Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,325 个评分
391 条评论

课程概述

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

热门审阅

RV
Dec 12, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

A
Mar 3, 2020

A perfect course to understand all senses of plants in a straightforward way and I must admit the way professor Daniel chamovitz helped me to better acknowledge this course was satisfactory for me.

筛选依据:

76 - Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的 100 个评论(共 388 个)

创建者 ANUSHA. T K

May 23, 2020

Iam very happy to do this course. The clarity of the lectures are definitely the plus point of this course. Iam eagerly waiting to do the part 2 of this course. Thank you so much sir for made me more enthusiastic to learn more about the plants.

创建者 Davide A

Jun 11, 2020

I've loved the structure of the course. Discovering plant senses and at the same time interrogating about our senses. Chamovitz is very clear and was very easy to understand every single word he said. I'm going to attend the Part II asap!

创建者 CLAUDIO A P M

Sep 7, 2020

Recomiendo este curso de todas formas, el profesor Daniel Chamovitz es muy empatico y claro al enseñar, Aprendí ademas sobre muchas materias ademas de las mencionadas en la introducción , fue un verdadero agrado participar en este curso.

创建者 Kenan Y T

Oct 8, 2020

Prof. Chamovitz has a superb enthusiasm that motivates me to learn more. Additionaly, the course deeply enlarged my vision about plant sciences. I am excited to see the second part of this course. Thank you for making this available.

创建者 Marta A G

Apr 27, 2020

Lo recomiendo a todos los que estén interesado en fisiología vegetal o simplemente tengan curiosidad por saber cómo funcionan las plantas. Me ha parecido muy didáctico, bien documentado con experimentos y con ejemplos muy claros.

创建者 Betel L R

Dec 12, 2018

This course provides a wide range of knowledge on plants capability of the surrounding perception, functioning and responses. This course provides you with a guide for the things you'll have to learn to better understand plants.

创建者 Marium G

Mar 26, 2018

Feeling blessed on receiving lectures from Prof. Daniel Chamovitz sitting at home. This all happens due to Coursera that a person like me from a third world country is getting knowledge from top-notch researchers of the world.

创建者 Vishal L

May 27, 2020

I enjoyed this course. This course tells about hidden side of plant which we don't studied in our regular classes. Also one thing which I liked is, they have given lot of experiments to explain particular hypothesis or fact.

创建者 Eric H

Jun 22, 2018

An extremely stimulating and worthwhile course. Very clear and well-illustrated lectures; when this course is accompanied by Part II about plant biology, the two courses lead to greater insight into botany and agriculture.

创建者 Jonathan Z

May 1, 2018

The course was advanced level biology from a non-biology educated students perspective, but provided a wealth of information and understanding of plants for anyone willing to put forth the efforts to complete this course!

创建者 Beatriz G V

May 19, 2020

I enjoy this course very much! It was a very pleasant way to spend my weeks. Thank you, professor Daniel Chamovitz! I already love plants, but you make me even more interested in learn more about this amazing organisms.

创建者 Agustin D

Feb 26, 2020

I found this course an amazing opportunity to understand in a better way how plants interact with their environment. It was also very interesting to understand many plant functions from the cell structure and receptors.

创建者 Richard S

Jul 18, 2017

One of the most fulfilling courses I've taken in awhile. Had some really interesting facts about plants. Also, the teaching style of the instructor was GREAT! Something about the way he taught draws your attention.

创建者 Adrian N A

Jun 26, 2020

Super interesting course about plant senses. This gave so much interesting knowledge about plants and how they behave, and why they behave. Daniel is a wonderful teacher & i had such a great time doing this course.

创建者 Hari K K

Apr 13, 2020

This course is absolutely great!!! I enjoyed this course a lot. I am a student from Computer Science background with less knowledge in Plant Biology. Prof. Daniel made my learning cakewalk. Hats off to him!!!!

创建者 Fernando J d S

Oct 28, 2017

Congratulations, professor Daniel Chamovitz. I liked very much this course. I'm teaching biodesign in the course here in Belo Horizonte, Brazil, in the university, and I'll use this informations. Best Regards.

创建者 Vasseur B

Mar 7, 2020

Excellent class,

Professor Daniel Chamovitz teach plant biology with a very interesting approach of the subject. I definitely advise this class to anyone interested in beginning learning about the subject

创建者 Naomi E W

Dec 19, 2016

This was great for me as I am just starting to study biology. It put complicated concepts into accessible language and was a great way to ease myself into studying. I'm looking forward to starting part 2!

创建者 Brandy B

May 31, 2020

This class provided beneficial education in plant biology and botany. I thoroughly enjoyed the way the material was presented and the various levels of complexity that was taught. This was a great class!

创建者 Alejandra M M S

Apr 29, 2020

This course was beyond my expectations, it is amazing to understand what a plant sees, feels and how it grows. The proffesor is very good and the drawings are helpful to understand biology for everyone.

创建者 Chia C L

Sep 2, 2018

I did this course for pure curiosity. They may be some terms I find it hard to remember but the course content is interesting enough to keep me going.

Thank you, plants! Thank you professor! Well done!

创建者 Camila F D

Oct 26, 2020

O curso é ótimo e é possível apreender muita coisa. Para algumas pessoas com nível mais avançado de biologia e fisiologia vegetal o curso pode parecer introdutório, mas vale a pena fazer. Recomendo!

创建者 Dean P

Aug 29, 2018

One of the best courses I have ever watched online. Great choice, and really great teaching. Organized stuff, I wouldn't expect something less from an Israeli University professor. Great work!

创建者 Lilian L

Mar 21, 2017

This course is amazing. A very interresting way to undestand the "inteligence" in the adaptation of plants in the enviroment. Professor Daniel Chamovitz is very competent and funny and teach

创建者 Abdur R Y

Jun 27, 2020

Excellent course, with a terrific Teacher explaining the subject. Dr Shamovitz keeps you intrigued with the way he presents his knowledge. Looking forward to more courses conducted by him