Chevron Left
返回到 Probabilistic Graphical Models 1: Representation

学生对 斯坦福大学 提供的 Probabilistic Graphical Models 1: Representation 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,358 个评分
302 条评论

课程概述

Probabilistic graphical models (PGMs) are a rich framework for encoding probability distributions over complex domains: joint (multivariate) distributions over large numbers of random variables that interact with each other. These representations sit at the intersection of statistics and computer science, relying on concepts from probability theory, graph algorithms, machine learning, and more. They are the basis for the state-of-the-art methods in a wide variety of applications, such as medical diagnosis, image understanding, speech recognition, natural language processing, and many, many more. They are also a foundational tool in formulating many machine learning problems. This course is the first in a sequence of three. It describes the two basic PGM representations: Bayesian Networks, which rely on a directed graph; and Markov networks, which use an undirected graph. The course discusses both the theoretical properties of these representations as well as their use in practice. The (highly recommended) honors track contains several hands-on assignments on how to represent some real-world problems. The course also presents some important extensions beyond the basic PGM representation, which allow more complex models to be encoded compactly....

热门审阅

ST
Jul 12, 2017

Prof. Koller did a great job communicating difficult material in an accessible manner. Thanks to her for starting Coursera and offering this advanced course so that we can all learn...Kudos!!

CM
Oct 22, 2017

The course was deep, and well-taught. This is not a spoon-feeding course like some others. The only downside were some "mechanical" problems (e.g. code submission didn't work for me).

筛选依据:

276 - Probabilistic Graphical Models 1: Representation 的 295 个评论(共 295 个)

创建者 Shaun M

Sep 7, 2021

Information is well presented. Tests are 4 questions. Any mistake in the answer counts as wrong, and all questions must be correct to receive the passing 80%. The course makes you wait an hour to retake the exam, so it is NOT friendly for folks on a time schedule.

创建者 Shen C

Jul 14, 2020

this course is a very difficult one. takes a lot of time and effort. forum is really useful (i wouldn't have passed without it). that said, it is also because there is little help from the lecturer and instructors. would appreciate more help.

创建者 Vladimir R

Jan 12, 2021

Great topic, the professor is a top expert in the field, but the grading interface badly needs an upgrade. It is not acceptable for students to have to manually hack JSON submissions just to get around grader errors.

创建者 Christos G

Mar 9, 2018

Quite difficult, not much help in discussion forums, some assignmnents had insufficient supporting material and explanations, challenging overall, I thought at least 3-4 times to abandon it.

创建者 Siavash R

Aug 10, 2017

For me this was a difficult course not because of the material, but because of the teaching style. I don't think Dr. Koller is a very good teacher.

创建者 roma g

Nov 4, 2016

The audio is VERY VERY poor.

That makes it very hard to understand what Prof Kohler is trying to impart on us..

I often lost track

创建者 Xingjian Z

Nov 2, 2017

Fun topic. But the explanation of the mentor is somewhat vague and the material is sometimes outdated and misleading.

创建者 Ujjval P

Dec 13, 2016

Concepts covered in quiz and assignments are not covered well in the lecture videos, can be much better.

创建者 Jonathan K

Jan 26, 2018

Interesting and useful material, but I found the lecturer unengaging.

创建者 Michel S

Jul 14, 2018

Good course, but the material really needs a refresh!

创建者 Robert M

Feb 6, 2018

Started off well. Finished poorly

创建者 Peter

Sep 29, 2016

The content seems to be excellent regarding "what" is presented. But sadly the sound quality is rather bad: Sounds like an age-old valve radio with A LOT of dropouts. And Professor Daphne is an agile and therefore less disciplined speaker which lessens the understandability of her speech in conjunction with the poor sound quality furthermore. Especially for me as a non-native foreign english speaker it is very hard to follow. And now I am at one point in the course, that is "Flow of Probalistic Influence", where she explains a concept without explaining what is meant with the used underlying notions "flow" and "influence" which makes me difficult to understand what is going on. That means in my point of view that the slides are not sufficiently prepared. Although I'm very interested in the topic I am asking myself after the first view videos if I should continue or drop because my cognitive capacitity is for me to worthful to use it for the decoding of badly prepared and presented material. Ok, my decision heuristic in such cases is "Use the hammer not the tweezers!". Therefore I have dropped. Please improve the state of this class from beta to release. Then I will come back.

创建者 Jennifer H

Dec 15, 2019

Quite abstract. A solid mathematical grounding, but largely devoid of practicalities. Optional exercises are quite basic, and don't get to the heart of the matter. Lectures are confusing, as undefined terminology come up out of the blue, and key concepts aren't clearly explained.

创建者 Andrew M

Aug 24, 2020

The course content is solid. The honours content is challenging and interesting. There's a couple of minor glitches that cause frustration in the PA's but nothing too earth-shattering. There's a lot of whining and whinging on the message boards, but take it with a grain of salt: the instructions to succeed in the programing assignments are complete and relatively simple, but you might have to dig around in lecture transcripts to put all the puzzle pieces together. The is GRADUATE LEVEL work, don't expect to be spoon-fed, and don't whine when you're not. I'd recommend the content to anyone. SO WHY ONLY 1 STAR? Because there is absolutely no support from TAs or Mentors anywhere. Nada. Zero. Zilch. They are asleep at the switch. If you expect any kind of interaction to expand your learning horizon then you will be sorely disappointed. I sure was. The lack of engagement from the TA/Mentor community takes what could have been a 5 star experience and drops it to zero. But I can't go that low, so 1 star it is.

创建者 Roman F

Mar 11, 2021

This course is poorly structured, the material is poorly explained, the lecturer is going too fast and does not stress important concepts, video, and sound quality are below average. Do not recommend.

The structure of this course is an example of how not to teach mathematics. Examples before definitions and introduction of general concepts, lack of direction and "big picture" context, unexcusable things like "let's prove it by example"... It is very frustrating and almost impossible to follow.

创建者 aswin

Sep 10, 2020

Very rigid questions, very theoretical. Very poor instructor support. Content needs to be improved. Very disconnected approach.

创建者 Ahmad C

Jun 11, 2020

very shallow explanation of important concepts

创建者 Shan-Jyun W

Jun 24, 2017

Lectures are awful.

创建者 Belal M

Sep 8, 2017

A very dry course.

创建者 Javier G

Aug 4, 2020

Muy malo