Chevron Left
返回到 Seeing Through Photographs

学生对 现代艺术博物馆 提供的 Seeing Through Photographs 的评价和反馈

4.8
3,623 个评分
985 条评论

课程概述

Taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us. Given our near-constant engagement with images this course will help you dig into the meaning of pictures and reconsider photography’s role in our visual culture. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at 100 photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, going behind the scenes of the Museum and into artist studios through original films and audio interviews. You will hear a variety of perspectives on the ways photography has been used throughout its 180-year history: as a means of artistic expression, a tool for science and exploration, an instrument of documentation, a way to tell stories and record histories, and a mode of communication and critique. Short texts and readings from MoMA publications provide enhanced context for the works in the course. By enrolling in this course, you’ll join a community of international learners in discussion forums, receive invitations to live and virtual events from our lead instructor Sarah Meister, and gain exclusive access to MoMA resources. UPDATE: We’ve been listening to your feedback! In September 2020, we launched new content in Seeing Through Photographs, including audio interviews with additional contemporary artists from around the world, videos of Sarah introducing key ideas, and almost doubling the number of photographs from the collection. We’ve also added opportunities for you to share and receive feedback on your photographs in the discussion forums....

热门审阅

AQ
Mar 8, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

AD
Dec 25, 2019

This is a really great way to get a beginners academic insight into photography, really interesting video and written content. I learned a lot and enjoyed studying again, thank you MoMA and Coursera!

筛选依据:

26 - Seeing Through Photographs 的 50 个评论(共 972 个)

创建者 Arturo G

Sep 27, 2016

Excelente curso, la diversidad de enfoques y opiniones sobre el arte y la fotografía han sido de gran valía, muchas gracias por el curso, espero tener la oportunidad de estar en otros cursos con ustedes

Excellent course, the diversity of approaches and views on art and photography have been very useful, thank you very much for the course, hope to have the opportunity to be in other courses with you

创建者 Jim W

May 30, 2016

If what you want is the sort of doctrinaire overview of fine-art photography that you might have learned in a university in the 1970s, this is exactly the course for you!

It's thoroughly saturated with the Museum of Modern Art mindset: the assumptions and interpretations are those touted by MoMA curators, and the photographers are chosen from the MoMA-approved pantheon. (The quiz questions tend to focus on course-content minutiae -- "Which commentator said X about Y?" -- to make sure you've drunk your art-establishment Kool-Aid.)

On the other hand, if you want to examine the diversity of photography through a variety of critical approaches -- Marxist, feminist, queer-theory, post-structural, whatever -- well, they don't allow none of that there here. This is strictly the Photography Gospel According to MoMA, and you either like it or lump it.

创建者 Researt A V

Mar 11, 2016

http://researt.com/2016/03/11/e-learning-ed-arte-il-caso-moma/

创建者 Thierry G

Aug 12, 2020

Yes, I feel I begin to see through photography again and again.

Incredible open content, with paths going towards photographs that I will follow.

创建者 JussaraNunes P d S

Jun 27, 2016

In my opinion this course is based in strong concepts and gives a good learning opportunity for those who want to understand the role of photography as a important medium. I have learned very much and, more than that, the course inspired me to keep learning by myself about the subject. I would suggest including other important names of photographers, who were/ or are key people in the history of the medium. In some way, I came out of the corse with the impression that American photography was really the focus. Photographers from other nationalities where in focus when related to US someway. I missed that the course would have a broader vision to offer about photographers that were/are relevant in that medium. Cartier-Bresson and Robert Capa for instance were merely mentioned and Helmut Newton (maybe I missed), I didn't see him mentioned.

My other suggestion is related to the quiz. Sometimes, the questions are focusing in aspects not really relevant of the theme of the week. There was a really relevant content and some questions would focus on for example the "Edson Chagas distribute his work himself or not" when his work has an important social impact to be called of the attention of the students. In the week 4, the content related to posed/unposed photography for example was not included in the quiz when it was a key part of the message of the week's theme. So, my point is to review the quiz, including content which is relevant and it might be out, and prepare the questions not necessarily focusing in aspects that are not really adding to the learning of the student.

Please feel free to ask if having interest in discuss my opinion further.

Jussara Nunes Pereira de Souza

jussaranpsouza@outlook.com

创建者 Liliana L

May 11, 2020

El contenido y estructura del curso me parecen adecuados. Lo que realmente me parece MUY MAL es que se deje la responsabilidad total de la calificación a los compañeros, que no tienen el cuidado necesario para revisar. En mi caso, me asignaron 0 puntos en categorías que sí que cumplí (la extensión y la elección de fotos ajenas al curso). Debido a esto, tuve que hacer un nuevo ensayo. Esto fue muy molesto y desgastante. Me parece que el responsable del curso debería asumir esta calificación final.

