Chevron Left
返回到 Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods 的评价和反馈

4.3
968 个评分
295 条评论

课程概述

Learners discover how apply to research methods to their study of Positive Psychology. In this course, we study with Dr. Angela Duckworth and Dr. Claire Robertson-Kraft. Through an exploration their work "True Grit" and interviews with researchers and practitioners, you develop a research hypothesis and learn how to understand the difference between internal and external validity. You also begin to understand and apply the strengths and weaknesses associated with different types of measurements and evaluation designs. You then interpret the results in an empirical study. Suggested prerequisites: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science and Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions....

热门审阅

RW
Dec 27, 2019

Though i have nightmares of research design from my undergraduate career, this puts a neat spin on it and reminds the sheer importance of it. Thanks for the reminder of what is important UPENN!

MW
Oct 23, 2020

It was a wonderful class! While I was expecting something different than learning about research and how to read research papers, that is my fault for putting my expectations on the class.

筛选依据:

151 - Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods 的 175 个评论(共 292 个)

创建者 David J G

Mar 11, 2019

Yet another excellent class!

创建者 Preston M

Oct 22, 2017

Difficult, but worthwhile.

创建者 Lei L

Jul 10, 2019

A GOOD AND HELPFUL COURSE

创建者 Arek S

Mar 12, 2019

You guys are great!

创建者 Pleasance

Sep 11, 2018

Love these courses!

创建者 haiyan w

Dec 3, 2019

I love the course!

创建者 Deleted A

Jan 5, 2018

Excellent course!!

创建者 Caroline D

Nov 28, 2020

Excellent course!

创建者 Alessandro G

Sep 25, 2019

only one word WOW

创建者 Kim Y B

Jul 13, 2018

Very challenging.

创建者 Linsey A

Nov 5, 2017

Excellent course!

创建者 Ahsan U

Jul 4, 2020

Very Nice course

创建者 juan o

Sep 9, 2021

Excelente curso

创建者 Nelly M C S

Jul 1, 2019

Excelente curso

创建者 JUSTIN C N

Sep 9, 2017

its nice course

创建者 paola t

Jun 4, 2020

It is awsome,

创建者 Nhat Q L

Mar 5, 2019

Great course!

创建者 Ken D

Jan 7, 2019

Outstanding!!

创建者 Joshua K J

May 27, 2021

Awesome Lsdd

创建者 Mabel T

Aug 25, 2017

Great course

创建者 nursul1@rambler.ru

Jan 29, 2019

Thank you

创建者 Mirsad A

May 17, 2019

Perfect!

创建者 Srihari

Sep 22, 2017

b

创建者 Shiuan L

Jun 29, 2021

I​ think this course is a good inclusion in the Specialization in Positive Psychology program. As a former grad student, I recognize the importance of being an educated consumer of research, and even as a practitioner, this is necessary training. This course is much more demanding than all the other courses in the specialization, so one should be prepared to take lots of notes and rewatch some lectures. The material is dense and I think the instructors already have done a pretty good job of trying to pack so much material into such a short course. That being said, there are some design flaws with the course, including the assignment scoring rubric in week 3 (I've put in a note to the forum and hopefully that will get fixed). The practitioner interviews are thoughtful but without a good grasp of the basics, it may seem like filler or kind of confusing. The other lectures are very dense. Although it was just right for me who already has a research background, I can imagine it being frustrating to understand for someone who hasn't had any type of research design training or whose native language isn't English. I recommend this course only in context of the positive psychology specialization.

创建者 Jessica C

Jan 6, 2018

Truly, I would characterize this as more than a 4-star experience. My only reservation from a full-on 5 is that many of the activities required more of a research design/research science mindset than I was really prepared for given my interest in taking the course and specialization in positive psychology. I appreciate very much how highly valued understanding research methods was presented. Being able to apply that knowledge in the specific peer-reviewed activities was less useful to me though. Specifically, the rubric's associated for grading required a higher level of methodology than I felt warranted in my circumstances. My choice was either to imagine/conceptualize a study that I actually had no intention of ever seeing through (and to a degree of specificity that far exceeded what I would really consider for a hypothetical scenario), or to put forward more personally relevant application but which I knew did not fully connect to the scoring system. That said: loved loved loved the videos, lectures, and practitioner testimonials. The readings were rigorous but very relevant and interesting.