Chevron Left
返回到 推论和劝说:通过柏拉图的三次对话进行思考

学生对 新加坡国立大学 提供的 推论和劝说:通过柏拉图的三次对话进行思考 的评价和反馈

4.6
217 个评分
65 条评论

课程概述

In this course we study the ancient, Socratic art of blowing up your beliefs as you go, to make sure they're built to last. We spend six weeks studying three Platonic dialogues - "Euthyphro", "Meno", "Republic" Book I - then two weeks pondering a pair of footnotes to Plato: contemporary moral theory and moral psychology. Platonic? Socratic? Socrates was the teacher, but he said he never did. Plato was the student who put words in his teacher's mouth. You'll get a feel for it. We have a book: the new 4th edition of "Reason and Persuasion", by the instructor (and his wife, Belle Waring, the translator.) It contains the Plato you need, plus introductory material and in-depth, chapter-length commentaries. (Don't worry! John Holbo knows better than to read his book to the camera. The videos cover the same material, but the presentation is different.) The book is offered free in PDF form - the whole thing, and individual chapter slices. It is also available in print and other e-editions. See the course content for links and information. The course is suitable for beginning students of Plato and philosophy, but is intended to offer something to more advanced students as well. We seek new, odd angles on old, basic angles. Tricky! The strategy is to make a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary approach. Lots of contemporary connections, to make the weird bits intuitive; plus plenty of ancient color, still bright after all these years. So: arguments and ideas, new possibilities, old stories, fun facts. Plus cartoons. The results can get elaborate (some book chapters and some lesson videos run long.) But each video comes with a brief summary of its contents. The lessons progress. I put them in this order for reasons. But there's no reason you can't skip over and around to find whatever seems most interesting. There are any number of self-contained mini-courses contained in this 8-week course. You are welcome to them. Plato has meant different things to different people. He's got his own ideas, no doubt. (Also, his own Ideas.) But these have, over the centuries, been worn into crossing paths for other feet; been built up into new platforms for projecting other voices. (Plato did it to Socrates, so fair is fair.) So your learning outcome should be: arrival somewhere interesting, in your head, where you haven't been before. I wouldn't presume to dictate more exactly....

热门审阅

SS

Feb 03, 2017

Very interesting. The questions were rather challenging. The book clarifies a lot, and porf. Holbroke has a nice way of teaching. The videos were rather enticing and very informative.

JR

Oct 28, 2016

I wish the course was longer! The Professor did a fantastic job of making the content fascinating and engaging. Please please please make another MOOC!

筛选依据:

26 - 推论和劝说:通过柏拉图的三次对话进行思考 的 50 个评论(共 64 个)

创建者 Adam M

Aug 31, 2016

Professor Holbo is simply a fantastic lecturer. I hope he produces more courses for Coursera.

创建者 yana

Dec 05, 2016

Engaging and interesting course from the coolest professor you'll ever have.

创建者 Daniel S

Jan 31, 2018

Outstanding professor, brings Philosophy to life ... really enjoyed it

创建者 Mark A S

Jun 02, 2020

One of the best courses I've ever taken, period.

Mark Stephens

MBA

创建者 MARK P

Jan 31, 2020

Much to interest and well explained in an entertaining mannner.

创建者 Tarek H

May 17, 2016

Exceptionally interesting. Love professor Holbo! Thank you.

创建者 Yael H

Jun 14, 2017

Wonderful, funny, thought provoking, rich, and very clear

创建者 Joerg P

Mar 13, 2019

Cool lecture, I thorough enjoyed it and recommend it

创建者 Nhat L

Sep 26, 2017

Highly recommend to study. Very informative course

创建者 nasser e

May 22, 2017

Very good course and an exceptional instructor

创建者 Nicholas H

Nov 30, 2018

thoroughly enjoyable and enlightening

创建者 Clive D

Aug 16, 2017

Very good and interesting course.

创建者 Subrahmanyan M

Feb 24, 2018

Well designed

simplified course

创建者 Michael E

Jun 11, 2016

Lecturer is actually socrates

创建者 rosario r c

Nov 18, 2019

Very interesting. Thank you.

创建者 Tim B

Apr 01, 2020

learned a lot abouit Plato

创建者 Lucy

Feb 13, 2016

Extremely funny and witty.

创建者 kobie l

May 07, 2017

Teaches how to think

创建者 Roberto R

Aug 16, 2017

wonderfuff, thanks

创建者 Kleber L d S

May 20, 2020

Ótimo.

创建者 Pallapothu V S

May 31, 2020

Nice

创建者 Wes D S

Mar 13, 2017

Lot to learn about Plato, same with the other course I'm taking On Plato which was great. I wish the instructor, no offense, taught more and told jokes less. I get what he was trying to do I think, but it made it seem like the vids were for starters and then you had hard tests that he didn't prepare you for in the videos. Much easier that I had already read much of Plato and then could read the excerpts for the test or I would have had a real difficult time getting through this course. It was difficult because you had to do a lot of the reading and sometimes it wasn't clear what answers where expected from the reading, perhaps my reading comprehension isn't as good as it should be. It was still a good challenging course though. I could respectfully disagree with how the material was presented though. Hopefully I can find time to join forums and get more out of it as I've finished the class before the class has officially started.

创建者 Charles A M

Nov 22, 2016

I was blown away by Professor Holbo's content, use of the Coursera tools, and the fusion of Plato' s and more modern thinkers' philosophies. For the course itself, I would give more than five stars if it could. I gave 4 stars because it was very difficult to engage in a substantial discussion concerning the concepts.

I hope to have the opportunity to take other courses created by Professor Holbo in the future.

创建者 Wendie K

Sep 16, 2016

John Holbo is a very good narrator, I liked his book and videos very much. He made it more easy to get through the material, which sometimes is challenging (especially if english is not your native tongue)

创建者 ANDRES R P D

Feb 08, 2018

Original technique for teaching and deep capacity to search, find and expose essence of such complex matter as are this Dialogues By Plato. Funny lecture stile without loosing academy rigor.