************

The content and structure of the course seem adequate to me. What really seems VERY BAD to me is that the full responsibility for the final rating is left to the classmates, who do not take the necessary care to review. In my case, I was assigned 0 points in categories that I really did (the length and the choice of photos outside the course). Because of this, I had to do a new essay. This was very annoying and exhausting. It seems to me that the person in charge of the course should assume this final qualification.

创建者 David F

Mar 5, 2016

This was an informative class. As a "newbie" to the Coursera community, I wanted to take a course that would expand my knowledge of art and culture while fitting within my hectic work and family schedule. Photography is something I engage in almost daily with my iPhone, so I took a chance and was not disappointed. Sarah Meister has curated a wonderful assortment of photographer artists that typify the historical and aesthetic advances in photography. The articles, videos, and slideshows were well constructed around the theme of each module. The articles would benefit from including some of the images discussed. This was not a major problem as I was able to Google most of them. The videos were interesting and of sufficient length not to strain my attention. The slideshows were my favored documents due to the inclusion of images and explanatory text. I did find it frustrating that some of the answers to the quiz assignments could not be found in the required reading, videos, or slideshows. As an educator, I can certainly understand wanting students to think critically but some of the questions were misleading, unanswerable based on the content, or appeared unrelated. Many of the items did not assess my understanding of the information so much as how closely I read for specific quotes or other esoteric content. This is further evidenced by the posts in the forums requesting guidance about certain items. Overall, the course is worth the effort and time if you are interested in the history of photography and its most notable practitioners.

创建者 lillykainz

May 25, 2016

This Course is very interesting because it covers the work from iconic photographers since its invention in 1839 to these days. The "but" I found is : first, the required readings are very extensive, and second , the questions for the quizes are most of them too much specific, and there are so many photographers names that it is quite a challenge to have more than five questions right. Otherwise, it is a captivating MOOC, designed more for Photographers than lay public.

创建者 Philip P

Jul 21, 2020

Course content is very good, you learn a lot, or think about what you already know deeper - only real let down is that its peer graded rather than graded by someone who grades papers and you get a certificate if you pay for it that says its non-credited and you just completed, rather than passed - so if you want knowledge, great, if you want to bump your CV, maybe not for you.

创建者 Kamen T

Jun 15, 2016

Teaches the history well, but doesn't focus much on helping to improve.

创建者 mat

May 10, 2020

I think in this course there are some cues or starting point but everything is represented in a superficial way. The course is based only in material from MOMA but, for me, this is not a problem. The real missing thing is the absence of a more deep dissertation about topics. Tests at the end of each week are focused on insignificant details, like quotations, and can be passed queuing google

创建者 Shania P

Nov 4, 2020

I can't purchase the certificate.

创建者 Sharon B

Jun 14, 2020

Excellent course - highly recommended. The material is super interesting and varies from week to week so there's always a new topic or idea to be reading about. The content is well put together and comprises a mix of videos, short 'look & learn' slideshows as well as many excellent articles and essays to read at your own pace. I'm a working photographer with an interest in history and theory and I got a lot of mental stimulation from this course - am a bit sad now that I've finished it!

One word of note is that the "1-2 hours per week" commitment is on the low side. You might get away with 1-2 hours if you are a fast reader and only do the bare mimimum readings, but if you want to deep dive into the topics, look up photographers mentioned in articles as you go, and really get into the material you'll need to set aside more time. I ended up spending way more time than anticipated but loved doing it so it was ok ;D

创建者 Vivek C

May 13, 2020

A very accessible, thought-provoking, and often surprising introduction to the most underrated of the visual arts: photography. The instructor, Sarah Meister, has structured the course very cleverly to give you a comprehensive and historical view of photography as a technology, an ever-evolving artform, an institution, and as a way of structuring how we see the world and ourselves. The photographers and images she focuses on are as varied as the field itself. The readings are short yet insightful and engaging. There are plenty of additional resources so that you can delve as deep into any specific topic that you want. Ms. Meister is continuously adding new resources to build on an already excellent course. Highly recommended to anyone immersed in a world saturated with photographic images – that is to say, everyone. You won't see the world the same again.

创建者 Viviana E

Jun 2, 2020

I learned very much from this course. I enrolled in this course because I love photography. I can stay an entire day looking at photographs. And this course has helped me to have a broader, deeper understanding of a photo. I knew nothing about American or other photgraphers. The amount of documents available in this course was amazing (although not usually mobile friendly), so I ended up reading them in my tablet. The videos available were of great quality and very useful, including the text below it. The studio centre sessions and other activities (Webinars) was really enjoyable as well.

I still have much more to learn, but at least I have a strong foundation thanks to this course.

Thank you all for the help and incredible organisation. Great team!

