Chevron Left
返回到 Seeing Through Photographs

学生对 现代艺术博物馆 提供的 Seeing Through Photographs 的评价和反馈

4.8
3,631 个评分
986 条评论

课程概述

Taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us. Given our near-constant engagement with images this course will help you dig into the meaning of pictures and reconsider photography’s role in our visual culture. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at 100 photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, going behind the scenes of the Museum and into artist studios through original films and audio interviews. You will hear a variety of perspectives on the ways photography has been used throughout its 180-year history: as a means of artistic expression, a tool for science and exploration, an instrument of documentation, a way to tell stories and record histories, and a mode of communication and critique. Short texts and readings from MoMA publications provide enhanced context for the works in the course. By enrolling in this course, you’ll join a community of international learners in discussion forums, receive invitations to live and virtual events from our lead instructor Sarah Meister, and gain exclusive access to MoMA resources. UPDATE: We’ve been listening to your feedback! In September 2020, we launched new content in Seeing Through Photographs, including audio interviews with additional contemporary artists from around the world, videos of Sarah introducing key ideas, and almost doubling the number of photographs from the collection. We’ve also added opportunities for you to share and receive feedback on your photographs in the discussion forums....

热门审阅

AQ
Mar 8, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE
Jun 2, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

筛选依据:

851 - Seeing Through Photographs 的 875 个评论(共 974 个)

创建者 Sue L

Jun 1, 2020

Great course to understand different aspects and the history of photography.

Sometimes the amount of reading is a bit difficult to read. The videos are very inspiring. The course covers various photographers. I like that this course gives you an option for the final project.

创建者 Alan E J H

Feb 18, 2020

More Non-American Photographers need to be represented. I know it's an American based course but it leans ver heavily towards an American view of the photographic world. Other than that, I enjoyed the course and the lectures. I would certainly recommend this course to others.

创建者 Kim R

Aug 11, 2020

It was a great course to get exposure to Moma's photography and hear more about some of the artists and the works. I felt it was more exploratory vs. a deep dive on the specific movements or artists. In that vein, I felt the quizzes were a little much.

创建者 Reggie W

Jul 24, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyable! Learned that you don't necessarily need to take a photo in order to create a piece of photographic art. Also, learned about new artists and the history behind their creations. Lastly, got to see a wide spectrum of photographic art.

创建者 Anne F

Mar 16, 2016

A very interesting course. It is wonderful that there are many videos of photographers who explain their works themselves. I also liked the reading material: the compulsory material is of the appropriate length, of a good quality and interesting.

创建者 Donata S

Aug 17, 2017

Interesting course even for those who aren't photographers but simply love photos. I've learned a loto about the story of photoraphs and there are a lot of interviews which explain you the different point of view of some important photographers.

创建者 Sameer B

Aug 23, 2016

Learned a lot of about Photography & Art and got direction on what I want to learn further.

I wish the videos were longer. Uploaded text was formatted in to be easier to read online. The pages were multiple horizontally and text was small.

创建者 Daisy C

May 30, 2020

The instructor- Sarah Meister really put a lot of thought in organizing this online class- including invited guest speakers via Zoom and office hours. She went beyond expectations. thank you for this relief fr everyday-quarantine.

创建者 Giorgio B

Oct 4, 2019

I had the opportunity through this course to learn and understand a lot about photography and its evolution along the years, since its invention. I will watch photos from now on with a much better understanding and interest.

创建者 Andrew

Apr 18, 2020

This course is well organised, well presented and valuable. It shares a wide range of photographic content and challenges students to think in new ways. At the same time, it is enjoyable to complete. Highly recommended.

创建者 Cathy H

Feb 2, 2019

This course provide a lot of article.But for the people which is weak in English (like me),the reading part is a little bit hard to understand.However,I still learn a lot through the video and I enjoy it very much.

创建者 Rita D

May 16, 2020

Il corso è stato organizzato con grande professionalità e ha fornito una vasta gamma di informazioni che mi hanno incuriosita ed arricchita. Sono contenta di aver partecipato e di averlo portaro a termini.

创建者 Lucía

Mar 6, 2018

Not the usual course about photography. It's another very interesting point of view where you can meet new and not so new projects and photographers and how to connect them and study them from a common topic.

创建者 Neil S

Mar 6, 2018

Course good but clarity needed on the final assessment as more detail provided at point of submission than on previous pages - as one would not tend to go to submit until work completed this is problematic.

创建者 Miguel B

Jun 2, 2016

The course is a good introduction on how to look at images from a different perspective. Good materials, highly enjoyable. The reading lists are pretty good, with interesting additional material.

创建者 Juan P M

Mar 13, 2016

Great videos and interviews with amazing photographers. They leverage very well MoMA's collection. I think the course design and lectures are not the best way to grasp the key concepts ann ideas.

创建者 Ranmali K

Jan 11, 2017

I enjoyed this course a lot! I learnt about many artists I had not come across before. It was interesting to see photography used in different and novel ways by a variety of artists.

创建者 Carmen

Mar 28, 2016

Very accessible and informative. I wish there was more information on the issues and trends in photography and less on who said what. The first three modules are very interesting

创建者 George A

Mar 2, 2016

An interesting outtake to examine the world as other photographers and artist see the pictures presented, changing the way we see the world, our work and the work of others

创建者 William R H

Sep 13, 2019

I found this course to be very informative. The concepts of the course were well taught and I would recommend someone who is just learning about photography to take it.

创建者 Rafal B

Apr 29, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. A great number of additional materials for long read after finishing. ANd great broad selection of interesting photos and photographers.

创建者 Xiongyingzi C

Sep 9, 2020

Sufficient material, interesting perspective, in-depth study.

But there is a bit too much required reading and not enough videos or other more interactive learning.

创建者 Alex W

Mar 29, 2016

Really enjoyed the diversity and range of photography shown, definitely a good introduction to the various movements that make up the medium and how they interact.

创建者 Ximena L s

Sep 2, 2020

I am immensely grateful for the course, I have enjoyed all the information and knowing more about the museum's collection and strengthening my gaze. Thanks Moma.