Chevron Left
返回到 Seeing Through Photographs

学生对 现代艺术博物馆 提供的 Seeing Through Photographs 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,964 个评分
779 条评论

课程概述

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

热门审阅

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE

Jun 03, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

筛选依据:

26 - Seeing Through Photographs 的 50 个评论(共 787 个)

创建者 Kamen T

Jun 15, 2016

Teaches the history well, but doesn't focus much on helping to improve.

创建者 Jim W

May 31, 2016

If what you want is the sort of doctrinaire overview of fine-art photography that you might have learned in a university in the 1970s, this is exactly the course for you!

It's thoroughly saturated with the Museum of Modern Art mindset: the assumptions and interpretations are those touted by MoMA curators, and the photographers are chosen from the MoMA-approved pantheon. (The quiz questions tend to focus on course-content minutiae -- "Which commentator said X about Y?" -- to make sure you've drunk your art-establishment Kool-Aid.)

On the other hand, if you want to examine the diversity of photography through a variety of critical approaches -- Marxist, feminist, queer-theory, post-structural, whatever -- well, they don't allow none of that there here. This is strictly the Photography Gospel According to MoMA, and you either like it or lump it.

创建者 Researt A V

Mar 11, 2016

http://researt.com/2016/03/11/e-learning-ed-arte-il-caso-moma/

创建者 Vivek C

May 14, 2020

A very accessible, thought-provoking, and often surprising introduction to the most underrated of the visual arts: photography. The instructor, Sarah Meister, has structured the course very cleverly to give you a comprehensive and historical view of photography as a technology, an ever-evolving artform, an institution, and as a way of structuring how we see the world and ourselves. The photographers and images she focuses on are as varied as the field itself. The readings are short yet insightful and engaging. There are plenty of additional resources so that you can delve as deep into any specific topic that you want. Ms. Meister is continuously adding new resources to build on an already excellent course. Highly recommended to anyone immersed in a world saturated with photographic images – that is to say, everyone. You won't see the world the same again.

创建者 Peter B

May 08, 2020

I learned a lot, and that's important to say because I was coming to this course already with an established understanding about the medium. What made this course so special was how the material was presented though the perspective of the curatorial department of photography, Sarah Meister and colleagues from the MOMA, making it a dynamic and overal fun experience. I learned about contemporary artists and certain vernacular process that inspired me to learn more. The course is filled with many resources, including video interviews, reading material, some of which is hard to come by. I just want to thank you Sarah Meister and colleagues and the MOMA for putting this course together. Hoping for a part II

创建者 Ammal D P B

May 25, 2020

I found this course so enlightening and it achieves so much in such a short period of time. I think it is greatly curated and the extracurricular activities made me want to learn more with the additional resources in each case. I really enjoyed taking part in some discussions, the short videos are amazing to have the initial overview of the topic at hand and then to carry on with the reading. I wish there was such a course more directed to hands-on photographic techniques. I would definitely take part in that as well. The course, in summary, has teased my interest in Photography even more and now I am considering to start an actual Photography course as a hobby and learn more about photography worldwide.

创建者 freeman

Apr 22, 2020

This was one of the most enjoyable courses I have every taken. My complements to the instructor and the entire staff. It was kind of like a book that you cant put down. I woke up every day energized to learn more. I recommend this course highly to the next 300K people. :)

Two minor improvement comments: (1) the essays would make references to photos in the original books and these were just essays from the books and so the images were missing. Fortunately in most cases I could find something suitable with an internet search. It would be useful if photos could be included.

(2) Some of the NY Times readings were behind a paywall.

创建者 Vincent K

Apr 23, 2020

Highly recommended. An excellent introduction to the history, language and appreciation of vernacular photography. The reading material and video lessons were highly relevant and well put together. For those who want to learn how to look at contemporary, as well as 20th century documentary, portraiture and constructed photography, this course is invaluable. As a photographer who is actively engaged in capturing images of the world around me, this course allows me to appreciate the historical development of the craft, and diverse stylistic forms to exoand my horizon.

创建者 Li C

May 26, 2020

This is a very useful course I have learned more about photography history around the world and around us. Now it is a digital world, but a lot of artists can use camera-less methods to produce their works and are successful. These art of works are still attracted hundred or thousand of people to look, to enjoy, to share and to spread their emotion feelings. I hope these kind of technique and other camera way can be lived forever. Thanks so much for MoMA who provides this kind of courses to public and well done for every staff.

Thank you very much!

创建者 Tommaso B

Apr 24, 2020

I loved this experience. In this awful and stressful time, being able to learn such a complex and interesting part of the history of Thought, really inspired me and helped me develop new ideas and projects for the future. I hope, deeply that there will be many more courses organized by Moma. I also am really grateful to have had a glance into Moma. Being italian i have only had the possibility to visit the museum in two moments of my life, when i couldn't really appreciate it. Thank you so much. Stay safe and have a nice day!

创建者 amy o

Apr 26, 2020

This is a really strong introduction to canonical views of the history of photography. It gives a strong overview of aesthetic impulses and concerns of photography from the perspective of the MOMA, which has been instrumental in establishing photography as an art form. If you are looking for more cutting edge or avant-garde perspectives or a diversity of perspectives, you will not get it here but if you are looking to understand how the arts establishment views photography this is a wonderful start.