创建者 Peter B

May 8, 2020

I learned a lot, and that's important to say because I was coming to this course already with an established understanding about the medium. What made this course so special was how the material was presented though the perspective of the curatorial department of photography, Sarah Meister and colleagues from the MOMA, making it a dynamic and overal fun experience. I learned about contemporary artists and certain vernacular process that inspired me to learn more. The course is filled with many resources, including video interviews, reading material, some of which is hard to come by. I just want to thank you Sarah Meister and colleagues and the MOMA for putting this course together. Hoping for a part II

创建者 Ammal D P B

May 25, 2020

I found this course so enlightening and it achieves so much in such a short period of time. I think it is greatly curated and the extracurricular activities made me want to learn more with the additional resources in each case. I really enjoyed taking part in some discussions, the short videos are amazing to have the initial overview of the topic at hand and then to carry on with the reading. I wish there was such a course more directed to hands-on photographic techniques. I would definitely take part in that as well. The course, in summary, has teased my interest in Photography even more and now I am considering to start an actual Photography course as a hobby and learn more about photography worldwide.

创建者 Maria L G

Jun 15, 2020

If you are willing to learn about american photography history ,how photography evolved,improved and reinvented itself assuming different photography conceptions,styles,artistic expressions,representing ideals,context movements,fields of work and take a look on its most significant photography exponents throughout the decades since X!X century until current times,the most relevant and historical photo exhibitions through the decades, different professional photographers testimonies,experiences and a bit about the history of the Modern Art Museum of New York and its Photography Department this is the right course for you!I highly recommend it!

创建者 freeman

Apr 22, 2020

This was one of the most enjoyable courses I have every taken. My complements to the instructor and the entire staff. It was kind of like a book that you cant put down. I woke up every day energized to learn more. I recommend this course highly to the next 300K people. :)

Two minor improvement comments: (1) the essays would make references to photos in the original books and these were just essays from the books and so the images were missing. Fortunately in most cases I could find something suitable with an internet search. It would be useful if photos could be included.

(2) Some of the NY Times readings were behind a paywall.

创建者 Fabíola B d C

Oct 13, 2020

I started this course to educate myself and to gain knowledge and insights on the different ways one can approach photography. It was a truly enriching experience. The course is very well structured and a lot of resources in different mediums is provided. The Final Project, at the end of the course, enables an overall reflection and is a perfect way to sum up all your learnings and feelings throughout the course and on photography so far. For me, this reflection was insightful and this was exactly what i was looking for. So many thanks! Completely recommend this course to anyone with an interest in Photography!

创建者 Vincent K

Apr 23, 2020

Highly recommended. An excellent introduction to the history, language and appreciation of vernacular photography. The reading material and video lessons were highly relevant and well put together. For those who want to learn how to look at contemporary, as well as 20th century documentary, portraiture and constructed photography, this course is invaluable. As a photographer who is actively engaged in capturing images of the world around me, this course allows me to appreciate the historical development of the craft, and diverse stylistic forms to exoand my horizon.

创建者 Li C

May 26, 2020

This is a very useful course I have learned more about photography history around the world and around us. Now it is a digital world, but a lot of artists can use camera-less methods to produce their works and are successful. These art of works are still attracted hundred or thousand of people to look, to enjoy, to share and to spread their emotion feelings. I hope these kind of technique and other camera way can be lived forever. Thanks so much for MoMA who provides this kind of courses to public and well done for every staff.

Thank you very much!

创建者 Tommaso B

Apr 24, 2020

I loved this experience. In this awful and stressful time, being able to learn such a complex and interesting part of the history of Thought, really inspired me and helped me develop new ideas and projects for the future. I hope, deeply that there will be many more courses organized by Moma. I also am really grateful to have had a glance into Moma. Being italian i have only had the possibility to visit the museum in two moments of my life, when i couldn't really appreciate it. Thank you so much. Stay safe and have a nice day!

创建者 amy o

Apr 26, 2020

This is a really strong introduction to canonical views of the history of photography. It gives a strong overview of aesthetic impulses and concerns of photography from the perspective of the MOMA, which has been instrumental in establishing photography as an art form. If you are looking for more cutting edge or avant-garde perspectives or a diversity of perspectives, you will not get it here but if you are looking to understand how the arts establishment views photography this is a wonderful start.

创建者 Raquel B J

Feb 10, 2017

Es perfecto para aquellas personas que se desenvuelven muy bien con el inglés. Los contenidos son buenísimos (de ahí mis 5 estrellas.) Pero, no se lo recomiendo a las personas que como yo, están aprendiendo el idioma. Me ha costado muchísimo terminarlo, pero muchísimo. Sí, los videos están subtitulados pero los textos no, y muchos son muy técnicos. Luego el trabajo final lo tienes que realizar en ingles y claro, para una persona que se desenvuelva bien le va genial, pero para los que no... nope.