Chevron Left
返回到 Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,121 个评分
324 条评论

课程概述

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

热门审阅

AA

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

筛选依据:

251 - Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors 的 275 个评论(共 320 个)

创建者 Matías I V N

Jun 29, 2019

good choise

创建者 Nancy M

Apr 18, 2019

outstanding

创建者 christophe v d

Apr 02, 2016

excellent !

创建者 Anália L S d M

Apr 22, 2020

EXCELLENT!

创建者 Juan S G P

Sep 19, 2018

Excellent!

创建者 Paccelli J M Z

May 04, 2017

Excellent!

创建者 Laís L

Jan 19, 2017

Excelente!

创建者 王雨嘉

Jul 10, 2016

Wonderful.

创建者 Abdulaziz S B

Dec 13, 2019

Excellent

创建者 Charlotta S R

Jun 10, 2016

Loved it!

创建者 Achilleas F

Jun 03, 2020

Amazing

创建者 Muna A

Apr 23, 2019

Thanks

创建者 Ramiro V

Aug 24, 2018

Great!

创建者 Lydia S

Feb 24, 2017

Great.

创建者 Yuval S

Oct 22, 2016

Great.

创建者 Samir M

Aug 03, 2016

Great!

创建者 ehab a o

Jan 03, 2019

great

创建者 许俊炜

Jul 30, 2016

好课!爽!

创建者 Sergio A C

Nov 20, 2016

good

创建者 魏震

Jun 07, 2016

Neat

创建者 David F J N

Feb 18, 2016

D.T.

创建者 Harry M

Jul 25, 2020

Well organized and I really enjoyed this course; I took both this course and the follow up course on Aristotle. Both were excellent. However, for some unexplained reason, I thought the professor's course on Aristotle was more interesting (hence I cage it five stars) while I thought that this course was slightly confusing in terms of the quizzes and prompts. Having said that, this course is definitely worth your time and effort. My approach was to read the lecture first while taking notes and then listen to the lecture and fill in the blanks. The readings make much more sense AFTER reading/listening to the lecture than before. Just my take on how I 'studied' for the quizzes, etc. Enjoy, it's worth the effort.

创建者 Joseph G

Jun 08, 2018

I really enjoyed this course and learned so much from it. However the professor's monotone voice is reminiscent of too many professors I have had over the years that put me to sleep. I found it difficult to pay attention at times because of this even though I was very interested in the subject matter. She seems very knowledgeable about the subject, so perhaps taking a public speaking course would prove beneficial. Other than that I loved the course and am excited to take part two starting in a few days!

创建者 Wajahat R B

Nov 15, 2019

The biggest strength of this course is that it makes one read the ancient texts, thus giving a direct exposure to the ideas of some great thinkers. Alongside, it also gives some idea of Greek history and culture. I think the difficulty level should have been a bit higher. The quizzes are way too simple to assess the interest of the student. Dr. Meyer teaches in a simple and easy-to-understand manner. I'll certainly take the second course in this series. An amazing experience overall!