Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的评价和反馈

4.8
744 个评分
218 条评论

课程概述

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

热门审阅

RV

Dec 13, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

A

Mar 04, 2020

A perfect course to understand all senses of plants in a straightforward way and I must admit the way professor Daniel chamovitz helped me to better acknowledge this course was satisfactory for me.

筛选依据:

1 - Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的 25 个评论(共 214 个)

创建者 Robert W

Jul 04, 2019

Tests are rather specific and difficult. A few misspellings throughout. Information was fascinating.

创建者 Jonathan G

Jan 13, 2018

Interesting course. Although some of the questions being tested in some of the modules including module three did not coincide with what was being taught. There were questions on the quizzes that were not covered in any of the lectures.

创建者 Claire R

Mar 22, 2018

Maybe this course deserves 3 stars rather than 4 because it has some problems--but I really enjoyed it and learned a ton.

Problems: 1) The Professor is obviously learning how to teach via this platform as he goes along making the first few lessons much more confusing than they need to be

2) The book has been updated but the course has not

3) Some links to external content are broken--It's easy enough to find other YouTube videos that cover the content but it's a glitch

4) And, the biggest problem for me--as a professor some of his quiz questions fall into the "gotcha" category--meaning they are more about how the question is exactly worded rather than a test that lets you figure out if you're understood the content and remembered it correctly

But if you're interested in learning the material, the course is well worth taking.

创建者 Damien J G

Mar 11, 2018

The content was extensive and complex; often a bit too complex and not elaborate. Very brief, unintelligible parts were quizzed. It was often hard to understand my Professor.

创建者 Yesyca A L B

Feb 05, 2019

It is a very emosionante course, demanding and at the same time fun. Without being scientific, nor handle technical terms, it is very easy to understand and learn, even for non-English speakers.

But if I would like the exams, which present multiple answers, have the opportunity to know which or which are the correct answers to the question, since when there is still to complete the correct options, do not guess! , without knowing whether or not there is an appropriate answer within the options.

创建者 Renuka D

Aug 11, 2017

The Course was interesting enough for me to go for the Part II of the course as well. The final quiz still mesmerizes me, I could not get a few answers even after reviewing the entire syllabus, checking on the net etc. Probably after completion atleast if you couls share all the answers...Thanks

创建者 Saúl d l P L

Feb 01, 2019

Very good

创建者 Julie

Sep 03, 2017

I loved everything except the quizzes and final needed more grooming. Not with correct information, but with the set up. Besides the spelling mistakes and the "incorrect answer" text clearly displayed as one of the answers, they definitely needed a second and third look. Another tweak is if there is only one correct answer, don't set it up as if there is more than one. Keep the single answer questions as radio buttons, not squares.

创建者 Christina R

Oct 22, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and I found most of the information fascinating. I was not at all a fan of the quizzes and final exam. The questions are more about the wording than the information. They're designed to trip you up rather than test your knowledge. And I absolutely loathe "check all that apply" questions. Other than that, the course was really great, and I'm thinking of going on to the next.

创建者 Stéphane S

May 10, 2019

This is an excellent, exciting, and well taught course, which introduces quite interesting findings about plants. The addition of more learning materials, especially lecture notes, would make it truly great! Thank you, prof. Chamovitz.

创建者 Irena P

Aug 01, 2017

Excellent lectures, terrible exams.

创建者 Taha R

Nov 19, 2017

Average

创建者 Lionel M

Apr 17, 2017

Despite getting a little bit lost in some technical details, I thought the course was still worthwhile and interesting, and i learned stacks of stuff that I should have know all my life. Well presented and entertaining, and just about the right demand on my time.

Some of the tests were a bit hard going because I felt that multiple answers made it more difficult to learn from wrong answers. I would have preferred more questions with a higher % requirement.

This is the second course I have done by these folk (I did part II first). They are good courses. Hope they decide to do one on pollination some time. Thanks.

创建者 Brice B

Nov 14, 2017

Great class. Professor Chamovitz is a very gifted teacher. He uses the media very well. The content is very well organized, the explanations very progressive and given at the right level of detail for an introduction. After taking this course, you will never look at your plants the same way. It's fascinating. The treatment of the philosophical questions (Do plants see? Do they remember?...) is a little weak. There are philosophers working on these issues. It would have been great if Prof. Chamovitz had invited one/some of them to take part in the course. But I'm quibbling here...

