Chevron Left
返回到 Probabilistic Graphical Models 1: Representation

学生对 斯坦福大学 提供的 Probabilistic Graphical Models 1: Representation 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,378 个评分
307 条评论

课程概述

Probabilistic graphical models (PGMs) are a rich framework for encoding probability distributions over complex domains: joint (multivariate) distributions over large numbers of random variables that interact with each other. These representations sit at the intersection of statistics and computer science, relying on concepts from probability theory, graph algorithms, machine learning, and more. They are the basis for the state-of-the-art methods in a wide variety of applications, such as medical diagnosis, image understanding, speech recognition, natural language processing, and many, many more. They are also a foundational tool in formulating many machine learning problems. This course is the first in a sequence of three. It describes the two basic PGM representations: Bayesian Networks, which rely on a directed graph; and Markov networks, which use an undirected graph. The course discusses both the theoretical properties of these representations as well as their use in practice. The (highly recommended) honors track contains several hands-on assignments on how to represent some real-world problems. The course also presents some important extensions beyond the basic PGM representation, which allow more complex models to be encoded compactly....

热门审阅

ST

Jul 12, 2017

Prof. Koller did a great job communicating difficult material in an accessible manner. Thanks to her for starting Coursera and offering this advanced course so that we can all learn...Kudos!!

CM

Oct 22, 2017

The course was deep, and well-taught. This is not a spoon-feeding course like some others. The only downside were some "mechanical" problems (e.g. code submission didn't work for me).

筛选依据:

251 - Probabilistic Graphical Models 1: Representation 的 275 个评论(共 300 个)

创建者 Andres P N

Jun 27, 2018

There are many error in the implementations for octave. Aside from that, the course is fine

创建者 Ahmad E

Aug 20, 2017

Covers some material a little too quickly, but overall a good and entertaining course.

创建者 Soteris S

Nov 27, 2017

A bit more challenging than I thought but very useful, and very well structured

创建者 mathieu.zaradzki@gmail.com

Oct 4, 2016

Great and well paced content.

Quizzes really helps nailing the tricky points.

创建者 Caio A M M

Dec 2, 2016

Instructor is engaging in her delivery. Topic is interesting but difficult.

创建者 Michael B

Dec 12, 2019

Honors seems like a must to full instill concepts/implementation

创建者 Anshuman S

May 7, 2019

I would recommend adding some supplemental reading material.

创建者 Jhonatan d S O

May 25, 2017

Rich content and useful tools for applying in real problems

创建者 Vahan A

May 31, 2020

Please, provide programming assignments on Python or C++

创建者 Alberto C

Dec 1, 2017

Theory: Very interesting. Assignments: not so useful.

创建者 Yuanduo H

Jan 19, 2020

Five stars minus the week 4 coding homework

创建者 Arthur

Jan 8, 2017

More feedback from TA would be appreciated

创建者 Ian M C

Dec 26, 2018

Writing on the ppt is not clear to see.

创建者 Soumyadipta D

Jul 16, 2019

lectures are too fast otherwise great

创建者 sunsik k

Jul 31, 2018

Broad introduction to general issues

创建者 Tianyi X

Feb 20, 2018

Lack of top-down review of the PGM.

创建者 Sunil

Sep 12, 2017

Great intro to probabilistic models

创建者 Nikesh B

Nov 6, 2016

Excellent

创建者 Tianqi Y

Jun 19, 2019

too hard

创建者 Yashwanth M

Jan 5, 2020

Good

创建者 Ricardo A M C

Jan 9, 2021

ok

创建者 Paul C

Oct 31, 2016

I found plenty of useful information in this course overall but lectures often spent too much time dwelling on the detail of simpler concepts while more complex areas, and sometimes critical information that was later built upon, were only touched briefly or sometimes skipped entirely. I missed a sense of continuity as we skipped from model to model with a minimum of time spent on how the models complement each other and their relative strengths and weaknesses in application.

The way data structures were defined in the code was particularly difficult to deal with. The coding exercises all suffered as a result. It ended up taking way too much time to figure how to decode the data and trace logic around it. This meant that grasping concepts and learning from the questions came in a distant second priority to debugging.

Dr Koller mentioned that the material is aimed at postgraduates. I felt that the level of content covered here would just as easily be grasped by most undergraduates in technical disciplines if it had been delivered in a more structured manner with clearer progression across models (conceptually and mathematically) and better code examples. When delivering in this format, allowances need to be made for the facts that tutorial sessions do not exist and the possibilities for informal Q&A are limited so any gaps become very difficult for students to fill in themselves.

Despite the above shortcomings I'm glad I did the course and I would still recommend it to someone interested in graphical models as it does cover the basics well enough to make a decent start. I'm not sure whether or not I'd recommend the programming exercises as they are a significant time sink but at the same time, without spending time attacking the programming problems the concepts are not likely to gel based on the video and quizzes alone.

创建者 Nicholas E

Oct 29, 2016

The course was very interesting and thought-provoking. I found the introduction to probabilistic graphical models (PGMs) and their properties struck a nice balance between intuition and formalism. The discussions highlighted exciting aspects of their power in simplifying complex problems involving uncertainty. However, I still do not feel I could propose convincing PGMs for real-world problems. There are examples in the course, but they are far removed from being concrete applications. I would have preferred there be an in depth analysis of an application of PGMs in the literature over the lengthy programming assignments. I am an experienced programmer with over 5 years of experience in many languages including MATLAB/Octave and I sometimes found it uninspiring to solve toy problems, not due to the difficulty in using the programming language, but rather because after the assignment had been completed I felt I had not really learnt much more than I would have from just watching the lectures, although, if you are interested in getting experience with MATLAB/Octave, the programming assignments are good practice. I qualify this in stating that I have not yet completed the next two courses on PGMs; this course may present an essential foundation that is necessary for the upcoming courses, and in any case provoked my interest in learning more about them

创建者 Mahendra K

Oct 4, 2017

The course is highly theoretical. Would have been great if it was paced well and driven from real world examples. I am not saying that there are no examples. But it'd have been better if the concepts were driven via some real world examples instead of first talking about the concept and then its applications.

What would have been even better if Python was an option for PAs. Octave can't be used in industry setting where the amount of data is really large. Both Python and Octave should have been an option so that the student can decide for themself.

创建者 John E M

Mar 31, 2018

Lectures were OK and quizzes and exams appropriately difficult. But Labs were pretty difficult especially lab 4 which I ended up surrendering on. This means I didn't do the accompanying quiz and gave up on the possibility of honors recognition as well.

While labs don't have to be as hand-holding as the DeepLearning class by Coursera, it would be nice to get more help and maybe not submit errors for the parts I haven't tackled yet when submitting (as DeepLearning and MachineLearning courses figured out how to do).