Chevron Left
返回到 Seeing Through Photographs

学生对 现代艺术博物馆 提供的 Seeing Through Photographs 的评价和反馈

4.8
3,568 个评分
971 条评论

课程概述

Taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us. Given our near-constant engagement with images this course will help you dig into the meaning of pictures and reconsider photography’s role in our visual culture. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at 100 photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, going behind the scenes of the Museum and into artist studios through original films and audio interviews. You will hear a variety of perspectives on the ways photography has been used throughout its 180-year history: as a means of artistic expression, a tool for science and exploration, an instrument of documentation, a way to tell stories and record histories, and a mode of communication and critique. Short texts and readings from MoMA publications provide enhanced context for the works in the course. By enrolling in this course, you’ll join a community of international learners in discussion forums, receive invitations to live and virtual events from our lead instructor Sarah Meister, and gain exclusive access to MoMA resources. UPDATE: We’ve been listening to your feedback! In September 2020, we launched new content in Seeing Through Photographs, including audio interviews with additional contemporary artists from around the world, videos of Sarah introducing key ideas, and almost doubling the number of photographs from the collection. We’ve also added opportunities for you to share and receive feedback on your photographs in the discussion forums....

热门审阅

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

TK

May 29, 2020

Coursera gives me a platform to explore new skills. I was able to experience education from world-renowned universities without losing out on career opportunities.\n\n- Thaneshwary kirupanantharasa -

筛选依据:

926 - Seeing Through Photographs 的 950 个评论(共 958 个)

创建者 Iliana A C N

May 17, 2018

es muy chevere

创建者 Natasha R

Apr 13, 2016

I love it!

创建者 Tiago C

Mar 28, 2016

Very nice.

创建者 NANCY R S

Apr 23, 2016

MUY BUENO

创建者 catalina c

Dec 13, 2016

AWESOME

创建者 Aarul V

Oct 17, 2020

Good

创建者 David F

Mar 06, 2016

This was an informative class. As a "newbie" to the Coursera community, I wanted to take a course that would expand my knowledge of art and culture while fitting within my hectic work and family schedule. Photography is something I engage in almost daily with my iPhone, so I took a chance and was not disappointed. Sarah Meister has curated a wonderful assortment of photographer artists that typify the historical and aesthetic advances in photography. The articles, videos, and slideshows were well constructed around the theme of each module. The articles would benefit from including some of the images discussed. This was not a major problem as I was able to Google most of them. The videos were interesting and of sufficient length not to strain my attention. The slideshows were my favored documents due to the inclusion of images and explanatory text. I did find it frustrating that some of the answers to the quiz assignments could not be found in the required reading, videos, or slideshows. As an educator, I can certainly understand wanting students to think critically but some of the questions were misleading, unanswerable based on the content, or appeared unrelated. Many of the items did not assess my understanding of the information so much as how closely I read for specific quotes or other esoteric content. This is further evidenced by the posts in the forums requesting guidance about certain items. Overall, the course is worth the effort and time if you are interested in the history of photography and its most notable practitioners.

创建者 Melinda G

Jun 20, 2020

I received only one peer review and that merely ticked the boxes on the required questions with no feedback. If this review is the only assessment we get beyond the quiz scores, my experience with it was not useful.

I also would have appreciated knowing why Heinecken is considered "legendary" and why so much of the required reading in that lesson was devoted to his essays. I found his style to be overly academic (plowing through many, many words to try to find a point) and I almost gave up. I'm sure he must have done something beyond the clever "Are You Rea"; some biographical information and other examples of his work would have given me a better understanding of his importance.

I have been working full time during the weeks of the course so was not able to take part in most of the online lectures, office hours and other daytime activities. I understand that this restricted my ability to fully participate and I'm sure I would have benefited from more involvement.

I did appreciate the first few weeks, especially the documentary and people modules. I'm glad I took the course and am going to pursue a number of the readings on my own. I also was motivated to buy Berenice Abbott's "Changing New York," which is inspiring.

创建者 lillykainz

May 25, 2016

This Course is very interesting because it covers the work from iconic photographers since its invention in 1839 to these days. The "but" I found is : first, the required readings are very extensive, and second , the questions for the quizes are most of them too much specific, and there are so many photographers names that it is quite a challenge to have more than five questions right. Otherwise, it is a captivating MOOC, designed more for Photographers than lay public.

创建者 roxanne w

Jan 09, 2017

I found the course interesting, however I had trouble finding all of the written materials to read. Some were available online, but none were in our library system. I think it would be better if more of the reading was available to people. I also thought that the final assignment instructions were a bit confusing. As it is I never did get to upload the photographs for the final prompt. I asked for help on the forum, but no one responded.

创建者 Philip P

Jul 21, 2020

Course content is very good, you learn a lot, or think about what you already know deeper - only real let down is that its peer graded rather than graded by someone who grades papers and you get a certificate if you pay for it that says its non-credited and you just completed, rather than passed - so if you want knowledge, great, if you want to bump your CV, maybe not for you.

创建者 Jeanette F

May 30, 2016

It was short and interesting... and that is good. In the first week the readings were overwhelming and I was disappointed - but the other 5 weeks had short videos of interviews with photographers to go along with the concepts presented. Some of the quiz questions were looking for details that I felt were not important for the learner. Final assignment was good.

创建者 Troy M

Jun 08, 2020

An interesting topic and materials covered but sadly an unresolved technical glitch prevented the completion of the final task and thus lower rating for a good course.

创建者 Konstantinos X

Mar 12, 2020

The course is interesting but beware ! It has peer reviewed assignments which means you will never get your grade !

创建者 michael m

Dec 14, 2016

i enjoyed the interviews -- hearing and seeing many different artists using the same medium in very different ways

创建者 bao l

May 14, 2020

The course is helpful to learn the stories behind photographs, but kind of monotonous.

创建者 César C

Feb 27, 2016

falta opciones en español, los textos por ejemplo o los videos subtitulados.

创建者 Amaya T

Oct 17, 2020

I liked the course but was not a fan of the final assignment

创建者 Sheila m

Aug 19, 2020

TODO ES EN INGLES, Y NO TENGO CONOCIMIENTO DEL INGLES

创建者 Priscila C d O

Sep 02, 2016

Nice, but I expected more (or something else).

创建者 Peter P

Jul 03, 2020

great course, thoroughly enjoyed it

创建者 Cathy E

Jul 23, 2020

I felt like this course was kind of disjointed. As an educator with some experience in museum education, I wonder whether this was created by the curatorial department with minimal or no guidance from education. Some of the required readings were lengthy and bombastic. It's almost as if course creators said, let's see what we have to work with, and try to find some relationships between the hodgepodge. I understand the importance of sometimes having to use readings from the specific time period of an artwork to put it in context, but again, I feel like there could have been better exemplars of both photographs and readings. The module where photographs of the moon were the "theme" just seemed like it didn't belong. I did acquire new knowledge through this course, but the format was just not for me.

创建者 Deleted A

Apr 02, 2016

Vastly concerned with the esoteric minutia, ideas, and meanings assigned by others regarding photographs which most often aren't even closely aligned with the original artist's intentions.

A brief few mentions of how photography has changed over time with advances in technology and development of new techniques was mildly interesting, otherwise this course was predominantly meaningless. This course will most likely be of no benefit to people not viewing or creating fine art photography.

创建者 Fricc S

Feb 06, 2017

abstract and uninformative stories about some photographersbut not about the profession of the photographer or the technical side of the work

Thank you for the opportunity to get acquainted with the course