Chevron Left
返回到 Seeing Through Photographs

学生对 现代艺术博物馆 提供的 Seeing Through Photographs 的评价和反馈

4.8
3,694 个评分
997 条评论

课程概述

Taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us. Given our near-constant engagement with images this course will help you dig into the meaning of pictures and reconsider photography’s role in our visual culture. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at 100 photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, going behind the scenes of the Museum and into artist studios through original films and audio interviews. You will hear a variety of perspectives on the ways photography has been used throughout its 180-year history: as a means of artistic expression, a tool for science and exploration, an instrument of documentation, a way to tell stories and record histories, and a mode of communication and critique. Short texts and readings from MoMA publications provide enhanced context for the works in the course. By enrolling in this course, you’ll join a community of international learners in discussion forums, receive invitations to live and virtual events from our lead instructor Sarah Meister, and gain exclusive access to MoMA resources. UPDATE: We’ve been listening to your feedback! In September 2020, we launched new content in Seeing Through Photographs, including audio interviews with additional contemporary artists from around the world, videos of Sarah introducing key ideas, and almost doubling the number of photographs from the collection. We’ve also added opportunities for you to share and receive feedback on your photographs in the discussion forums....

热门审阅

AQ
Mar 8, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

AD
Dec 25, 2019

This is a really great way to get a beginners academic insight into photography, really interesting video and written content. I learned a lot and enjoyed studying again, thank you MoMA and Coursera!

筛选依据:

901 - Seeing Through Photographs 的 925 个评论(共 985 个)

创建者 Camila S

May 10, 2020

Loved It. I wish there was a way of making us dig more into the photographers that caught our eye and analyzing their work.

创建者 Audrey B

Sep 21, 2016

A lot of study of artist's work, which makes you study the history of photography as well. The weekly thematics are good.

创建者 Mohammad A E N M

Jun 15, 2020

I think such courses needs more assignments. Not only peer graded ones but also solo or teamwork projects. Thanks anyway

创建者 Ellie L

Jun 11, 2020

The reading materials are super helpful, there's a lot though, a little bit too much for one person to finish in a week.

创建者 Gabriel R C

Sep 20, 2016

Buen curso, sobre todo los recursos bibliográficos gratuitos.

Nice course, the best part was the free library resources.

创建者 Nivethitha B A

Mar 5, 2019

It's is indeed a very interesting and useful subject as it let us become more of a thinker and feeler at the same time.

创建者 Patrycja K

May 20, 2020

Very nice course. I would add more videos, interviews and more interactive stuff but everything reasumed was worth it.

创建者 Rohan C

May 19, 2020

Could combine more contemporary work that challenges our understanding of photography. Really enjoyed the last week.

创建者 Jeffrey l

Mar 27, 2016

Excellent course. It gives me an insight history and views from how images have evolved from flim to digital eras.

创建者 Laura D

May 2, 2018

The course was really good, you really learned a lot. however is a little bit difficult if you don't know english

创建者 MUTHAMIZH S

Mar 28, 2018

A good course to learn about how photography evolved and how it has been used in various ways by various people.

创建者 Federico

Mar 13, 2016

It is not the best of ... but actually I was available to have some positive sentence about photography. Amazing

创建者 Dana C

Mar 22, 2018

I can now look deeper into photographs that I love and understand them better because of this wonderful course.

创建者 adrianne

Mar 21, 2016

Really enjoyed the content of this course. Exposes you to a variety of photographers and their personal styles.

创建者 james w

Sep 26, 2020

I thought is was most interesting with a wide variety a subjects and the interviews were very well conducted.

创建者 David O

Jun 6, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I would like more personal interaction between the organizers and the students.

创建者 Morten W

Sep 20, 2016

A really amazing course full of excellent resources. Perfect for the inquisitive photographer.

创建者 Guillermo M

May 1, 2016

Great course to learn about the different visions and angles that photography has to offer

创建者 Philipp L

Apr 13, 2016

Interesting insights in the history of photography and current way of how photos are seen.

创建者 Pilar P d C

May 22, 2018

anyone who likes photography should follow this course. Entertaining and enlightening.

创建者 Camila V

Apr 14, 2016

A very good course, I learned a lot about new perspectives and history of photography

创建者 Frank C

Sep 25, 2016

Rather interesting. Challenged my perception of what photography is and could be.

创建者 Tom C

Mar 8, 2016

I just watched the videos - but they were terrific and very illuminating. Thanks!

创建者 Tim B

Apr 3, 2017

Thought provoking material, that enlarged by view of the field of photography.