Chevron Left
返回到 哲学导论

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 哲学导论 的评价和反馈

4.7
8,060 个评分
1,879 条评论

课程概述

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

热门审阅

LT
Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG
Apr 10, 2021

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

筛选依据:

176 - 哲学导论 的 200 个评论(共 1,873 个)

创建者 Sharalee L

Jul 24, 2021

I enjoyed learning about the introduction to philosophy. It is something I had thought I might be interested in but had not explored. I think that it has broadened my understanding of the media and politics as I can see where the ideas have come from in many cases and the problems in their arguments.

创建者 Yue Y

Jan 22, 2021

Very easy to understand, a good introductory course leading us to the Philosophy world. I learn very basic and interesting philosophy theories. One improvement can be the subtitle, I believe the Mandarin version may have some compatible issues. It always has the same line showing on the screen twice.

创建者 Jason H

Jan 15, 2019

Great introduction, argument presentation, counter-argument consideration and supporting materials for simple yet intriguing philosophical topics. Faculty was engaging and well spoken and course was able to keep my interest. Excellent for those looking to get an insight into the world of philosophy.

创建者 KaZ A

Mar 14, 2018

Very enjoyable. Gave me a lot to think about regarding further pursuits in philosophy. Helped me to pinpoint the type of philosophy that I find most useful. Would love to have more exposure to Socrates, Buddha, Confucius, Nietzsche, Sartre, Brecht, science, humanist and existential philosophers.

创建者 Sandu

Jul 14, 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course and the content was very interesting. All the lectures were amazing. I loved the teaching style and the teachers made the content easy to understand and interesting. I would love to thank the university of Edinburgh and all lecturers for providing us this course.

创建者 Pragash B

May 21, 2020

The course hits the target and achieves in fulfilling its objectives. Simply it makes us think in different perspectives and ask questions pertaining the same. Thank You. The course is interesting, appealing (through good lecturers) and without a doubt, this learning is such a wonderful experience.

创建者 Gauri B

Sep 21, 2021

My interest in philosophy was handicapped by the fact that i had no academic background in this field and was at a loss on where to begin. Thanks immensely to all the educators who have put together this remarkable, comprehensible course that i now have confidence to pursue philosophy further.

创建者 Jigna C

Jun 12, 2020

It was a brilliant introduction to a subject I got interested in when I saw so many series on Netflix about wonderful philosophers.

The lectures were brilliant and each professor did a brilliant job .

Loved the course content and would surely recommend my friends to take it up.

Thank you so m uch

创建者 Carlos E C G

May 6, 2020

Great Course!

I would like to thank all the teachers, who kindly guided us throughout these lectures, for they have greatly contributed -at least that is my case- to better understand the main issues within philosophy, as well as, making me "fall in love with wisdom" as Philosophy is meant to.

创建者 Karolina K

Feb 6, 2018

Such a shame that my previous philosophy lessons were focusing on ancient philosophers only. This course gives you a whole new perspective, covering many philosophical questions from diverse points of view, including those ancients and the very modern ones. It makes you want to dig dipper! :)

创建者 Alisson B M

Sep 26, 2021

I loved it. Thank you so much for the opportunity of having such an amazing course for free. I would only like to mention that the section about free will didnt fulfill my expectations, I didnt like it so much, compared to the other sections. Nonetheless, its worth giving the course a shot.

创建者 Suzi

Aug 10, 2016

I've never taken a philosophy course because it seemed difficult to understand. However, the lecturers explained the concepts and theory clearly. This course has increase my understanding of philosophy and how applicable it is in other fields. I really enjoyed the course and recommend it!!!

创建者 Gregory A M

Oct 17, 2017

Excellent teaching all round and an interesting set of topics. I like the idea that you can pick and choose which topic interests you the most each week and will only be assessed on that but I decided to complete all of the lectures and assessments for my own benefit. Thank you very much!

创建者 Clinton M

Aug 16, 2017

Fantastic course. The instructors presented their material in an interesting and thought-provoking, yet easy to understand manner. The video lectures were a great complement to the reading material, and helped to clear up some of the concepts I was a bit unclear on. 10/10 would recommend!

创建者 Anil N

May 8, 2020

Exceptional teachers. Some of the concepts in philosophy can be very confusing. The teachers do a good job of giving enough examples and summarizing the arguments. It is a good course to enable you to get an overall understanding of the topic and see which topic you want to deep dive in.

创建者 Cameron S

Oct 20, 2020

What a fantastic experience. Its my first time back at study since university more than 20 years ago and I have loved it. I will certainly not be stopping here. The course was interesting and really offered so much opportunity to challenge and go way beyond the materials if I wanted to.

创建者 GUSISI

Feb 13, 2017

Teachers are really responsive to questions that were mentioned in the forum, and they provided me with a good start in philosophy. I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in philosophy but has no previous experience. This course will lead you to the a different world.

创建者 Eduardo S P

Jan 20, 2016

Very good course, it perfectly introduces some of the most relevant topics in philosophical discussion, some are new some are very very old but still fascinating. I would strongly recommend this course for anyone interested in learning about philosophy, history and culture in general.

创建者 Christopher B

Oct 18, 2019

I had a great time on this course and I learned many new interesting concepts that got me thinking, and will help me to learn any other course I take. In particular, I enjoyed learning about Are Scientific Theories True?, Minds, Brains and Computers, and Time Travel and Philosophy.

创建者 Kiran R

Feb 6, 2021

Being from a statistics background, I had missed out on learning Arts and Humanities, since I read a lot of varied stuff. This course as well as the teachers gave a wonderful insight into how philosophers approach topics and think about it. Was a wonderful five weeks of learning.

创建者 L H

Dec 15, 2020

Excellent introduction to Philosophy. I particularly enjoyed the module on Time Travel, Dr Alasdair Richmond's passion for the topic is evident and really shines through during his presentation of the content. Please make a longer course going through the topics in greater depth!

创建者 MUHAMMAD G S

Oct 30, 2020

It was a wonderful journey of knowledge. This has been made possible by the tireless efforts of teachers, officers, experts and technicians at the University of Edinburgh and Coursera. Love from the bottom of my heart to those concerned, especially to the teachers philosophers.

创建者 Laura Y

Mar 29, 2020

I absolutely loved this! Really good overview of all these subjects, with an options and information to go deeper. The lecturers were all amazing, and I'm going to be going over these notes quite a bit! Really helped reignite my interest in thinking about things differently :)

创建者 Nigel C

Feb 22, 2021

Really enjoyed the stretch of this course - 40 years since I last did any serious study for its own sake. Took me a while to establish a realistic rhythm and frequency to setting time aside but it was well worth it. Particularly appreciated the video/recap/review/quiz format.

创建者 Vivi

Apr 22, 2020

Awesome introduction course. It invites you to think critically and challenges you in order to question your own conclusion. Thank you for all the teachings and easy and funny examples so that we can better understand the complex vocabulary of the quoted ancient philosophers.