创建者 Jan M

Jun 28, 2019

I loved this course. I think it is the perfect course for someone who wants a challenge, but does not want a totally complex course. The course was challenging, and Professor Chamowitz is the coolest fellow out. It was sometimes tough, but if you want that qualification, you'll go out and complete this course. This course has taken me six months. Thank you for the course, and my certificate. Understanding Plants offers what it promises. I am now much more understanding of our plant friends. I still don't have a green thumb though!

创建者 Sara R

May 14, 2018

I had a great time following this course. The lecturer really makes plant understanding fun and (relatively) easy. Great lessons with many practical explanations, lots of experiments and science history.

I am a biotechnologist working in molecular biology and my studies were mostly focused on humans / mammals. I currently work on plants and wanted to deepen my knowledge of the basis of plant physiology. This course was a great introduction to plants!

Highly recommended.

创建者 Christine

Dec 11, 2016

After having seen "American Pie" , I don't see apple pie in the same way.

After following this training, Ii don't see apple tree in the same way !

More seriously,Ii'd like to thank you very much for this training which was both very interesting and understandable by majority of us.

The videos are very clear and, actually, you're not boring (;-))!

Thanks to Nir, as well.

I 've appreciated the mix of simple experiment results and theoretical explanation behind.

创建者 Marwan E I

Mar 17, 2018

This is an enjoyable, interesting, eye opening course, yet it is not an easy one to pass. I have not done much biology before, and some of the terminology and processes described were a little demanding. I had to go through the lectures more than once. Professor Daniel Chamovitz is interesting to listen to. You do not go to sleep! I wish he would offer a third course on Coursera soon. Thank you professor for the knowledge you were so generous to provide.

创建者 Zvi Z D C

Jul 10, 2017

This is a wonderful course! There are minor problems in transcripts and in language usage. The course is very informative, the professor is very knowledgeable, light, and gives out the information in a delightful way, making the learning process fun fun fun! I am already heading to his next course, Fundamentals of plant biology! If the course seems interesting to you, you have to take it, i am telling you, you do, you will enjoy every bit of it!

创建者 Alison C

Feb 22, 2018

I really enjoyed this and learnt a lot. I'm a zoologist currently studying botanical illustration, so this course was a great way to brush up on my botany. I read Prof Chamovitz' book a couple of years ago and liked his style, and this course is similar - very engaging but thorough. Some of the tests, especially the last one, are quite tough but I think that is a good thing, you have to pay attention to the material if you want to pass.

创建者 Andrei I

Sep 09, 2019

The content included is exactly as described. The professor is just the right amount of playful, and makes sure to repeat and explain the more complicated parts. Video lectures include images to help visualise and clarify what is being talked about. There is only one personal thing I am not a fan of, but that one thing is still not enough to justify a less than 5-star rating for such a clear course. Plants deserve more credit.

创建者 Melanie F

May 06, 2017

I actually loved the course and the teacher was great but the final quiz made me want to throw my computer at the wall a bit and cancenl my university application. I do not like 'trick' questions. Where there are more than one answer that is scientifically correct but the question is only referring to one scientists discovery. I dont really care who discovered what, no offense Darwin. I just want the scientific facts

创建者 Eleanor R W

Jul 19, 2017

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to take this wonderful course. It was laid out in a really interesting way; i very much enjoyed the focus on how plant senses were discovered - I never knew how prolific Darwin was in plant biology!

Awesome course, thank you for giving me access to it (and a certificate) for free. As soon as I get some more free time I hope to take the next course in the series.

创建者 Joakim N

Aug 08, 2019

In my case where im currently changing proffesion from a programmer into plants generally speaking, i find this easy to understand with short and consise lectures where only the important things are discussed. Professor Chamovitz doesn't randomly dive on a specific topic, which would cause confusion. I rarely comment on videos and courses but this one deserves all credit it can get.

创建者 Connie S

Mar 27, 2019

I really love the class. It taught me so much things about the plants surrounding us. It's like filling the hole of the terrible science education at my home town where most people could mix up spores and deadly insects and then throw their beautiful ferns into the rubbish bins. I wish my home town could also have a wonderful science class like this.