Chevron Left
返回到 Seeing Through Photographs

学生对 现代艺术博物馆 提供的 Seeing Through Photographs 的评价和反馈

4.8
3,550 个评分
965 条评论

课程概述

Taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us. Given our near-constant engagement with images this course will help you dig into the meaning of pictures and reconsider photography’s role in our visual culture. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at 100 photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, going behind the scenes of the Museum and into artist studios through original films and audio interviews. You will hear a variety of perspectives on the ways photography has been used throughout its 180-year history: as a means of artistic expression, a tool for science and exploration, an instrument of documentation, a way to tell stories and record histories, and a mode of communication and critique. Short texts and readings from MoMA publications provide enhanced context for the works in the course. By enrolling in this course, you’ll join a community of international learners in discussion forums, receive invitations to live and virtual events from our lead instructor Sarah Meister, and gain exclusive access to MoMA resources. UPDATE: We’ve been listening to your feedback! In September 2020, we launched new content in Seeing Through Photographs, including audio interviews with additional contemporary artists from around the world, videos of Sarah introducing key ideas, and almost doubling the number of photographs from the collection. We’ve also added opportunities for you to share and receive feedback on your photographs in the discussion forums....

热门审阅

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

AD

Dec 26, 2019

This is a really great way to get a beginners academic insight into photography, really interesting video and written content. I learned a lot and enjoyed studying again, thank you MoMA and Coursera!

筛选依据:

151 - Seeing Through Photographs 的 175 个评论(共 953 个)

创建者 Sindhu R

Apr 25, 2016

This is by and far the most beautiful, well-laid out and organized Course I've ever taken. The case studies used are insightful, thought-provoking and a treat for your eye - especially the thought processes of the photographer who clicked that particular photo.

创建者 Keshav V

Jun 20, 2020

The course is very helpful to explore the different ways of photography, the way to see photographs, making perspectives, knowing the photographers intention and how one type or category of photographs can be clicked in different ways and many more.

Thank You.

创建者 Daniele A

Nov 04, 2019

"Seeing Through Photogaphs" opened my mind to new artistic prospetcives and ideas on photography. I am very grateful to have had the chance to attend this course. I reccomend it to any person who is interested in photography and is willing to gain new skills.

创建者 Alejandra V

Jul 24, 2016

Such a great oportunity to travel through the fantastic history of photography, you will see grat artists and great topics to enlarge you knowledge, Thank you so much Sara, annd the MOMA for giving me the oportunity to learn and enjoy much mor the photo world

创建者 José M M C

Jun 25, 2017

The course is excellent: very well structured, videos and slides very good, the opinions of fellow students are very interesting ...It is a course that makes you think. Very highly recommended. My sincere congratulations to the organizers of the course.

创建者 Masha S

May 02, 2017

I was excited to attend this course, every module introduces new degree of understanding what the photography is and how it circulates, how it affects our life and vice versa how our requirements, social issues, technical progress etc. affect photography.

创建者 Nadezhda P

May 10, 2016

Very interesting and useful course. With very well structured materials. Unordinary way to estimate the work of every student. The course assignments challenge the students to profound analysis and looking for original ideas. Warmly recommend this course.

创建者 Laura L

Feb 04, 2017

This course is fantástic, the approach, the authors and their creations are very interesting. For me, the best important has been the reflexions, about how make the photography, the how, why and in order to that. One experience, that I recommend totally.

创建者 sadegh s

Jun 14, 2020

Seeing through Photography is a great course for me and I have gained a lot of new information about photography, history of photography, and its importance for the world. I admit "seeing through photography" was the first course that I could finish it.

创建者 Joanna B

May 25, 2020

I absolutely loved this course! In six weeks, I was able to learn a lot about one of my favourite art forms. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that MoMA will have another Photography-based course like "Seeing Through Photographs" in the future. Thank you!

创建者 Arturo Z

May 31, 2019

I think this course can improve a sort of "photographic" awareness when considering images, an ability that pushes the observer from simply looking pictures to the capability of reading pictures.

This is quite different and I found it very useful to me.

创建者 Louisa A

Jan 13, 2018

Very, very interesting, it opened my eyes to many different styles and genres of photographers I had never considered before and many new artists. I especially liked the discussion on the way that photographs can be shared on the net nowadays. thank you

创建者 Álvaro L S

Mar 20, 2020

I loved this course. It made me have a deeper vision about photographs and how we communicate thanks to this powerful tool that we have nowadays. I would strongly recommend it to anyone that is interested in this topic and wants to know more about it.

创建者 Salma N

Apr 10, 2016

It was such an amazing learning experience. As an architect and a TA I immediately applied what I have learned in my professional life. I would highly recommend it for those who understand that there is more to photography than just instagram snaps.

创建者 Patricia B

Mar 28, 2016

The course is informative, interactive and uses different means to deliver the information, such as videos, text, discussion boards and interviews with famous photographers. I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in photography.

创建者 Thomas C

Sep 13, 2020

I have found the course inspiring as it has helped me to categorise and create albums of my photos into more than chronological lists. I' am now createing series of albums and better able to get my toughts across and to share my views with others.

创建者 Jonatan L d A

Sep 07, 2020

Quick nice introduction to critical analysis of photography as art reviewing different artists. Personally I enjoy the most documentary related photography and I'm more distant to more artistic related photography.

Enjoy good moments with course.

创建者 Angela E

May 31, 2020

given that the topic is potentially so broad, I thought that they way this course managed to steer us on a logical path that felt both chronological and thematic was impressive. I've loved the exposure to photographers I hadn't heard of before.

创建者 Paola A

Apr 10, 2016

Thank you for this wonderful opportunity that has allowed me to analyze a subject who is very dear to me, through images and exceptional documents. Definitely will be the basis for new experiments in this wonderful art which is "photograph".

创建者 Armando A

May 31, 2020

All themes of this course have shown me different aspects of photography and have given me the chance to see them with a more critical eye. These themes and photographs have changed my way to understand photograph as a more complex process.

创建者 Jaime A A V

May 06, 2020

It is an amazing course. it gives you great tools to make judgments and to appraise photographic material from different kind of artists. I enjoyed all the lessons and read every text consciously as it brings you closer to the compositions.

创建者 Míriam Á D

May 05, 2019

I highly recommend this course as it's so stimulating and you can learn a lot about the history of photography and how to understand it. It's very proffessional and the contents are of very good quality. Thanks a lot to all the course team.

创建者 Sofía C

Jan 03, 2019

This course really helped me to appreciate the history of photography and to learn and see it from another perspective, I also got to know a lot of new really important photographers, I would totally recommend this to colleagues or friends.

创建者 Elena C

Jul 21, 2020

The course is excellent He shows the common thread of photography through time and his week 6 that shows the different ways of using photography today open an interesting panorama for different approaches in this discipline.Elena Caja 2020

创建者 Steve O

May 25, 2020

If you love photography and the history behind it, this is the course for you. Different ideas, techniques, and an overall appreciation for the creative arts is what this class is all about! Worth the time and money for that certificate :)