Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,173 个评分
341 条评论

课程概述

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

热门审阅

RV

Dec 13, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

A

Mar 04, 2020

A perfect course to understand all senses of plants in a straightforward way and I must admit the way professor Daniel chamovitz helped me to better acknowledge this course was satisfactory for me.

筛选依据:

126 - Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的 150 个评论(共 338 个)

创建者 Daniel M C

Jul 11, 2017

This is an informative and enjoyable course by a professor who is passionate about his work and who cares about the world around him.

创建者 Matthew R

Jan 11, 2018

Wonderful course - Dr. Chamovitz is an excellent teacher with extensive knowledge on the subject and an approachable teaching style.

创建者 Umar H

Dec 31, 2019

This course was just awesome and specially the professor is so cool and his method of teaching was so awesome really appreciated...

创建者 Jean C H R

Oct 23, 2019

Very enlightening, I definitely appreciate this intensively precise lesson. Thanks Thousand times, Tel Aviv university&Coursera.

创建者 Cynara F B

Oct 28, 2017

Excellent course! But it was not easy, I had to study a lot because my background was in civil engineering.

Thank you, professor!

创建者 Renata d O A

May 16, 2019

Love it and I'd recomend this course to people I know. Now I'm gonna do the second part.

Thank coursera and Professor Chamovitz

创建者 Andrés S

Aug 11, 2017

Really interestint course to discover and understand a lot of things on plants and their similarities or not to animals/humans.

创建者 Ashley J S

Mar 07, 2020

Really good course, better than I wa expecting. Professor was easy to understand and made the subject even more interesting.

创建者 Godineau E

Feb 26, 2017

A very interestinf course, well documented and explained by Dr. Chamowitz ! I highly recommend this course, I learnt a lot !

创建者 Ricardo M

May 01, 2020

Great course, really changed my view on how plants are affected by their environment and how they are able to react to it.

创建者 Dr. S B

Jul 10, 2020

I was really exited to learn the subject through the way he taught us. He really made us to understand the plant feelings

创建者 Silvia G

May 18, 2020

i highly recommend this great and interesting course!

The professor explains the arguments in a clear and stimulating way.

创建者 Craig F

Apr 30, 2018

This was an original and creative way of learning about plants! The instructor is enthusiastic and obviously an expert.

创建者 Jean P G

Jun 07, 2020

I am pleasantly impressed with the quality of this course, it gave me great knowledge and I really enjoyed the calsess

创建者 Tânia G M

Jan 07, 2018

It was a very interesting course and after finished it I really want to learn more and more about plants.

Thanks a lot!

创建者 ANJU C

Aug 04, 2020

This is one of the best course. The topic is very simple and no need worry about it. The presentation was superb....

创建者 Cotek T

Apr 30, 2020

One of the best courses I have ever undertaken. The knowledge and teaching style of prof. Chamovitz is awesome.

Thanks

创建者 Debasish P

May 06, 2018

I am very happy to complete this course. I am looking for more courses from Professor Dr. Daneil Chamovitz in future.

创建者 TEY W H

Aug 09, 2017

Great Lecturer and good content! plus it is really fun to hear and watch the videos. Thank you for making this course

创建者 Lucero H S

Nov 09, 2017

This is a great course! I loved it, in the final video I cried, tears of happiness, obviously!! Daniel is the best!

创建者 Janine A R

Jun 19, 2020

A very good course, love the videos and way the information is explained, I have learnt so much. thank you. Janine

创建者 Leticia X C R

Jun 07, 2020

I love this course. I learned a lot and it just opened my curiosity on plants even more. The lecturer is amazing.

创建者 HJ K

Jul 30, 2020

there was some question asking unlearned contents. But except that, perfect for me. be sure, It is for beginner.

创建者 Lino S

Jan 04, 2018

Very interesting, thought provoking and excellently delivered. Gives you the basic concepts to go learning more!

创建者 Xiao t

May 31, 2017

An interesting and engaging course :) I have learnt a few fun facts about plants after completing this course.