Chevron Left
返回到 Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

学生对 伦敦大学 提供的 Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,330 个评分
446 条评论

课程概述

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

热门审阅

TS

Apr 30, 2020

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

NS

Apr 22, 2021

James Abdey is an excellent lecturer. He explains clearly while using a lot of examples from real life applications. I am considering to read his PhD thesis (even though I don't have insomnia :-))

筛选依据:

126 - Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? 的 150 个评论(共 445 个)

创建者 Pankaj K

Sep 3, 2020

The approach to statistics with real world examples is very apt and helped in developing and maintaining my Interest through the Course Duration

创建者 Gabriel B

Apr 7, 2020

Great course! It helped me refresh statistical concepts and topics learned a while back. Dr. Abdey's videos are quite engaging! Congratulations!

创建者 Avula M Y

Jun 20, 2020

Excellent course ! With this I have learnt how to relate probability and statistics to real world and its applications through live examples.

创建者 Willreign Z D C

Nov 10, 2020

As a Statistics major, this is a very good review of foundational concepts of Statistics. I was still able to gain new info and applications.

创建者 David S

May 8, 2020

Very good and helpful starting point for the materia of statistics. And with exactly the right amount of humour, thank you very much James!

创建者 Saurabh P

Apr 23, 2021

Very good course. Instructor does a good job of explaining a very confusing topic. I really liked the pdf notes at the end of each video.

创建者 Sudharshan C

May 26, 2020

A great introductory course, very well made and explained.

A bit more animation to bolster the wonderful explanation would go a long way!

创建者 Pratik K

May 14, 2020

Best course to begin your journey in world of analytics, data science and machine learning. Must to course for every engineering graduate

创建者 Legriv V I M

May 6, 2020

An excellent and effective method of instruction! This is a course everyone should take before taking a college-level statistics course.

创建者 Stanislav B

Apr 1, 2020

Good course for complete beginner with no math background. Sometimes I had a feeling that same thing can be explained much much shorter.

创建者 Juliana S d D

May 16, 2021

Curso introdutório muito bom para quem não sabe nada e precisa ter uma noção básica antes de começar a se aprofundar em mais conteúdos.

创建者 Maheswari M

Jun 22, 2020

It's very eager to find out the answers and it is very interesting course and also good with spend useful time for our quarantine days.

创建者 3408_Priyanshu P

Feb 28, 2022

Excellent course with good exercise content...Beginner friendly and enlightening as well which makes you look further into this domain

创建者 Shatarupa S

Apr 13, 2020

Thank you Dr. James for teaching me so well. I loved the course and enjoyed it thoroughly as well. Many of my concepts became clearer.

创建者 Mohamed K

Apr 29, 2021

This course was very important and I gained more knowledge about statistics. Thanks dear sir your well explanation and inspiration.

创建者 Melisa M S

Sep 22, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The concepts are clearly explained and the exercises are very useful to fully understand the lessons.

创建者 Claudia M

Dec 9, 2020

I liked how it is presented, the examples used, and for sure the explanations. It is a good course to introduce you to statistics.

创建者 Avinash

Apr 22, 2020

Great course to quickly give enough background to understand sample based estimations, confidence intervals and hypothesis testing

创建者 Patrick H

Jul 21, 2021

Excellent lecture and reading materials. V clear and concise messages. Good examples and objectives. I would recommend to others.

创建者 Gerald S

May 17, 2020

Its really a good course that gives a good introduction to statistics in a way that inspires confidence and success in the course

创建者 José D C

Apr 29, 2020

Great variaty of topics ranging from the simplest to more complicated ones. Also the instructor is great and really charismatic.

创建者 Aditya M

Feb 3, 2020

A great course to learn statistics from the ground level up. However, doing more number of exercises will help you learn better.

创建者 Aline L

Jun 29, 2020

This is a very interesting and useful course, the course design is good and easy to follow. The content is clear and precise.

创建者 Kewei ( Y

Mar 11, 2021

Fun and engaging! I also really appreciate including the reading options. This has indeed made the course much more flexible!

创建者 Deepa D A

Jun 8, 2020

it was one of the best course i have ever joined.vast explanation was given based on each and every topic.it was really good.