Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的评价和反馈

4.8
599 个评分
181 个审阅

课程概述

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

热门审阅

RV

Dec 13, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

MR

Oct 01, 2016

So far, I'm really enjoying this course. I like the look of it, the professor is engaging and as a layperson I find the content very, very interesting. What a wonderful take on plant biology!

筛选依据:

1 - Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的 25 个评论(共 178 个)

创建者 Saúl d l P L

Feb 01, 2019

Very good

创建者 Chantelle B

Jul 13, 2019

A good introduction to the basic senses of plants. This course broadens understanding of plants so that they aren't just seen as unsensing machines but are dynamic and adaptable, aware of and responding to changes in their environments. I recommend reading the book to get the most out of the course.

创建者 Robert W

Jul 04, 2019

Tests are rather specific and difficult. A few misspellings throughout. Information was fascinating.

创建者 Solange A J G P

Jul 02, 2019

Really an interesting course. I was fascinated by the facts and experiments carried out by scientist to understand plants. As a specialist in the computer field, I felt very bad that I have ignored learning about this part of the world for quite a long time. Thank you, Prof. Daniel and the coursera team for giving me this wonderful experience.

创建者 Jan M

Jun 28, 2019

I loved this course. I think it is the perfect course for someone who wants a challenge, but does not want a totally complex course. The course was challenging, and Professor Chamowitz is the coolest fellow out. It was sometimes tough, but if you want that qualification, you'll go out and complete this course. This course has taken me six months. Thank you for the course, and my certificate. Understanding Plants offers what it promises. I am now much more understanding of our plant friends. I still don't have a green thumb though!

创建者 Duncan C

Jun 22, 2019

This course was absolutely wonderful and helped me remember how much I absolutely love plants and how they work. The professor was wonderful, very charismatic, and the lessons were an absolute joy to watch and engage in. I would absolutely recommend this course!

创建者 Clemens K

Jun 19, 2019

Very well structured!

创建者 Jennifer V

Jun 17, 2019

Fascinating subject matter-useful in understanding botany and in raising plants.

创建者 Mariana G G

Jun 17, 2019

A very interesting curse!

创建者 Paulina A O d Z

May 16, 2019

This is a GREAT course! I learned a lot! The only thing I would suggest is to take the "Part II" first, because the "Part I" is more advanced and difficult.

创建者 Renata A

May 16, 2019

Love it and I'd recomend this course to people I know. Now I'm gonna do the second part.

Thank coursera and Professor Chamovitz

创建者 Stéphane S

May 10, 2019

This is an excellent, exciting, and well taught course, which introduces quite interesting findings about plants. The addition of more learning materials, especially lecture notes, would make it truly great! Thank you, prof. Chamovitz.

创建者 Sthali S

Apr 29, 2019

I love the teaching method. Fascinating subject!

创建者 Connie S

Mar 27, 2019

I really love the class. It taught me so much things about the plants surrounding us. It's like filling the hole of the terrible science education at my home town where most people could mix up spores and deadly insects and then throw their beautiful ferns into the rubbish bins. I wish my home town could also have a wonderful science class like this.

创建者 Juwayriyyah B O

Mar 25, 2019

AMAZING

创建者 Lucas M

Mar 12, 2019

Awesome course! The teacher is really nice and gives a good comprehension of what a plant knows and how scientists develop their hypothesis and results.

创建者 Mihai D

Mar 10, 2019

Amazing course! I can recommend to anyone. Thank you!

创建者 Juan S H

Mar 10, 2019

Este curso es muy bueno, ayudan a entender de manera muy didáctica los mecanismos sensoriales de las plantas.

创建者 Dylan L

Mar 06, 2019

love it so far. Its informative and fits my schedule. i love that i can watch the videos as much as needed to learn, and that doesnt put anyone out.

创建者 Nancy L

Mar 05, 2019

Lots of great information - Thank you! It would have been helpful if some key concepts had been repeated/emphasized more throughout the course. Maybe include a unit summary or study guide before taking each quiz. And definitely include a course review before the final quiz! Thanks for a great course. I'm going on to take Part 2.

创建者 Patrick A

Mar 04, 2019

Extraordinário!

创建者 Jaybhaye S G

Feb 18, 2019

this is the one of the best online course ever I studied

创建者 Jacinta M

Feb 11, 2019

Great course - the professor is enthusiastic, engaging, and teaching complex concepts in a way that makes them easy to understand and remember, even for someone with no biology background.

创建者 Victor Z

Feb 06, 2019

I really liked the clear and neat way the instructor explains every single point with a very natura aproach, the visual explanations and demonstrationswere great and so detaieled

创建者 Yesyca A L B

Feb 05, 2019

It is a very emosionante course, demanding and at the same time fun. Without being scientific, nor handle technical terms, it is very easy to understand and learn, even for non-English speakers.

But if I would like the exams, which present multiple answers, have the opportunity to know which or which are the correct answers to the question, since when there is still to complete the correct options, do not guess! , without knowing whether or not there is an appropriate answer within the options.