Chevron Left
返回到 Seeing Through Photographs

学生对 现代艺术博物馆 提供的 Seeing Through Photographs 的评价和反馈

4.8
3,393 个评分
926 条评论

课程概述

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

热门审阅

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

AD

Dec 26, 2019

This is a really great way to get a beginners academic insight into photography, really interesting video and written content. I learned a lot and enjoyed studying again, thank you MoMA and Coursera!

筛选依据:

201 - Seeing Through Photographs 的 225 个评论(共 914 个)

创建者 JAVIER F F

Jan 25, 2018

It has been an excellent course that allows to learn very interesting concepts about the history of photography, photographic narrative and has allowed me to learn with the works of great photographers

创建者 lisette v e

May 24, 2020

Inspiring course if you love photography. In 6 weeks time you'll get indepth information about history, techniques, backgrounds on both artist as artworks. Mostly pieces that are acquired by MoMa.

创建者 Aleksander P

Jul 01, 2020

I am very grateful to the group of creators from MoMA who prepared this course for the gigantic work done and for putting their heart into it. We, students, are really appreciate it! Thank You :)

创建者 Arely F O

May 23, 2019

Is a excellent curse for understand better the history of the photography. Every photo represent perfectly the topic in the week. MoMA give the best information for learn and analize the themes.

创建者 Giselle S

Aug 22, 2018

It´s a full course about all aspects of photography which has changed my perspective and placed me in other level. I´m grateful for beeing able to take it. My sincere compliment to all involved.

创建者 Matías M S

Jun 20, 2020

If you're a photographer or you're interested in photography's history, this will be great for you. You get the chance to know about many photographers and different themes of the media itself.

创建者 Wong K K H

May 13, 2020

This course has brought me into a new perspective in seeing photos. A very inspiring course which has in-depth of how others making the photos and how the photos interpret the time and history.

创建者 Silvia M

Apr 19, 2020

wonderful course!very interesting ,I think is the best for improve your skills.i want to say a big thank you to Sarah and all the MoMa team for the lessions,the unique material and the video.

创建者 Washington M M

Jun 27, 2018

I have gained a lot of knowledge with this course. The content of each module helped me to deepen the aspects of intellectual creation presented by each image. It has simply been enlightening.

创建者 Claudio V

Jun 03, 2020

I loved this course. Built very well and has dealt with all the issues in a complete and exhaustive way, it has allowed me to open my mind to new and interesting interpretations. Really good.

创建者 Diego S

Apr 20, 2020

A highly professional course, which certainly helps the student to expand his photographic knowledge as well as his creativity.

The reflections will not fail.

Thanks for the opportunity MOMA.

创建者 Antonella B

Aug 18, 2017

Wonderful. To get into Moma archives has been incredible. Interviews are so interesting. Really grest course. Couldn't imagine such a gift! Thank YOU. From the heart.

Antonella, Rome. Italy.

创建者 Emanuele P

May 16, 2020

I appreciated the amount of material we could study. Videos, texts, pictures. Everything was well explained and videos had subtitles in many languages. The topics are really interesting.

创建者 Mattia R

Apr 22, 2020

Really interesting course, it changed my mind about the comprension of the photography's world. Thank you so much for the opportunity for me to learn new things about this wonderful topic.

创建者 Amanda W

Mar 22, 2016

Very comprehensive overview of photography - I learned a lot more than I expected given the time frame. There were a lot of resources and readings, and I enjoyed the fact that the quizzes

创建者 Amapola F

Aug 04, 2020

This course was a great experience. I think anyone can take it and enjoy it, regardless of what their background may be. It is fun, interesting, and inspiring. I definitely recommend it!

创建者 Danielle C

Jun 03, 2020

Absolutely wonderful. This historical overview challenges your mind and allows you to think outside of the box. Also, your views on photography will be thoroughly enhanced. Try it today!

创建者 Jake M V G

Feb 25, 2020

i loved this course, i learned a lot and could comparate photographers with different view and type of shape of art. i hope that in a future will have more free courses. thanks you moma!

创建者 Christine H

Feb 10, 2016

Have just completed the first lesson and really enjoyed the videos which makes the subject so more compelling and the ideas more accessible. Look forward to continuing and learning more.

创建者 Jonathan D G

May 27, 2020

I really enjoyed the lessons in seeing through photographs. What I like most about the course are the videos posted by MoMA, it was a pleasure seeing photographs from their collection.

创建者 Karin W

Apr 29, 2020

Good course for an experienced photographer. I benefited from the first read. However, I am a beginner and this course was to advanced for me. I'll be back when I have the basics down.

创建者 Linda M

Jun 10, 2020

An excellent pre amble to a University course in photography. It’s also taught me to look more objectively at Photographs by studying the artist/photographer a little more in depth.

创建者 Jorge d l M

Jul 02, 2019

Simple stunning amazing compilation of authors, tendencies, videos and information. Totally recommend it. So easy and challenging at the same time. MOMA and Sarah Meister amazing job.

创建者 Mak C K

Apr 23, 2020

A very brilliantly done course that helps students who study photography achieve a very good degree. Looking forward to see more around while I enjoy learning more about new artists.

创建者 Francisco J V C

Jan 22, 2020

Amazing course took it back in 2016 and it gave me a great understanding of what photography is and can be, the forums were very active back then and was a very enriching experience.