Chevron Left
返回到 Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,314 个评分
397 条评论

课程概述

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

热门审阅

AA
Apr 18, 2020

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

MD
Jan 16, 2021

This was my first online course. In a crazy year, the flexibiilty to reset deadlines was much appreciated. I enjoyed the grading system, especially when your peers are from all around the world.

筛选依据:

151 - Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors 的 175 个评论(共 392 个)

创建者 Caroline S d A

May 22, 2020

It was better than I expected. I've learned so much in these weeks and in a very simple way. Thanks Coursera!

创建者 Rabeet T

Jul 9, 2020

Great Explanations! This course really helped me to start reading the original works of ancient philosophers

创建者 Patrick K

Jun 9, 2017

Very enjoyable overview of PreSocratic thought and how it pertains to Plato's own works. Highly recommended!

创建者 Diane N

Mar 6, 2016

Great course for the introduction of Socrates and all of the other great Philosophers, I enjoyed this class.

创建者 Beatriz m d

Jul 14, 2021

Ha sido un curso excelente.No puedo hacer los pares por que no hablo inglés,todo el curso está completado.

创建者 Steven B

Jul 20, 2020

Interesting, but not too involved. One can get through the weeks material in a reasonable amount of time.

创建者 Chew R

Jan 14, 2019

Delivery of course is very clear and concise and had a very enjoyable and insightful learning experience.

创建者 Hila J

Jul 26, 2021

had so much fun learning with the professor and I feel like I've learned a lot. Great job and thank you!

创建者 Benson H

Aug 2, 2018

Beautifully organized, crystal clear, this is a phenomenal introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato.

创建者 Andrea V

Dec 18, 2017

Excelente curso. Solo queda agregar la traducción en español y poder bajar las lecciones en pdf o html.

创建者 Ferlin P

Feb 19, 2016

This course does a great job at supplementing my University studies. Really high quality intro content.

创建者 Megan R

Apr 13, 2020

A great introduction of ancient philosophies. I like the instructor's explanations and lecture style.

创建者 José A G R

Sep 15, 2017

very helpfull and atractive course, lots of information and access to material to help understand it.

创建者 Alejandra T

May 19, 2020

Me encanto ya que comprendí cada tema y la manera de enseñanza es muy entendible para muchos gracias

创建者 Areaba S

May 17, 2020

It was a wonderful journey of 4 weeks of learning.

Thanks to the Greek legends and Professor Susan.

创建者 Yifei W

Aug 18, 2019

Really love this course! Very comprehensive coverage of Plato's theories and significant works. :)

创建者 Oscar D

Jan 18, 2018

Beautiful course. It made me inquire about things like I never did before. I enjoyed It very much.

创建者 Mandhir S

Mar 22, 2021

Very nicely done by the Instructor. Just the correct amount of rigor for an introductory course.

创建者 Sajid K

Jun 17, 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course! Loved the way the instructor explained complex ideas simply.

创建者 Monica B

Jun 1, 2020

I have learned a lot about Plato and the philosophers who came before him. Thank you very much!

创建者 Eduardo S P

Mar 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, the topics were fascinating and the explanations were very clear.

创建者 Stephen B

Dec 4, 2020

The thoughtful and meticulous videos provided significant insight into the reading materials.

创建者 marc g

Apr 14, 2020

Very comprehensive yet digestible! I never felt bored and always thought that I was learning.

创建者 Fogan A

Apr 6, 2020

A very good course that I really enjoy! thanks Coursera & Team and University of Pennsylvania

创建者 George C M

Mar 24, 2016

Well structured course that gives an excellent background to the basis of ancient philosophy.