Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,411 个评分
418 条评论

课程概述

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

热门审阅

RV
Dec 12, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

A
Mar 3, 2020

A perfect course to understand all senses of plants in a straightforward way and I must admit the way professor Daniel chamovitz helped me to better acknowledge this course was satisfactory for me.

筛选依据:

101 - Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的 125 个评论(共 415 个)

创建者 Naomi E W

Dec 19, 2016

This was great for me as I am just starting to study biology. It put complicated concepts into accessible language and was a great way to ease myself into studying. I'm looking forward to starting part 2!

创建者 Brandy B

May 31, 2020

This class provided beneficial education in plant biology and botany. I thoroughly enjoyed the way the material was presented and the various levels of complexity that was taught. This was a great class!

创建者 Alejandra M M S

Apr 29, 2020

This course was beyond my expectations, it is amazing to understand what a plant sees, feels and how it grows. The proffesor is very good and the drawings are helpful to understand biology for everyone.

创建者 Chia C L

Sep 3, 2018

I did this course for pure curiosity. They may be some terms I find it hard to remember but the course content is interesting enough to keep me going.

Thank you, plants! Thank you professor! Well done!

创建者 Camila F D

Oct 26, 2020

O curso é ótimo e é possível apreender muita coisa. Para algumas pessoas com nível mais avançado de biologia e fisiologia vegetal o curso pode parecer introdutório, mas vale a pena fazer. Recomendo!

创建者 Dean P

Aug 29, 2018

One of the best courses I have ever watched online. Great choice, and really great teaching. Organized stuff, I wouldn't expect something less from an Israeli University professor. Great work!

创建者 Lilian L

Mar 21, 2017

This course is amazing. A very interresting way to undestand the "inteligence" in the adaptation of plants in the enviroment. Professor Daniel Chamovitz is very competent and funny and teach

创建者 Abdur R Y

Jun 27, 2020

Excellent course, with a terrific Teacher explaining the subject. Dr Shamovitz keeps you intrigued with the way he presents his knowledge. Looking forward to more courses conducted by him

创建者 Felix K

Sep 13, 2020

This course is excellent for someone who has minimal understanding about plants or a beginner. Very informative and knowledge densed course. Explained in the most concise way. Thanks!

创建者 José A H S

Jun 13, 2020

Excelente curso, me siento realmente fascinado. Sin duda alguna puedo decir que me ha cambiado la forma de ver las plantas, además de incrementar mi interés por la fisiología vegetal.

创建者 Ivan S

Sep 24, 2017

Very well explained. Professor put some serious effort in this lectures and it is really useful for everybody who is working with plants, or just enjoying them, to pass this course :)

创建者 Larissa D

Sep 18, 2019

I started this course with very little knowledge of biology and finished it with a solid foundation in plant biology. I'd recommend it to anybody wanting to learn more about plants.

创建者 Jon P

Nov 17, 2019

Daniel Chamovitz is a very good teacher, the material is a clearly presented. There is also a lot of discussion of experiments which underpin the ideas in the course in a nice way.

创建者 Victor Z

Feb 6, 2019

I really liked the clear and neat way the instructor explains every single point with a very natura aproach, the visual explanations and demonstrationswere great and so detaieled

创建者 Ruth R

Oct 20, 2017

This was a great course! I loved learning about plants which to be honest i knew very little before completing this course and now I am very well informed and want to know more.

创建者 Audrey P

Sep 17, 2017

Very complet! A bit difficult because there is not always french subtitle and it could be nice to translate the tests in different languages. Pr. Chamovitz is great interlocutor

创建者 Blanche M S

Nov 19, 2020

I loved this course. I learned so much: That l love science. That l love plants. That plants have much to teach me such as, about relationships and the love of life. Thank you.

创建者 Mariela E O

May 15, 2020

Very informative. As a recent grad in Environmental Science I found this course expanded my basic knowledge of plant biology and it is something I will be using in the future.

创建者 Bogdan A

Feb 3, 2017

Daniel is a great teacher and he can make complex things easier for understanding, and the course in general intrigues you to continue exploring the wonders of a 'plant world'

创建者 Luke R

Oct 18, 2020

Fantastic introduction to plant biology, senses, and genetics. Professor Chamowitz is entertaining and really good at breaking down complex concepts to understandable bits.

创建者 Рачковская А Н

May 11, 2020

Course was really interesting and helpful. I understood the teacher pretty well. I learn many new things,consolidated my knowledge. I plan attend the second part of course

创建者 Serdar K

Jan 28, 2021

Thank for all the lesson that improve my knowledge, this online course increased my learning wish and prove myself to be in right lecture. You are perfect Mr.

King Regards

创建者 Cassie B

Feb 4, 2020

the information presented is relatable and makes total sense-largely due to Proffessor Chamovitz' explanations. I thoroughly enjoyed this course, can't wait for part two!

创建者 perla l

Jul 27, 2020

The given topic in every part of lecture is so complex for a limited time but it is okay. Have to look for extended explanation in the internet to understand it further.

创建者 Rituparna G

Jul 13, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. Learned a lot of new things and was able to brush up quite certain things as well. Looking forward to continue the part II of this course