Chevron Left
返回到 Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,128 个评分
330 条评论

课程概述

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

热门审阅

AA

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

筛选依据:

76 - Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors 的 100 个评论(共 323 个)

创建者 ivan l a

Jun 09, 2020

I loved the course. Excelent teacher and materials. Motivate to continue studying philosophy.

Me gusto mucho el curso. Excelente la profesora y los materiales. Motiva seguir estudiando filosofía.

创建者 Yashika

Apr 02, 2019

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

创建者 Matthew A

Oct 19, 2019

Well taught and a very reasonable course load. Though I've studied some of the writings from this period, the class provided good structure and new insights, especially on the pre-Socratics.

创建者 Alberto H

Mar 17, 2016

Highly recommended. This course was a great guide to understand to pre socratic philosophers. Professor Susan Sauvé Meyer is very clear in her explanations. Thanks a lot. I enjoy the course.

创建者 Bruna F P

Jul 26, 2020

I absolutely loved the whole experience available in this course! I've learned a lot, and I'm already beginning the second part! Great professor, thanks to all involved in the project!

创建者 hezil k

Sep 28, 2017

wow i have enjoyed every single moment with the teacher , she was incredibly awesome and she had a way of explaining that made me really appreciating the whole topic and the course ♥

创建者 Ademilton J D O

Jul 16, 2019

Para mim foi muito bom pois me deu oportunidade de estudar essa ciencia da qual eu amo muito que é a Filosofia muito obrigado e quando eu estiver com tempo quero pode fazer outros.

创建者 Javier

Feb 15, 2019

This is a brilliant course. Professionally designed and very well structured. I have enjoyed it thoroughly and more importantly I have learnt significantly. I highly recommen

创建者 Alison O

Oct 28, 2018

Although I do not have the time (or inclination, I guess) to write answers to the provocative questions, I found the lectures and the reading material fascinating. Thank you!

创建者 Naorem L C

May 16, 2020

Its short duration course but so much new knowledge and conceptual. Really like the way of Socrates quesionning and moreover their analysis arguement is whole new best ever.

创建者 David Y

Jun 03, 2017

Insightful and informative course. Prof Meyer has managed to break down difficult concepts into simple, bite-sized knowledge for any lay person to understand effectively.

创建者 François S

Aug 25, 2017

Good, interesting introduction to the cosmology and ethics of Plato and presocratic thinkers. The reading material is good and the lectures are pleasant and interesting!

创建者 Camilo A G R

Feb 28, 2016

The course give us an excellent understanding of Ancient philosophers's thoughts with clear explanations and all this is made with an extraodinary order and conciseness.

创建者 Dimitris S

Jan 18, 2019

Absolutely marvelous Dr Meyer proved that philosophy is not a task for idle thinkers but the mean to face everyday practises under the right perspective and hierarchy.

创建者 Akhilesh S

Mar 12, 2018

If you love Philosophy and antiquity, this is the course for you. It lays down a foundation of Western philosophy, parts of which are still so relevant in the society.

创建者 skuiy

Jan 05, 2020

Thank a lot to the teacher . I felt very lucky to have the oportunity to learn so much about this subject . This course makes me think , learn and improve my english.

创建者 Leo B

Aug 29, 2019

A clear and thorough introduction by Susan Meyer. I have enough information as a result to know how little information I have, and look forward to taking Part II!

创建者 Jairo G P

Nov 02, 2018

Adorei. Para mim, que sou brasileiro, as legendas em espanhol ajudaram muito. Conteúdo conciso e claro, abordando questões fundamentais sobre a matéria. Muito bom!

创建者 IOANNA L

Jun 25, 2020

I think that this course is very useful, it helped me to understand better several issues related to the basic beliefs of the presocratic philosophers and Plato.

创建者 Eduardo A D

Jun 24, 2020

I strongly recommend this course. It's A life changer! Ms. Meyer is a great Professor, and a wise person, she was able to create on me the hunger for knowledge.

创建者 Marquitta F

May 26, 2020

I really enjoyed this class. It was definitely challenging and took the time that was recommended. Though confusing at times I learned a lot from this class.

创建者 Bill D

Jun 30, 2018

Great Course, wonderful professor—highly recommend and I will be jumping on the second part of the this course soonest. Thank you for putting this togehter,.

创建者 Marcela C

Jan 30, 2019

Great teacher, it really captures the essence of the ancient philosophers and teaches you the general views in their different philosophical perspectives.

创建者 Kate G

Sep 25, 2017

This course was written wonderfully, the lectures are clear & detailed - the curriculum is cohesive, sensible, and useful. Really great course & teacher.

创建者 José P d F J

Apr 17, 2020

Dear,

I need that you correct my name in the certificate. I'm José Petrúcio de Farias Junior and no 'Farias Junior'. Please I wait for this. Thank you