Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,224 个评分
358 条评论

课程概述

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

热门审阅

RV

Dec 13, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

A

Mar 04, 2020

A perfect course to understand all senses of plants in a straightforward way and I must admit the way professor Daniel chamovitz helped me to better acknowledge this course was satisfactory for me.

筛选依据:

101 - Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的 125 个评论(共 355 个)

创建者 Mariela E O

May 15, 2020

Very informative. As a recent grad in Environmental Science I found this course expanded my basic knowledge of plant biology and it is something I will be using in the future.

创建者 Bogdan A

Feb 03, 2017

Daniel is a great teacher and he can make complex things easier for understanding, and the course in general intrigues you to continue exploring the wonders of a 'plant world'

创建者 Luke R

Oct 18, 2020

Fantastic introduction to plant biology, senses, and genetics. Professor Chamowitz is entertaining and really good at breaking down complex concepts to understandable bits.

创建者 Рачковская А Н

May 11, 2020

Course was really interesting and helpful. I understood the teacher pretty well. I learn many new things,consolidated my knowledge. I plan attend the second part of course

创建者 Cassie B

Feb 04, 2020

the information presented is relatable and makes total sense-largely due to Proffessor Chamovitz' explanations. I thoroughly enjoyed this course, can't wait for part two!

创建者 Perla T L

Jul 27, 2020

The given topic in every part of lecture is so complex for a limited time but it is okay. Have to look for extended explanation in the internet to understand it further.

创建者 Rituparna G

Jul 13, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. Learned a lot of new things and was able to brush up quite certain things as well. Looking forward to continue the part II of this course

创建者 ABHINAND.V

Oct 29, 2020

Very helpful and really interesting classes. It also provides more basic information about the plant world.

Now I am really more and more excited about Plant science.

创建者 Izumi S

Aug 29, 2019

It was very good and I studied many thing. I want to study more thing with this.

I think plants are very interesting and it is very uesful.

It made us rich and happy.

创建者 Juan C P J

Jun 27, 2020

Me encantó, realmente siempre quise saber esto y me ayudo mucho en lo concierne a mi carrera.

I loved this course. Thanks a lot. I hope can take this course again.

创建者 Iván A N B

Mar 01, 2018

Es un curso excelente impartido por un profesor que es excepcionalmente profesional y que se nota que ama las plantas, excelente curso acerca de las plantas.

创建者 Azhaamirul W

Jul 02, 2020

Overall I was able to understand the lecture. It was fun to see the lecturer showed his lab and introduced some of his students conducting cool experiments.

创建者 Paulina A O d Z

May 16, 2019

This is a GREAT course! I learned a lot! The only thing I would suggest is to take the "Part II" first, because the "Part I" is more advanced and difficult.

创建者 Edimilson J D O

Jun 06, 2017

I loved the course, Prof. Chamovitz is very didactic making the content of the course easily assimilable even for those who are not from the botanic area.

创建者 Filipp

Feb 21, 2017

Great course! Prof. Danny Chamovitz is a very good teacher and I feel that now I know much more about plant and life in general. Thank you for the course.

创建者 Margaret ( M M

Jun 25, 2020

The most fascinating course I've done so far with Coursera. Great depth and detail about how plants do everything they do and many intriguing surprises.

创建者 Lucas M M

Mar 12, 2019

Awesome course! The teacher is really nice and gives a good comprehension of what a plant knows and how scientists develop their hypothesis and results.

创建者 John N

Sep 06, 2017

Amazing course, explaining plant evolution on molecular biology level, showing differences and similarities with animal kingdom with amazing clarity.

创建者 Michael K

Jul 20, 2020

Very accessible, great reading lists, sufficiently taxing (I still haven't worked out the answers to some of the final quiz!) Thanks & Best Regards!

创建者 Dylan L

Mar 06, 2019

love it so far. Its informative and fits my schedule. i love that i can watch the videos as much as needed to learn, and that doesnt put anyone out.

创建者 Yarin

Dec 12, 2016

I think the tests were a bit difficult and the fact that many students taking this course aren't native speakers should be taken into consideration.

创建者 Ou A

Oct 25, 2020

Interesting and vivid course to get deep knowledge of plant biology. Really thankful to the lecturer Professor Daniel Chamovitz from Tel Aviv Univ.

创建者 Mohamed A

Jul 26, 2017

This is a great introductory course to Plant Genetics! Be sure to take notes so that you can easily answer the final quiz by the end of the course

创建者 Royston M

Aug 02, 2020

I am extremely happy that I came to know lots of details on understanding plants. I thank the Coursera community for availing this course online.

创建者 Jie W

Dec 28, 2018

I really like this course. I never thought plant science could be so interesting to learn. Moreover, it could help with my furture research work