 29, 2020

I can honestly say that this is one of thd best online courses I have taken so far. Thank you all for the huge effort you have made for the sake of knowledge.