创建者 Raquel B J

Feb 10, 2017

Es perfecto para aquellas personas que se desenvuelven muy bien con el inglés. Los contenidos son buenísimos (de ahí mis 5 estrellas.) Pero, no se lo recomiendo a las personas que como yo, están aprendiendo el idioma. Me ha costado muchísimo terminarlo, pero muchísimo. Sí, los videos están subtitulados pero los textos no, y muchos son muy técnicos. Luego el trabajo final lo tienes que realizar en ingles y claro, para una persona que se desenvuelva bien le va genial, pero para los que no... nope.

创建者 Marie-Alice

Aug 20, 2019

This course is an absolutely fascinating introduction to the great questions raised by the medium of photography, how it's perceived and used in our current society. It's wholesome, well-built and grants you access to a great number of thoughtful contents of quality. I'll definitely be coming back to this course to get in touch with the complex ideas that are presented there. It's an invaluable resource for everyone who wants to become more literate in the language of photography.

创建者 lucas d

Jan 01, 2020

The insights from professional artists and curators really makes this course a unique experience. I learned a lot about the history of photography and what to pay attention to to decipher photographers' intentions.

I'm learning photography as a hobby and with a secret hope to produce interesting enough narratives to be worth sharing. There is plenty of material covering the technical aspects. This course fills the striking gap about the cultural and societal role of photography.

创建者 Louise D

Feb 06, 2017

The reading material provided on this course for download or to read online is phenomenal. I really appreciated the articles and chapters from books made available. The selection was excellent and was obviously chosen by one of the great experts in the field of photography. The videos made by MOMA are first rate. The photographers selected for study are wide-ranging and well chosen. This is a brilliant course which I am recommending to my camera club here in the UK.

创建者 Sebastian S

May 22, 2020

Great to get an historical snapshot of photography which then provides context to how photographers have developed their skills and turned, what otherwise would have remained a scientific tool, into an interesting and artistic art form. The course has also provided guidance as to how to explore the many varied ways in which one can compose and curate a series of photos and also give differing context to the original captured image when displayed in differing ways.

创建者 Vinicius d C

Apr 18, 2020

Albeit not an original statement, this course REALLY changed the way I see photographs. There are so many meanings a photograph can assume, from the photographer view and from the observer point of view, that learning to identify all of them brings another level of understanding and the opportunity to choose the lenses you want to apply for viewing pleasure, giving you the freedom to choose the lenses that you see better fit for your own objectives and enjoyment.

创建者 Federica R

Mar 18, 2020

Una fantastica esperienza. Il corso é strutturato con lezioni modulari, i contributi video e interviste sono molto interessanti. Sono contenta di aver avuto la possibilità di frequentare questo corso online, era quello che ricercavo e mi ha semplicemente entusiasmato. Ascoltare le esperienze dei fotografi proposti dal MOMA arricchisce la mia conoscenza e stimolerá sicuramente la mia creatività. Grazie MOMA! Federica Repetto

创建者 Maya K

May 20, 2020

I really enjoyed following this course and I learned a lot about understanding photography. The videos and the written content are all very interesting and bring out different perspectives.

Also Sarah Meister is a great curator that keeps in touch with the community via mail to inform about new events or resources to read from the MoMa besides the ones available in the course which is really appreciable.

创建者 Ev O

Jun 01, 2020

Incredibly informative with very helpful videos. Caters to multiple methods of learning and inspires those who take the course. Well fleshed out, the readings are amazing and in depth. They incorporate them into the quizes well and broaden your understanding. The accompanying zoom meetings and artists talks were an even nicer way to get a broader understanding and learn that beyond the course teachings.

创建者 flavio o

May 25, 2020

Another way to look at photographs, to better understand their techniques, to reflect on the context in which they are represented and again to understand the role of the single photograph when it is part of a collection. An interesting journey from the origins, from the birth of this art to the present day, explained in a simple and captivating way and with lots of ideas and in-depth material.

创建者 Andrea L

May 22, 2020

It was a really interesting course for the way and the type of topics exposed. I found the vision proposed by many photographers in American history really exciting. The most iconic of all in my opinion was Dorothea Lange with her memorable and immortal work Migrant Mother. I hope that in the future the moms can offer other photography courses.Thank you for the opportunity FondlyAndrea Liguori

创建者 Anthony T

May 28, 2020

A highly informative course that took me through the history of photography and what the in-depth meanings behind images. It offered me a wide-ranging view of where photography has been and has left me excited to see where it is going. With this newfound appreciation and education in my field, I feel much more confident in what I'm shooting and enlightened by what I'm capable of seeing.

创建者 Francesca S

Dec 08, 2017

Thanks to a great institution like Moma, everyone in the world can have access at a wide range of material and contents about photography. This is a real museum for me: an institution that gives the possibility to everybody to have access to culture, using the most innovative ways to reach the biggest number of people which is possible and to create high quality contents.

THANK YOU MOMA!

创建者 Stephen H W

Mar 18, 2020

Started the course. Completed everything except the last exercise and believed that exercise was ridiculous. checked the course a few months later and the last exercise had been changed to include a 2nd option that made sense. Completed that option and believe the 2nd option made the last assignment in line with the rest of the course bringing my star rating from zero to 5.