Chevron Left
返回到 Seeing Through Photographs

学生对 现代艺术博物馆 提供的 Seeing Through Photographs 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,374 个评分
593 条评论

课程概述

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

热门审阅

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE

Jun 03, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

筛选依据:

551 - Seeing Through Photographs 的 575 个评论(共 584 个)

创建者 Matteo G

Nov 16, 2017

Interesting and useful for sure! Thank you Moma :)

创建者 Brenda Z

Mar 16, 2017

Its a great course to get bases in photography.

创建者 Antonio A

Mar 27, 2016

Very useful and interesting course. Thank you.

创建者 Pablo J L

Apr 09, 2016

Really interesting from beginning to end.

创建者 Norma M

Mar 14, 2016

solo faltaron subtítulos en español

创建者 Laura M

Mar 24, 2016

Quite good but only in english...

创建者 mark d

Apr 01, 2018

Good course. I learned a lot.

创建者 Paolo G

Apr 11, 2016

Good, very interesting course

创建者 Floris v E

Apr 11, 2016

Great material and insights

创建者 Paola M

Mar 26, 2016

very interesting materials!

创建者 Didier S

Nov 09, 2017

Well documented modules.

创建者 Bianca S D

Jan 01, 2019

Very good course!!

创建者 Iliana A C N

May 17, 2018

es muy chevere

创建者 Natasha R

Apr 13, 2016

I love it!

创建者 Tiago C

Mar 28, 2016

Very nice.

创建者 NANCY R S

Apr 23, 2016

MUY BUENO

创建者 catalina c

Dec 13, 2016

AWESOME

创建者 David F

Mar 06, 2016

This was an informative class. As a "newbie" to the Coursera community, I wanted to take a course that would expand my knowledge of art and culture while fitting within my hectic work and family schedule. Photography is something I engage in almost daily with my iPhone, so I took a chance and was not disappointed. Sarah Meister has curated a wonderful assortment of photographer artists that typify the historical and aesthetic advances in photography. The articles, videos, and slideshows were well constructed around the theme of each module. The articles would benefit from including some of the images discussed. This was not a major problem as I was able to Google most of them. The videos were interesting and of sufficient length not to strain my attention. The slideshows were my favored documents due to the inclusion of images and explanatory text. I did find it frustrating that some of the answers to the quiz assignments could not be found in the required reading, videos, or slideshows. As an educator, I can certainly understand wanting students to think critically but some of the questions were misleading, unanswerable based on the content, or appeared unrelated. Many of the items did not assess my understanding of the information so much as how closely I read for specific quotes or other esoteric content. This is further evidenced by the posts in the forums requesting guidance about certain items. Overall, the course is worth the effort and time if you are interested in the history of photography and its most notable practitioners.

创建者 lillykainz

May 25, 2016

This Course is very interesting because it covers the work from iconic photographers since its invention in 1839 to these days. The "but" I found is : first, the required readings are very extensive, and second , the questions for the quizes are most of them too much specific, and there are so many photographers names that it is quite a challenge to have more than five questions right. Otherwise, it is a captivating MOOC, designed more for Photographers than lay public.

创建者 roxanne w

Jan 09, 2017

I found the course interesting, however I had trouble finding all of the written materials to read. Some were available online, but none were in our library system. I think it would be better if more of the reading was available to people. I also thought that the final assignment instructions were a bit confusing. As it is I never did get to upload the photographs for the final prompt. I asked for help on the forum, but no one responded.

创建者 Jeanette F

May 30, 2016

It was short and interesting... and that is good. In the first week the readings were overwhelming and I was disappointed - but the other 5 weeks had short videos of interviews with photographers to go along with the concepts presented. Some of the quiz questions were looking for details that I felt were not important for the learner. Final assignment was good.

创建者 Neil R

Jun 04, 2016

I would have, if possible, not rated this course. I was not interested in the work of the more recent photographers/photo manipulators. This is a course for the art crowd, not for those interested in the history of photography.

创建者 Konstantinos X

Mar 12, 2020

The course is interesting but beware ! It has peer reviewed assignments which means you will never get your grade !

创建者 michael m

Dec 14, 2016

i enjoyed the interviews -- hearing and seeing many different artists using the same medium in very different ways

创建者 César C

Feb 27, 2016

falta opciones en español, los textos por ejemplo o los videos subtitulados.